We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt Like Home!”
Review of Mira Monte Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mira Monte Inn
Ranked #12 of 30 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Felt Like Home!”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Wonderful B&B which a friend and I discovered online and were very pleased with when we visited Bar Harbor last Fall. The owners were welcoming and helpful and were great cooks! Breakfast was terrific. Our rooms were spacious and had fireplaces and private porches. PERFECT for a rainy afternoon rest/read! Walkable to town, harbor, restaurants, etc. We felt completely at home and would stay again! Twitter and Instagram: @kmptop10

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmptop10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    435
    133
    32
    14
    2
See reviews for
113
388
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed for 5 nights in the Wingwood Suite with our two teenage children and had the most wonderful time. We really enjoyed staying at the back of the garden as it was quiet, although you could hear the upstairs guests moving around early in the morning or late at night, but this did not impact on our enjoyment. This suite has some kitchenette facilities and table and chairs for 4 as well as your private outside deck with table and chairs- wonderful, all new and very clean. The owner, Marian Burns is a wonderful hosts with a wealth of local and historical knowledge who was always available to answer questions or give advice when needed.
Our most memorable moment was the Lobster Dinner at Marian's house, provided for guests staying more than 4 nights, thank you Marian for your hospitality and to your daughter and son in law for cooking and keeping us entertained with stories about various parts of the US.
We really appreciated this and we felt we were part of the local community.
Marian's staff around the house and kitchen are also wonderful and friendly and provided us with some delicious breakfast options, always involving a blueberry dish and a lovely wine and cheese reception and cake and juice for the kids. Your cakes are amazing, compliments to all the bakers and cooks, thank you. We are in the process of shedding all those extra pounds acquired now ;-)
Apart from this the Inn is perfectly located for walking into town, to the ocean and easy access to the park entrances, we could not have asked for more.
Hope we will be able to return one day.

Room Tip: If you travel with kids/teens choose the Wingwood suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trolli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

This is our second visit to this wonderful B & B. This time we brought our adult children. Four nights.
We stayed in very spacious and comfortable rooms in back of main house. Love the staff. One nicer than next. Best breakfast variety I've ever seen. It's quite a spread.
Always homemade goodies during day and a very nice complimentary happy hour 5-7. Nothing too elaborate but wine and cheese etc.
Every night. Marian and her staff work extremely hard and it shows.
She is very helpful to all guests with any request.
We will look forward to another return visit.
Thanks for a great family get together at your special place.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Guelph_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sagres, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

My wife and and stayed two nights. Due to an overbooking, we were placed in a suite in a back building for the first night. It sounded great but to our horror, it was a run down apartment. Upon entering we found the kitchen, which was an old fashion, depressing cubicle. The living room had an old musty rose colored carpet that smelled and had not been vacuumed. The bathroom had paint peeling from the ceiling and from the kickboard under the sink. Finally, the bedroom had the oder from the old carpeting and was outdated.

The next day, were relived to find ourselves moved to a room in the main house that transformed our stay. This room was big, clean and bright with new hardwood floors and carpets. The difference in the two rooms was astounding.

Do not take a room anywhere but the main house when booking.

The grounds were poorly maintained and the house exterior need significant repairs.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom1394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Battle Creek, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We initially booked for two nights, after the first night we added one more. The owner has had this B & B for 32 years. She understand how to treat guests. There are many repeat visitors that we met. The owner know the area well and can make suggestions that will improve your visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MSundal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We stayed at the Mira Monte for two nights in mid-July, moving on to Boothbay Harbor afterwards. In retrospect, it would have been much better if we had extended our stay here, but I chalk it up to a lesson learned. The Inn promotes guests getting to know each other, including wine/cheese evenings and a communal breakfast table. (Not feeling that friendly in the morning? Individual tables are available.) And the breakfasts ... everything from egg casseroles, to blueberry oatmeal to made-to order waffles and blueberry pancakes (blueberry is a definite local theme).

The Inn is on busy Route 3, the main road leading into Bar Harbor, so I imagine road noise would be an issue in the front facing rooms. We were clear in the back, in the Louisburg, full of windows and a small two-person balcony, and did not notice any traffic noise. The only ding I have against the Inn is that the Louisburg bed was way too hard for our taste. If that's a complaint the innkeepers hear from others, they should definitely investigate changing the mattress. I think it speaks volumes that we're giving the Inn an excellent even though we didn't find the bed that great. One nice touch: we stayed the week of my birthday, and they had a bouquet of flowers and a Happy Birthday note on the room's table when we entered.

The Inn is located an easy 5-minute walk to the Village Green, where you can catch all the free shuttles into Acadia National Park, so you can't beat the convenience. And be sure to check out the Café This Way, a slightly funky great restaurant that's located down an alley across from the Village Green.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarciaWayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This was our first time staying at a Bed and Breakfast. The staff and owner were friendly and made you feel at home. The breafast was great!!! They have excellent cooks. If you love blueberry's they server a fantastic blueberry bread pudding one day of the week. We would stay here again if we go back to Bar Harbor. They are only 5 - 7 minutes from one of the entrances to Acadia National Park.

Room Tip: One with a balcony that over looks the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russell R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,273 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
626 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.3 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#10 of 41 in Bar Harbor
352 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#9 of 41 in Bar Harbor
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mira Monte Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mira Monte Inn

Property: Mira Monte Inn
Address: 69 Mount Desert St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1327
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mira Monte Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Mira Monte Inn & Suites."Behold the Mountains"This historic Bar Harbor bed & breakfast inn reflects the grace and beauty of the mid-Victorian time. Each room features a fireplace and/or balcony and is uniquely styled with antique and period furnishings. The romantic atmosphere is said to be friendly, welcoming and cheerful. The morning full-breakfast buffet gets rave reviews; guests can choose to eat family style in the formal dining room, on the terrace, the breakfast porch, or in their own room.Mira Monte's mission is: to provide relaxation and comfort in beautiful, quiet surroundings of an elegant bed and breakfast inn. It's your vacation and you get to make the choices that meet your needs. Our friendly staff is always there for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Mira Monte Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mira Monte Hotel Bar Harbor
Mira Monte Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing