We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So, so”
Review of Carmen Verandah

Carmen Verandah
Ranked #99 of 146 Restaurants in Bar Harbor
Price range: US$10 - US$15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours
Description: Carmen Verandah is Located at 119 Main Street Bar Harbor Maine. Upstairs from Bar Harbor BeerWorks. We feature Drink Specials, Billiards, And Live Entertainment! One of the best places to come and have lunch is the Verandah over looking the Village Green Park. Carmen's also Features Live Bands and Djs. On the weekends we have a wide range of live music players who go beyond the usual fare of "Cheeseburger in Paradise" and "Brown Eyed Girl." And There is usually no cover charge for any of our entertainment, and if we do charge one, it's never more than a few dollars.
Fairfax, Virginia, United States
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“So, so”
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We stopped in here for lunch without reviewing Trip Advisor. Mistake, as we would have known better based on the reviews. The food was disappointing. The chips were hard instead of crunch, the fries tasted like they were refried from yesterday's fries. The haddock sandwich was the bright spot in a meal with lobster rolls and clam chowder. Once seated the table was sticky and the place had a dive bar feel. We won't be going back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MSandersCarroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    15
    11
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Marys, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very freindly staff Great Food”
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Had twin lobster tails there and they were the best we had in Bar Harbor. The staff is extremely freindly and gave us a fantastc rundown on what to do and see in the area. . We went back on our last day for another round of lobster. Definitely would eat there again as it was very good and very fairly priced. Darrell White is a fantastic cook.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kdwolfe1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaford, Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“a nasty, dirty pit...”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

bathrooms were overflowing.. ruined my wifes pants... guy vommiting in plant in bar... expensive drinks..

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Raymond A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krakow, Poland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nothing special, but not bad.”
Reviewed 7 September 2012

I ate here with friends. There were not many options for the vegetarians on the menus. The drinks were fine, and the waitress attending to our needs was very helpful and friendly.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank StanLem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Below average”
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Went there to grab a bite during the rain. Ordered their lobster roll, marketed as special - way below average. All other items were just OK. Definitely find a different place to eat - there is no shortage of eateries in Bar Harbor

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank leoton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Carmen Verandah also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Carmen Verandah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing