We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Epi's Pizza

Epi's Pizza
Ranked #75 of 143 Restaurants in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$12
Cuisines: American, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Locally-loved restaurant in downtown Bar Harbor featuring an amazing breakfast, delicious subs and sandwiches, quality pizza, and homemade desserts.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

The spaghetti and meat balls were good. Unfortunately the crab rolls were more mayo and less crab and this not great. Did not try lobster here so can't comment. Overall cheap compared to rest of places here

Helpful?
Thank Kunalgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    66
    38
    8
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
605 reviews
331 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
“Whoopie Pies”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

This is solely on the whoopie pies. Were told Epi's had the best whoopie pies in town, and we were disappointed. The cakes were very dense and could use more chocolate. The filling was nice and light and not greasy at all.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank GoodFood88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowdoinham, Maine
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Sadly, not what it used to be ..”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

Epi's has always been on our "must stop in" list for trips to Bar Harbor since the '70's. I don't think we'll ever go back after our experience last week. #1 the place has been left to be run by kids who really don't care - ho hum service and a quick cigarette on the sidewalk between customers. Sullen and half awake. # 2 The food was not good but, to be fair, we did not order their specialty sandwiches/pizza but haddock chowder. It is sad to see this iconic sub shop in such a state.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Walkers44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“In search of a Whoopie Pie”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

My hubby and I had never heard of a Whoopie Pie and wanted to try one. There was a deli we saw them at but they closed at 4pm, we were told that the best Whoopie Pies were at Epi's.
We didn't realize it was a pizza place..and the pizza looked and smelled great but we were there for a Whoopie pie. They were great. OK, I have nothing to compare it to, but, big cake like cookie with wonderful cream in the middle...who needs to compare.
Go for pizza and try the Whoopie pie.
Enjoy.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Col S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
Level Contributor
89 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Surprising place for breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

Although they didn't have the cinnamon rolls that grabbed our attention on their window menu, they did have an awesome egg "mick" muffin made with a homemade English Muffin. Not expensive at all. Just quick and good.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Denise N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Epi's Pizza also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Epi's Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing