We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Get Away!”
Review of Balance Rock Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Balance Rock Inn
Ranked #25 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Exceptional Bed and Breakfast---exceptional location---only down side was that the fabulous breakfast was served ice cold both morning we were there. The breakfast is in warmers but it is ice cold! Rooms were nice----did not have shade on one window but staff fixed it immediately.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms were spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Downmaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron M, Owner at Balance Rock Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Balance Rock. We apologize if your plate was served cold...this is most unusual for our menu. We hope we were able to correct the issue for you. We hope to see you agin in the future and we'll be sure breakfast is nice and hot!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (483)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

254 - 260 of 484 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014

We can't wait to come back each year... Balance Rock Inn is a true find from its lactation, the rooms, the common areas
(what a view from the pool & backyard!), the staff & the wonderful buffet breakfast. It is truly a home away from home.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rafafanatic48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron M, Owner at Balance Rock Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to share with other travelers your experience of the Balance Rock Inn. We look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Will definitely be back. Our room had its own patio overlooking the ocean - great spot for morning coffee. Very friendly service. Grounds are outstanding - many spots from which to take in the coastline. Feels very secluded, yet a 3 minute walk into center of town.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Emily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron M, Owner at Balance Rock Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share about our quiet little retreat! We're happy you were able to take advantage of our great Small Plates menu for an evening in. We look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

As a local, we always enjoy stopping in to a place that is open to the public. The Balance Rock Inn has a fabulous new bar, and wonderful menu to stop in and enjoy the beautiful view that this wonderful place offers! As professionals that own business here on the island, this is a perfect little retreat, that makes us want to be a tourist and stay. A very friendly atmosphere, great wine list and bar, and enjoyed quite a few of their tapas. Had the best beet salad, crab cakes, lobster eggrollls, and halibet rangoons. The best service, wonderful view, and can't say enough how we felt life we were away! Wold recommend this wonderful place to all near and far.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank BonnieBarHarbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron M, Owner at Balance Rock Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you so much for coming in and giving the BRI a try! We 're happy to cater to guests near and far. The Veranda bar offers an excellent menu by local chef Joshua Heikinnen and great cocktails by our mixologists. We look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

wonderful place to stay. View from our romm was wonderful. felt like we could have had better help with our bags checking out.the evenings were great out on the patio but got very busy and there was only one bartender so we had to wait a while to get a cocktail.But over all the place is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kay r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron M, Owner at Balance Rock Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share with other travelers and for spending your anniversary with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

June 30 - July 3 stay. Balance Rock exceeded all of our expectations. What a pleasant surprise. Begin with its location, about 1000' down a one lane road off of the village green on Main St. An old mansion apparently, and very well maintained, the "back yard" is a long terrace down to the walk along the Bay. Our room (106) was comfortably sizable with its own porch looking out onto the bay - perfect for departing to "stretch" the dog that accompanied us, perfect for watching the sun rise and perfect for relaxing and contemplating the world. The bay is a never ending source of activity. Lobstermen dropping or pulling in traps, small liners arriving and departing, the four-master coming and going - all from your back porch. The walk along the bay got some pretty regular use with its easy access from the Inn. The town has erected some interesting historic markers along the way. Each side of the king bed was individually adjustable for comfort - really nice touch. In a town of restaurants, check out the one down the hall here at the inn. The chef creates some pretty remarkable stuff. Breakfast - yummy. Lots of fresh local product had us looking forward to seeing what each day's menu would be. Dinner, likewise. Both in a wonderful (and as romantic as you'd like it to be) dining room. The bar, off of the "official" back porch and pool area, was well manned by a very capable mixology professional (and much obliged for his services). The hotel as a whole is capably staffed. Access to all that Bar Harbor offers is a very short stroll away.

Room Tip: 106 was the room that we occupied and the only one that we saw. We were given this room, likely, bec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sheeshman_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron M, Owner at Balance Rock Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you for sharing with other travelers about you recent stay with us. Our bartenders are some of the best and love mixing up new drinks! We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We had never been to Bar Harbor and had no preconceived ideas. We wanted to relax and enjoy the local flavor. Balance Rock Inn surpassed our expectations based upon on other positive B-n-B experiences. Our room was great and the whole house was an architectural gem on the end of a quiet lane with an expansive lawn and tranquil view of the water and islands beyond. Most important was the first class service by every staff member that really made our experience fabulous. With bartender Greg's perfect "dark and stormy" on the porch at dusk it could not get any better. We met lots of nice people too. We are planning to go back.

Room Tip: Book early and be willing to stretch your budget
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Brad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron M, Owner at Balance Rock Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you for sharing and your kind words about the staff and service. We're happy we got to share in the celebration of you anniversary. Making an anniversary even more special is what we strive for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.4 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#19 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,185 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
475 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#10 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#8 of 41 in Bar Harbor
381 reviews
0.4 mi away
ANCHORAGE MOTEL
ANCHORAGE MOTEL
#38 of 41 in Bar Harbor
185 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balance Rock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balance Rock Inn

Address: 21 Albert Mdws, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range: £202 - £507 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Balance Rock Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balance Rock Inn is one of the premier oceanfront lodging properties in Bar Harbor, ME. Set on a secluded tree-covered property with expansive views of Frenchman's Bay, this luxurious Inn's name celebrates the "balance rock," a precariously positioned boulder on the nearby ocean shore, a huge remnant from an ice age. Balance Rock's 27 rooms and suites are tastefully outfitted in harmonious colors, handsome wall coverings, handcrafted furnishings, and all the creature comforts. All rooms and suites have either a king or queen size select comfort bed, a private bath, flat screen television with DVD player, WIFI internet access, individually controlled AC and heat, and most with amazing ocean views! The Inn features a full bar and restaurant, sundeck with fire pit, and heated swimming pool...all overlooking the ocean. In addition there is a formal dining room for breakfast and dinner, a small fitness center, and ample parking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Balance Rock Hotel Bar Harbor
Balance Rock Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing