We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT location, would stay again”
Review of ANCHORAGE MOTEL

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
ANCHORAGE MOTEL
Ranked #36 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Rosebud831
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“GREAT location, would stay again”
Reviewed 22 August 2011

I was EXTREMELY apprehensive about this motel because of the poor review on tripadvisor, however, it was one of the only hotels we could find with availability for our last minute trip. We were SO happy with the motel upon arrival. Steps from town, which was perfect! The room was clean especially the bathroom, which looked like it had been redone recently (not fancy just clean). Very happy with this motel. Would recommend and stay again.

P.S. just up the block is the "Cafe this way" restaurant. Best breakfast in Bar Harbor!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rosebud831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    41
    57
    22
    28
See reviews for
44
67
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
mt. morris
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

It was too much money for the room. the room was clean but the bathroom small but clean.It offered coffee but taste like chickory-bad. It was not worth the money, It wasn't too far from town and an easy walk to the harbor. They had an ice machine but they didn't tell you about it. I would not stay there again or recommend this place. I should have listened to the others who rated this place.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank dmc6211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bar Harbor hotels

Cranston, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

We spent 3 days in Bar Harbor this July and found the Anchorage Motel to be convenient, reasonable, quiet and comfortable (not necessarily in that order). The motel is about a 4 block walk up the street from Main Street in Bar Harbor and we could easily walk to many restaurants, shops, galleries, etc. and it is located a short (5-7 minute drive) from the Visitor's Center at Acadia National park. If we travel to Bar Harbor again, we plan on staying at the Anchorage.

Room Tip: the motel is just a short walk from Main Street (the heart of Bar Harbor) so the location was very q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank annfran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claremont, California
Level Contributor
155 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2010

My wife and I stayed here for three nights in late August, 2010. To say this motel is stark would be an understatement. We paid $10 a night for a mini refigerator and the room had no coffee maker or microwave. It was barely clean and office staff seemed like they just couldn't care. It's only plus is that it is only a couple of blocks to the village green and village center, but stay further away and walk.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gerald E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2010

This is the worst motel I've ever seen. The carpet is gross, the bathroom is filthy, and you can hear every single noise next doors and under/above your room (I'm sure they can also hear you as well). The only positive thing about this motel is the location, but since it's right next to a major road, it's noisy as a hell. The tenants are fishy, too. During the two nights we were there, the guy 2-3 doors down the aisle just sat there all days and nights. When had to pass by him, we waved to him and said hello. He just stared at us and said nothing. This place is absolutely a vacation killer!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skydome2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watertown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2010

A big disappointment. The room had an unpleasant smell when I arrived. The surly man in the office said to open the window but that was a project since the aluminum window frame was bent. No amenities. The only good thing about the motel is the location but, as I discovered when i left after one night, there are much nicer places in the neighborhood.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stellagarson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Satellite Beach, florida USA
Level Contributor
118 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2010

We came into this very crowded touristy town without reservations, and walked into a few random hotels which quoted us prices of $160.00 and up, telling us it was high-season. But, we had done our research on Tripadvisor beforehand, and called this reasonably priced 1950's style motel from our cells in late afternoon-they had a room, so we booked for 2 nights at $99.00 a night(with AARP discount)and gladly paid an extra 5 dollars a day for a fridge. Free parking/helpful staff/great owner/two blocks from town, spacious room(room 111 on first floor)great shower, great AC/and best of all, we took a 20 minute stroll into town for a brief overview, came back to our room to get camera, and the room was already made up! The world's fastest maid service! She also gave us extra towels, room and bath were completely spotless! Incredible! Would never stay anywhere else after this!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sneepy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.4 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#23 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#19 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#14 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#32 of 41 in Bar Harbor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
1.0 mi away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#16 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
0.2 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#9 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ANCHORAGE MOTEL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ANCHORAGE MOTEL

Property: ANCHORAGE MOTEL
Address: 51 Mount Desert St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1327
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — ANCHORAGE MOTEL 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your ANCHORAGE MOTEL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage Motel Hotel Bar Harbor
ANCHORAGE MOTEL Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing