We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place to Stay... If You Have No Other Options”
Review of ANCHORAGE MOTEL

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
ANCHORAGE MOTEL
Ranked #38 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Reviewed 12 February 2010

As two twenty-somethings on a budget, most hotels in Bar Harbor were not in our price range. At about $100 a night, the Anchorage Motel was a place to rest our heads that didn't totally kill our budget.

We liked that the hotel was within easy walking distance to downtown Bar Harbor. Other than that, we were pretty unimpressed. The exterior was univiting and depressing (a huge parking lot with a couple lawn chairs under a random tree). The rooms were ridiculously outdated, devoid of charm,and musty as hell. Everything I touched just felt damp. That said, despite the general dampness, the room was clean and the water pressure in the shower was more than sufficient.

If you're on a tight, tight, tight budget, the Anchorage Inn fits the bill. Otherwise, keep looking.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OnMyWay88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2009

A budget hotel through and through. In Bar Harbor, B&B are prolific, but the Anchorage harkens to a 1950's roadside motel w/ motor court. The decor is 1960's with paneling. However, you get what you pay for $60. So it is expected. They take pets and you can rent a fridge. It is a five minute walk from the downtown area so it has pluses on those fronts.

But note, the walls are paper thin. During our week long stay numerous tour groups arrived en masse (seniors, bikers, hikers) and for the most part it was fine, but with high school student we had to complain twice.

If you are on a budget, this is the on. But request a second floor room.

Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
1  Thank Togstad_Glenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2009

We found the room clean, with no frills, but adequate. Good location, within walking distance to down town, the pier, restaurants, and shops. Plenty of parking.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mulem0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2009

We got a great deal with a military discount and saved a ton compared to other hotels in the area.... still I'm not able to give this place a great review. Firstly, the walls are paper thin - I heard EVERYTHING going on in surrounding rooms. The only way I got any sleep was the great idea I had to yell at my sister to turn down the TV so I could hear the neighbors better (that shut them all up!). The decor is horribly outdated and a little grungy. The bathroom was gross, I found a pubic hair on the shower curtain and no little shampoo bottles were provided (just hand soap). Still the man at the desk was very friendly and helpful and the room served it's purpose as a place to sleep before we spent all day driving around Acadia NP. It's also close to downtown bar harbor and we were able to walk to dinner which was nice.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aphillipi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2009

First room was musty. They gave us a second room and it had a huge puddle of something on the dresser.....room obviously not cleaned recently. Very old bedding. Unfriendly staff including "owners son". Guy in the office laughed at us when we asked for a crib for the baby. Said they don't have them. Owners son showed up with a playpen. Place too dirty to stay.....we left....they charged our credit card even though we signed nothing. Save your money......for $26 more we stayed at the Holiday Inn Regency ocean front!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NjButterfly53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2009

My Husband and myself have been going to Bar Harbor for over 20 years. We always stay at the Anchorage Motel. The Location is a perfect walking distance from all of the shops and restaurants. The owner and staff are very pleasent, friendly and helpful. Its a no frills Motel, nothing fancy. The price is good. The rooms are very clean. It is a wonderful place to meet travellers from all around the world. We enjoy staying there very much. We have no plans to ever stay anyplace else.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank softail_deluxe49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2009

This motel had a great location! Close to everything in town. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. I really enjoyed my stay. My wife and I had a romantic getaway and this was a great value. Clean rooms, cute decorations; a little gem this friendly place is.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmurdock38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
315 reviews
0.4 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#21 of 41 in Bar Harbor
485 reviews
1.0 mi away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#14 of 41 in Bar Harbor
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
476 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#26 of 41 in Bar Harbor
444 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chiltern Inn
Chiltern Inn
#29 of 30 in Bar Harbor
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ANCHORAGE MOTEL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ANCHORAGE MOTEL

Address: 51 Mount Desert St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1327
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range: £80 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — ANCHORAGE MOTEL 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Agoda so you can book your ANCHORAGE MOTEL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage Motel Hotel Bar Harbor
ANCHORAGE MOTEL Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing