We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Perfect !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Balance Rock Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Balance Rock Inn
Ranked #22 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
HERMITAGE
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely Perfect !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

This little Inn on the ocean is so wonderful,a piece of paradise. The service was excellent and the views were stunning. Great location, walking distance to downtown Bar Harbor, yet the beach path is just out the back door. We would definitely recommend and would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kellaa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron M, General Manager at Balance Rock Inn, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to express with other travelers your experience with the Balance Rock. We agree our location is hard to beat! We hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    282
    98
    35
    28
    6
See reviews for
58
315
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

We just returned home a couple of days ago from what was our 8th stay at the Balance Rock Inn in the last 10 years. It continues to be our home away from home. You can't beat the view, the staff is great, and the property is a great place to relax. We always enjoy the gourmet breakfast before making the 10 minute drive in to Acadia for a day of hiking, biking, or sightseeing. Have to be back in time to enjoy the snacks and happy hour with bartender Greg before walking into town for a great dinner in Bar Harbor. No better way to spend a few days. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: The larger ocean view rooms are wonderful. We usually spend most of the daylight hours in the park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank murphys8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron M, General Manager at Balance Rock Inn, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
It's always a pleasure having you stay with us! We're happy that we were able to offer a complimentary upgrade to such a loyal guest. We look forward to serving you another eight years!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hyannis
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

PERFECT IS A VERY OVER USED WORD, BUT VERY APPROPRIATE. This was our second stay and it could not have been better for the second time. The view, the breakfasts and the room! Attention to detail everywhere. There are a number of new big hotels on the water which are nice, but why feel like everyone, when you can feel like someone special. Sitting on the lawn, looking out at the view, you feel like you are one of the Bar Harbor Elite of yester-year. We used the pool even though it was Oct. 1st and enjoyed sharing and hearing about the sites with our fellow travelers around the fire pit while sipping on a cocktail. We stayed in the Carriage House, room 114, private, roomy and romantic. Even for a couple celebrating their 32nd anniversary.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank russcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron M, General Manager at Balance Rock Inn, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
The word perfect can never be used too often! Thank you for sharing with other travelers and recognizing we are always striving towards perfection. We look forward to seeing you again. Have a wonderful winter!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

This is a perfect place to stay for a long weekend. You cannot beat the location (close to bars/restaurants/shopping but secluded enough for privacy). It is slightly expensive, but worth every penny. It has a fantastic back deck with unbelievable views. As others have mentioned - late afternoon/early evening drinks (bartender was great!) and complimentary snacks on the deck by the fire, overlooking the ocean are a must! Love that they are dog friendly! If you are bringing along your dog - try room 112, which opens up to its own private, fenced in deck. Keep in mind that in general, the Inn is extremely old and therefore much of it could use some slight updating or touch-ups. For the most part, the service was good with the exception of one of the women at the front desk upon check-out - unfriendly and sporting angry pants! I would highly recommend this place and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Great place to stay if you are bringin along your dog. Suggest room 112 - opens up to a small privat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BostonSeven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron M, General Manager at Balance Rock Inn, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
We appreciate your feedback and are thrilled to hear you had a wonderful time at the Balance Rock! We are a pet friendly hotel and do offer a limited number of pet friendly rooms...the Carriage House tends to be the most popular for this. We hope to see you return in the future and next time we'll make sure we're all wearing our happy pants!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

DO NOT BELIEVE THE NEGATIVE REVIEWS!

We stayed here six years ago on a whim. After seeing the inn highlighted in a magazine, we decided to travel to Bar Harbor for the first time. We stayed at Balance Rock Inn, and had an incredible experience.

Fast forward six years. This summer we decided to plan a New England trip. We stayed in three different towns. Remembering our stay years ago we immediately booked the Balance Rock Inn.
It wasn't until several days later that I started looking up reviews. There were so many great reviews from people with similar experiences to our own, but it was the negative feedback that made me nervous. Some of the reviews were so harsh that I became nervous about staying here. I figured after six years things could really have deteriorated. We even considered cancelling our reservation. I'm so glad we went with our gut and kept our reservations.

The Balance Rock Inn is a fantastic place to spend your vacation!
The mansion is absolutely beautiful.
The view is fabulous. Probably the best view in Bar Harbor.
The location can't be beat. Right in the center of town, but down a quiet lane and very peaceful.
Every single person on staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful.
The breakfasts were really very good, and were different every morning.
The rooms (we booked two rooms) were clean, well appointed, had very comfortable beds and were nicely decorated.

There were many nice little touches. Delicious snacks at happy hour. The fire pit outside was really nice. Robes in all of the rooms. A fire burning in the living room on rainy or chilly nights.
an umbrella stand by the front door filled with umbrellas to be borrowed on rainy days.

Notes:
some of the rooms are on the small side. If this bothers you pay close attention to the room descriptions. They don't try to hide anything. The mansion is quite old and some smaller rooms are to be expected.

They should really get a photographer in and update the pictures on their website. the people and rooms in the photos look very dated. The inn looks nicer in person than it does on the website.

As to the worst of the reviews. Here's how I see it.

To the family from Hawaii, when I booked our rooms I was asked how many people would be staying in each room. I presume you were asked the same question. Also, if you booked online you would have been asked the same question. Perhaps the next time you make reservations you should be more honest. Also, the inn is operating as a business. Why on earth would they return your money when the mistake was yours and not there's.

To the reporter, Perhaps they've updated the place since your visit. I can't really say. All I know is what I've already stated, our rooms were clean, and very nice. As to being small, maybe you should have checked that out before booking.

To the person who said the Balance Rock Inn is "too much like a business". IT IS A BUSINESS!
the cancellation policy is very clearly stated online, and I was told while booking about their policy, my guess is you were too.

Room Tip: This is a pretty pricy place to stay. we opted for smaller rooms on the third floor with great views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jbr085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron M, General Manager at Balance Rock Inn, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback and sharing with other travelers! We're happy that you were able to return to Bar Harbor and Balance Rock Inn. We look forward to seeing you return in the future...next time we hope you'll try one of our fabulous suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterling, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

We are a young couple who has traveled to Bar Harbor several times and stayed on the outskirts but this was our first time staying in town. It was excellent. We stayed in room 207, small but all you need given all the B&B has to offer. The BR offers the perfect balance of all you'd want to enjoy in Bar Harbor and Acadia.

First off! It's ON THE OCEAN, which for us is spectacular. I think this aspect of the inn is very under-rated. The ability to sit in the porch, by the pool, on the deck, or out in the lawn (YES ALL OF THOSE SPOTS ARE ON THE OCEAN) is great. It sets the B&B apart from all others and makes you feel like you are an exclusive visitor to Bar Harbor.

Secondly...its 100yds from Main Street! Bars, shops, restaurant, activities...they are all right at your doorstep. Could not ask for anything more.

Acadia is a few minutes away as are the scooter, kayak and bike rentals.

As for the B&B itself, its in fantastic condition. The breakfast was more than adequate with probably 5 different options. Sure the décor is dated but it is clean and it's meant to bring you back in time. The staff was very helpful and courteous, no need was overlooked. I can not think of any faults. The local neighbor who plays piano in the evenings made our night!

The Inn is pricey, the bar also but I think given the location, set up, and amenities it is well worth it. For example, being able to buy our own bottle or two of wine (YES, they had no problem with us drinking our own wine throughout the B&B) and sit out on the ocean makes me look at all the other option in Bar Harbor and think there is no better option.

We will be staying at the Balance Rock Inn again for sure!

Room Tip: If you are planning to be out and about room 207 is more than adequate. No ocean view and a slider...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron M, General Manager at Balance Rock Inn, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share with other travelers about the Balance Rock Inn! We hope the next visit you'll get to enjoy one of our ocean view rooms or suite. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

This hotel is marvelous. It was everything see on the website. But, the view is ruined by the large cruise ships that come into Bar Harbor everyday. If you are coming to enjoy Acadia, I would recommend staying in Southwest or Northeast Harbor. We stayed at the Moorings in Southwest harbor and it was wonderful. I wish we had not already made the reservation here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shelley c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron M, General Manager at Balance Rock Inn, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
We appreciate the time you took to share with other travelers about your stay with the Balance Rock Inn! We're happy you enjoyed the location and amenities. We agree the cruise ships do make for a pretty spectacular sight...some guests think it blocks the view while others say that it enhances it. Next time we'll be happy to share the schedule of ships so that way you can come back and enjoy the view unhindered! Thank you again and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.4 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#17 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#15 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
1.4 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balance Rock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balance Rock Inn

Property: Balance Rock Inn
Address: 21 Albert Mdws, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Balance Rock Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balance Rock Inn is one of the premier oceanfront lodging properties in Bar Harbor, ME. Set on a secluded tree-covered property with expansive views of Frenchman's Bay, this luxurious Inn's name celebrates the "balance rock," a precariously positioned boulder on the nearby ocean shore, a huge remnant from an ice age. Balance Rock's 27 rooms and suites are tastefully outfitted in harmonious colors, handsome wall coverings, handcrafted furnishings, and all the creature comforts. All rooms and suites have either a king or queen size select comfort bed, a private bath, flat screen television with DVD player, WIFI internet access, individually controlled AC and heat, and most with amazing ocean views! The Inn features a full bar and restaurant, sundeck with fire pit, and heated swimming pool...all overlooking the ocean. In addition there is a formal dining room for breakfast and dinner, a small fitness center, and ample parking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Balance Rock Hotel Bar Harbor
Balance Rock Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing