We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Bed and Breakfast Experience.”
Review of Mira Monte Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mira Monte Inn
Ranked #10 of 30 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lithia, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Best Bed and Breakfast Experience.”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This is a beautiful large home that has been successfully converted into a lovely B & B. We have been staying in the Mira Monte Inn for several years now and are never dissappointed. There are so many rooms to choose from--many with fireplaces and private decks overlooking the gardens. We love the breakfast and the atmosphere in which it is served. So many choices. The best homemade muffins in Bar Harbor. You can go to breakfast up till 10:00 am, get what you want, sit with whomever you want, and where you want. No stress, just amazing food and plenty of it. Waffles, pancakes, oatmeal, egg cassarole, fruit, bagels, coffee, juice, steamed eggs, and pound cake. During the day coffee and homemade cookies are available. The staff make you feel welcome. Every evening is complimentary happy hour with wine, cheese, cake. We love visiting with Marian the owner. She helps the guests feel comfortable and helps keep the conversation interesting.
The rooms are clean and the staff will help you with suggestions for activities around Bar Harbor. When we go to Bar Harbor this is where we stay.

Room Tip: We like to stay on the first floor so that we don't have to take our luggage up the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia6343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    445
    134
    32
    14
    2
See reviews for
117
395
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Harrison, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My wife and I make it a point to visit Bar Harbor every year. We live only 4 hrs away, but it is like getting away to a different country. After discovering the Mira Monte Inn we have returned year after year. Sometimes twice in one year. I guess that my favorite thing about Bar Harbor now is staying at Mira Monte.

I want to personally thank you Marian for helping my wife and I create such awesome memories.
We'll be back.
Dan

Room Tip: They have many different rooms. The site has pictures of each rooms. The breakfast is awesome. The 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

If you want charm, location and exceptional food, this is the place. The B & B is just adorable - beautifully decorated rooms, wonderful outdoor sitting areas and an extensive garden. There is a complimentary happy hour every day with wine & cheesse and it's a great place to interact with the other guests and the owner. Breakfast was an outstanding buffet with everything from organic oatmeal with Maine cranberries to fresh baked goods to wonderful egg frittatas. You can walk to everywhere in town from the inn. It is truly a palce to visit and revisit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cullowhee, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

We were a little taken back with the dated decor at first, but quickly realized that it was part of the charm of this historic B&B. Our 4-night stay in the Belmont room exceeded our expectations. We are always traveling on a budget and felt we got way more than our money's worth at this inn. The owner, Marian, is full of knowledge about the area and we enjoyed sitting down with her in the afternoons to take it all in. The staff is also very helpful without being overbearing and the breakfasts are delicious! The inn is within walking distance to downtown and only minutes from one of Acadia's entrances. There are incentives for staying 4+ nights including discounts at local shops/restaurants and a fresh lobster dinner at Marian's cottage. We noticed many guests were repeat visitors year after year and I can imagine it won't be our last stay there. We loved it!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HarmoniaRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We have been going here for 10 years and Marian remembers us each time treating us like family. The entire staff is friendly and helpful. There is no Inn in Bar Harbor that even comes close to the level of attention to details, caring and service that you receive here!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Auntlee9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

South Suite -- Has all you need for a get away - A cozy kitchen dishwasher 2 burner stove - toaster oven - microwave - refrigerator - dishes pots pans coffee maker with coffee cream & sugar- living room - TV - with a breakfast nook - large Jacuzzi bath - hair dryer - nice large towels - bedroom queen bed with canopy - TV - fireplace they will supply the logs - porch with table and chairs - Very nice grounds -

If your looking to be in amore personal place to be
The Mira Monte is for you!

The owner MaryAnn is great very helpful with lots of information -

This is in a great location for walking to just local grocery stores - great local shops - restaurants - the harbor - Great walking city!

A short drive to Acadia National Park -

The Busy Season starts roughly June 1st - I can only imagine this area is all too hectic. I would suggest to go before June 1 st and after the busy foliage season - With no traffic drive time from Manchester NH is 5 Hours - ( Some have said busy time can take 7 hours )

I have heard Acadia is all to crazy to drive around and see.

Take A good 3 - 5 days to enjoy this area. Amazing!

Room Tip: Go just before the busy season - * A must see is the walk starting at the Sands Beach in back of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trenton
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Booked this lovely B&B while planning our trip for Mount Desert Island Marathon in Bar Harbor ME. Got a great deal for 3 nights, The rooms were beautiful with little porches. In an old Maine home. Cozy with fireplaces in each
Breakfast was delish.... homemade muffins with local blueberries (yum yum) granola, oatmeal, egg casseroles, for the meat lover or vegan.. If you left hungry you just did not want to eat...8 guests were running in marathon and they accommodated us a bit earlier to get our nutrition that morning. We shall come back
Afternoon tea, wine . cheese get together in front of a cozy fire was a treat before heading out for dinner.

Room Tip: They all were different and beautiful I checked the website pictures.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffP1_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,326 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
653 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#9 of 41 in Bar Harbor
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#10 of 41 in Bar Harbor
361 reviews
1.0 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.4 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#19 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mira Monte Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mira Monte Inn

Property: Mira Monte Inn
Address: 69 Mount Desert St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1327
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mira Monte Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Mira Monte Inn & Suites."Behold the Mountains"This historic Bar Harbor bed & breakfast inn reflects the grace and beauty of the mid-Victorian time. Each room features a fireplace and/or balcony and is uniquely styled with antique and period furnishings. The romantic atmosphere is said to be friendly, welcoming and cheerful. The morning full-breakfast buffet gets rave reviews; guests can choose to eat family style in the formal dining room, on the terrace, the breakfast porch, or in their own room.Mira Monte's mission is: to provide relaxation and comfort in beautiful, quiet surroundings of an elegant bed and breakfast inn. It's your vacation and you get to make the choices that meet your needs. Our friendly staff is always there for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Mira Monte Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mira Monte Hotel Bar Harbor
Mira Monte Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing