We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Homey, clean, great value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hanscom's Motel & Cottages

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hanscom's Motel & Cottages
Ranked #34 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
NYC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Homey, clean, great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

Very clean, comfortable, quiet, reasonable (for the area in high season), excellent WiFi reception. Short ride to Acadia National Park.

Very nice kitchen although I only used the microwave and refrigerator. There was a stove, too. And a Keurig coffee maker.

Although I only stayed two nights, I could see myself enjoying being there for a month.

Mary Deane was a lovely, helpful host.

Many reviewers appreciate that it is pet friendly. I do not have a pet and was pleased to find that the pets were quiet and unobtrusive.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pat1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    16
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
13
40
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Watertown,Ct
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

We stayed in cottage 1 July 23-29. The cottage was adorable and is immaculate. We were very impressed with the cleanliness and newest of the place. We chose them because they were dog friendly, had air conditioning and a short walk to a private beach.
We were traveling with our two dogs and wanted to be able to take them swimming in the ocean. The beach was beautiful (all rock) and right on Frenchman's Bay. The dogs loved it!! Having recently been to a dog friendly hotel in Vt that smelled like urine and was not very clean - we did not know what to expect and were pleasantly surprised with these cottages. The staff and owners were all very friendly and helpful. They even delivered fresh lobsters to our door so we could bring so home to friends and family. Everyone was very friendly with the dogs and there was always water outside the office for them to drink.

Room Tip: I would suggest if traveling with pets to get one of the cottages further in as #1 is close to the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eileenwith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2011

This was our second year in a row staying at Hanscom's cute and cozy cottages, conveniently located just a few minutes from downtown Bar Harbor. We were fortunate to have arrived the day after the hectic Memorial Day weekend and thus had the place pretty much to ourselves. We've been on the road for a month now, and this is by far one of the best bargains in the country. The only problem that we had this time, was the noise level from Highway 3 (as we stayed in Cabin 2 this time). Due to the low numbered cabins' proximity to the road, it is pretty bad from dawn until dusk, even on weekdays. If you are at all sensitive to traffic noise, we would suggest requesting one of the higher numbered cabins (like 8, 9 or 10) and this shouldn't be a problem. And say hi to Marydeane for us from the Oregon steak and seafood team.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AmericanaMusicFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OLD TOWN MAINE
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2010

Am very impressed with thease clean and well kept cottages.,SET IN A WOODSY EREA,BEAUTIFUL TREES,,WELL KEPT PROPERTY AND GAS GRILLS AND TABLES AND LAWN FURNITURE FOR EACH ROOM. Was exactly what we were looking for..YOU WILL NEVER FIND A CLEANER OR MORE ATTRACTIVE THAN "HANSCOM S COTTAGES." ALSO ANIMAL FRIENDLY WISH WAS A BIG PLUS WITH US! Maybe we will see you t hewere,planning on staying 3-4 long week ends next summer.,We are retired and we were and are,so happy thet we found this WONDERFUL RELAXING AND QUAINT PLACE TO ENJOY OUR TRIPS. Mini gulf,great resturants,and Acadia mt. very close by,,not to metin Bar Harbor.Thank you Mark and Marydean!! See you soon.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NANCYBONNETTYORK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peabody, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2010

We had a great time in Bar Harbor/Acadia this past September and just wanted to let people know about the gem of a cottage we stayed at. My husband and I stayed in cottage 2 at Hanscom's Motel & Cottages and couldn't have been happier! We had everything we needed, at kitchen, internet, outdoor grills, and a WARM very well kept pool. We spent all most of our time hiking in Acadia, it's absolutely beautiful! We spent a bit of time in Bar Harbor but were relieved to get away from the crowds back at Hanscom's. They had a nice quiet beach you can walk to with great views and peaceful breezes! The owners live on the property which made it very handy. They even provided lobster steamers for us to cook with. Mr. Hanscome also lobsters so we had they pick of his catch for 2 of the 7 nights we stayed. There crew was very friendly and kept our cottage exceptionally clean every day. We will certainly be back!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandralabell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2010

We arrived at 6:00 pm on a Friday on a holiday weekend. We found a note on the office door directing us to our cottage, saying they would "settle up with us" later. We called to say we were leaving the next morning by 7:00 and wanted to pay the bill and get a receipt. Our call was not returned--that night or the next morning. We NEVER met or heard from the innkeeper. We actually stopped back twice before leaving the area; no one was ever in the office. I never got the wireless code, which was an amenity I was looking for.

The cottage outside was cute. Inside the carpet was filthy. The bed was old and lumpy with tired-looking rough sheets. The varnish on the furniture was bubbled. There was evidence of mildew on the bathroom floor (but cleaned up). The mold growing on the 1" of ice in the fridge was very fresh, however. One lamp wouldn't light.

Outside the grounds were very nice, with tables, pool, and grills. We had window boxes of flowers on either side of our door. This did not make up for the condition of the interior, however.

I have to add that the only reason we stayed here was that they are pet friendly. The charge was $8 extra. I noticed most of the other guests also had dogs. I think the inn keepers realize they have one of the only--if not the only--pet friendly motel in Bar Harbor, so they don't have to worry about impressing or satisfying their guests. The one plus, usually, of staying at a non-chain B&B or inn is the personal touch of the owners. That absence made our experience extra disappointing. We couldn't ask for directions or dinner recommendations (or the wi fi code), either.

And, to think, we paid the same price as we did at a Holiday Inn the night before!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhillyTraveler7347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, NY
Level Contributor
54 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2010

Unless you get a "can't beat it" rate, you can probably pass this one by. It's located on the main road to Bar Harbor and Acadia NP, which is busy pretty much all day. If you get a cabin by the road you'll hear nonstop road noise, so be sure to ask for one well away from the road. We didn't, and had cabin 2. Aside from the bedspread quilt, the room was as plain as a pancake and small. The rear of the cabin had no siding on it and exposed insulation, which gave it a bit of a run down look. The advertised heated pool, well, wasn't heated, but after a long day of hiking was refreshing nevertheless. The "private beach", unless we got bad directions from the front desk, was virtually inaccessable; it's only accessed by a steep pathway from the road (forget it if you're at all mobility impaired), and by the looks of it from the road wasn't that appealing anyway. You really don't go to this area for the hotels; you go for the world class scenery, carriage trails and hiking. But, at a price that I didn't think was a steal, there are so many places to stay in this area, you could do better.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SheriffBart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
3.3 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#33 of 41 in Bar Harbor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
3.6 mi away
Quimby House Inn
Quimby House Inn
#29 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
2.9 mi away
Belle Isle Motel
Belle Isle Motel
#19 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#23 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
3.9 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#8 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
2.9 mi away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#16 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanscom's Motel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanscom's Motel & Cottages

Property: Hanscom's Motel & Cottages
Address: 273 ME-3, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Hanscom`s Motel And Cottages
Hanscom`s Motel & Cottages Hotel Bar Harbor
Hanscoms Hotel Bar Harbor
Hanscom's Motel & Cottages Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing