We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming piece of Maine!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hanscom's Motel & Cottages

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hanscom's Motel & Cottages
Ranked #34 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Cheektowaga, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A charming piece of Maine!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

The cottages here are simply adorable! Clean well maintained grounds. The pool is a pleasant place to relax. The grills and patio tables make a nice touch. The kitchenettes are fully stocked so all you need to do is supply your food! A short walk up the road, about 1/2 mile, takes you to the beach. The ocean is way too cold to swim here, but scenery is fantastic! The prices are extremely reasonable and it's a short drive to Mainely BBQ and Bar harbor!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wings4mergr8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    16
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
13
40
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oak Park, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

With or without a pet you will love this place!! We arrived late on a rainy Friday. this was our first visit to Hanscoms - Katie at check-in was delightful. Very clean rooms, just 3-4 miles from Bar Harbor - we will definitely stay here again!! We are new pet owners and this place was fantastic!! There is a large open, yet protected area behind the cottages where our aussie-doodle enjoyed an hour of ball fetching before her days of sightseeing or drives in the car. All of Bar Harbor is extremely pet-friendly!! We also found the other guests very friendly who gave us great tips about sightseeing in the area. This is a place where water-seeks its own level - if you're looking for a clean, comfortable room where you can relax, this is the place. The only thin g I would say is that the beach really is quite inaccessible - do not select this place because you're looking for beach access - it's actually rather treacherous to get there - I tried it; our dog is a beach dog. that said, we would still definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: To the best of our knowledge, it appeared there were 12 rooms. The higher the number, the further y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MLTSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island Pond, Vermont
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

Very clean and basic rooms with mini kitchen, Wifi, TV. We have now been coming here for years and staying in these great little cottages. They are Super Dog friendly and so it ALL of Bar Harbor. Mary is always willing to help and so is Katie at the "Front A-Frame" desk.

Very quiet and comfortable. We will continue to return every year ! !

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Erik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastlake, Ohio
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

We decided to try a small motel for our trip to Maine. The property is located about 10 minutes from "downtown" Bar Harbor, an easy drive. Our cottage was clean and comfortable. There is a small frig.,electric range top, microwave, Keurig coffee maker, dishes and cookware. It was nice to be able to open the windows in the evening and have a cool breeze while sleeping! I will not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ann297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2012

We were very pleased with all aspects of our stay at Hanscom's Motel and Cottages, just minutes from the entrance to Acadia Nat'l Park. We were traveling with our dog, and these pet-friendly cottages fit our needs, and were very comfortable. I spoke personally with the owner Mary Deane when making our reservations. She was helpful in making arrangements for our one-week stay, in two of their units, as there was not one unit available for the entire week. The cottages were filled every night we were there, which says a lot about the place, I think, as other places had vacancies. Very comfortable rooms, with microwave and refrigerator for easy meals and snacks. Many restaurants within minutes, and some were also dog-friendly, which made it nice. We enjoyed the short walk to the bay during the days. Would highly recommend Hanscom's!

Room Tip: We particularly liked the spaciousness of Unit 8, although Unit 12 was also just fine for 2 people a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CJK50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunmore, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

This is such a nice place to visit on such an incredible island in Maine. This hotel is conveniently located just a few miles away from the town of Bar Harbor, and is even closer to Acadia national park (One of the nicest places I've ever visited).

Room Tip: Aim for the beginning/end of the tourist season. There may be fewer attractions open at that time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

Very Clean and Very Friendly! Updated rooms are very comfortable and lobsters delivered right to our fridge! Really enjoyed our stay here and we're already looking forward to going back next year.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bannutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
2.9 mi away
Belle Isle Motel
Belle Isle Motel
#19 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn
4.3 mi away
Cromwell Harbor Motel
Cromwell Harbor Motel
#21 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#23 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Colony on Frenchman's Bay
0.6 mi away
Acadia Pines Motel
Acadia Pines Motel
#25 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanscom's Motel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanscom's Motel & Cottages

Property: Hanscom's Motel & Cottages
Address: 273 ME-3, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Bar Harbor
#24 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Hanscom`s Motel And Cottages
Hanscom`s Motel & Cottages Hotel Bar Harbor
Hanscoms Hotel Bar Harbor
Hanscom's Motel & Cottages Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing