We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay with at The Hanscom's”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hanscom's Motel & Cottages
Ranked #35 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
NH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our stay with at The Hanscom's”
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Very Clean and Very Friendly! Updated rooms are very comfortable and lobsters delivered right to our fridge! Really enjoyed our stay here and we're already looking forward to going back next year.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bannutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    16
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
13
44
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Enterprise, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

My wife and I and our two Great Danes stayed here in early July. The location is very convenient to Bar Harbor and the National Park, and the owners are very dog friendly. This is a rare combination, especially for large dog owners. We will recommend Hanscom's to others.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Cbowery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NH
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Went there for three night with our daughter who is 3 years old. We were going to take our dog, so was looking for a pet friendly place. We didn't end up taking our dog. We stayed at Rm #9. Had a queen size bed, and pull out. The place was nice and clean except they forgot to empty out the trashcan before we got there. Otherwise it WAS clean. The rooms didn't not smell like dogs which I heard can be issues with places that allows pets. Didn't actually meet the owners since they were not at the office, may be due to being off season. But actually never rellay needed them. The room was adequate, big enough for all three of us. Love the fact that I had little kitchenette in the room, so made breakfast every morning. I love the free internet which we had no issues with it. Flat screen TV was nice also. Walked to their 'private beach' which is about 10 min walk. It is rocky so you do need a sturdy pair of shoes but really didn't have too much issue for me (I am 8month pregnant) and my 3 year old daughter. Place is a bit of drive from everything, meaning not walking distance to the town or the park, but I liked the fact that I wasn't in the middle of everything. I will probably return back to this plae again when I visit Bar Harbor again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank mjczoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitefield, New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

I found Hanscom's while searching for a pet-friendly place to stay in the greater Bar Harbor area this spring. My husband & I were accompanying our son (and his pup) as he was looking for housing before he moves up to his next USCG assignment in a few months. We rented two motel units and were very pleased with the rooms. The kitchenettes are obviously new; they include an electric cooktop, microwave, small refrigerator, a small sink w/plenty of counter space & cupboards, and a small table with stools - all separate from the sleeping area. Hanscom's is a rare find these days - clean, very accommodating regarding pets, and their rates aren't unreasonable for many of us who usually find it prohibitive to travel and stay somewhere.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RVRSWMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

When we booked it they didn't have a cottage available and they offer us a unit. We really like it, it was very cozy and clean.
The only negative part was that the bathroom didn't have a heater and it was a little bit cold.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ninska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We rented two "cabins" side by side for our family. It worked out nicely. Having the kitchens was great. The cabins are smallish, but don't feel like they are. They use the space really well. We enjoyed our stay. Don't expect a fancy place, but a comfortable practicle nice CLEAN place. Best price we found in Bar Harbor! We would recommend this place to our friends and families.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MaineMomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockingham, Vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We just got home from a great stay in Bar Harbor and have to write a review for (our first one!) the quaint motel we stayed at. We booked the room at Hanscom's because of the price and figured at $72.00 per night we could dealwith less amenities then the larger and more expensive year round accomadations might offer. We were taken back when we opened the door to our unit. The room looked like it was built yesterday, not in the 50's as it states on their web site. Very clean, modern, and a great floor plan. We settled in and then went to a great little pub/restuarant at Jake Russells and had a great steak/seafood dinner. When we got back to our motel we noticed a fire pit next door that was glowing with vibrant embers. We took a chance and asked if we could enjoy the fire for a bit. It turned out that the fire tenders were the owners of Hancom's and welcomed us to join the wonderful night of clear skies, crackling fire, and incredible stars. We can't thank Marc and Mary Deane enough for sharing their experience of living on this beautiful island and the local knowledge that helped us plan our next few days exploring a great location with not too many places open this time of year. Mary made our room shine each time we returned from our days adventure. Not sure when we'll get back to Bar Harbor, but when we do we will definately return to Hanscoms motel.

Room Tip: Room 8 is perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
6.5 mi away
Belle Isle Motel
Belle Isle Motel
#21 of 41 in Bar Harbor
339 reviews
0.9 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#31 of 41 in Bar Harbor
388 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quimby House Inn
Quimby House Inn
#30 of 41 in Bar Harbor
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Colony on Frenchman's Bay
6.5 mi away
Eden Village Motel and Cottages
7.9 mi away
Sunnyside Motel & Cottages
Sunnyside Motel & Cottages
#27 of 41 in Bar Harbor
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanscom's Motel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanscom's Motel & Cottages

Property: Hanscom's Motel & Cottages
Address: 273 Me-3, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Bar Harbor
#24 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Hanscom`s Motel And Cottages
Hanscom`s Motel & Cottages Hotel Bar Harbor
Hanscoms Hotel Bar Harbor
Hanscom's Motel & Cottages Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing