We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the middle of everything”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bar Harbor Villager Motel
Ranked #11 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
canada
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“In the middle of everything”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

My wife and I recently stayed in the Annex part of this motel and for the price and location it could not be better. The annex rooms lack a phone and internet connection but thats all. A breakfast room adjacent to the office provides an adequate light morning meal. No need to pay more for rooms in Bar Harbour..save your money to visit the local pubs!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spryfieldCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    269
    46
    5
    4
See reviews for
201
279
25
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Biglerville
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Wonderful location close to restaurants and shopping as well as the Shore Path. It is also just a short drive or bike ride to any one of several entrances to Acadia, clean rooms, friendly staff, nice continental breakfast, reasonable rates. It is the place we like to stay in Bar Harbor! The value can't be beaten!

Room Tip: We like the rooms with the king sized bed.
See more room tips
Green Features: The management has environmental friendly practices for towels and sheets.
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kaye B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, Maine
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2013

The location is fantastic, out the door and there you are, right in town close to everything. The rooms are clean but there was a loof dirt on the bed rails and the mattresses are so soft. The only things that could make it better would be to update the rooms. Old beds, to short and your legs hang over, old furniture and no table in the room. We like to play cards or eat in our rooms but this room had no place to do either. The breakfast offered is light, great staff and again, the location is the best! I would stay again but please update the rooms to equal the price that is charged.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Cindy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massapequa, New York
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

After reading all the positive reviews about the Bar Harbor Villager Motel, I was looking forward to my 4-night stay.

The rooms were adequate and kept clean. The continental breakfast was good. The location is definitely a plus. It was great to be able to walk around and not have to take the car out. But you do have to take the car if you want to get up to Cadillac Mountain for the sunrise and sunset. Although the buses can take you there, if you want spend more time roaming around, it's best to take your own car.

Our biggest gripe was the parking though. There are just not enough parking spaces!!! There were evenings when we were lucky enough to get the last space! One night we were not so lucky. The front desk suggested we park on the lawn or one of the "short" spaces. Those of you who have stayed there know what I'm talking about. If I had a sedan, it wouldn't have been a big deal, but I had a mini-van and it would have jutted out a lot, not to mention make it difficult for other cars to leave. How can there not be at least one parking space per room? We travelled with another couple in one car but took 2 rooms. Wasn't I entitled to at least one parking space?

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank May Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaitlinMeredith, General Manager at Bar Harbor Villager Motel, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. Though our parking can get quite full on busy nights, especially if you return to the property late at night, we are always able to accommodate everyone, even in the height of the season during August. Occasionally, we do have to suggest parking on the grass by the pool, or in the half spaces, and most of our guests find these to be perfectly adequate solutions. On the night you are referring to, there were actually a couple of spaces available on the grass, as well as a full space right by the continental breakfast building which is ultimately where you parked, so I am unsure as to why you found the parking frustrating. We don’t have assigned parking spaces, so parking is first come, first serve. Those guests who prefer to keep their car nearer to their rooms usually maintain their preferred spot by leaving their car parked there, especially in the afternoons and evenings. The benefit to our convenient in-town location is that we are just a 5 minute walk from all of Bar Harbor’s wonderful restaurants, so most guests simply leave their cars parked in the afternoons/evenings. I am glad we were ultimately able to accommodate you in a full parking space, as you requested.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

This hotel is in a great location and you can walk everywhere and it's a short drive to three of the Acadia entrances. Clean and comfortable room with free WiFi. Not enough outlets to charge all of our electronics. It would be nice to have lights over the headboards because the room is pretty dimly lit. Continental breakfast was good but limited. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thelg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

I stayed at the Villager with my family in early August. I could not have been more pleased with everything the Villager had to offer. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the pool was excellent, and the location is the absolute best! The staff was extremely friendly and helpful (especially Caitlin!!). The Villager is literally located in the middle of downtown Bar Harbor so you can walk everywhere. Another great feature is the Villager's continental breakfast, which included all you need to get you day started. That was such a convenience since feeding a family of five breakfast each morning would have been expensive! I can't recommend The Villager enough!

Room Tip: We liked the rooms facing the parking lot and pool.
See more room tips
Green Features: The Villager certainly cares about the environment.
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tshea42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amherst, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

Our family stayed at the Villager Motel and we were very satisfied. The room was clean, comfortable, and spacious. Parking was a bit tricky when we checked in, but the hotel staff was very quick to find us a place to park. The location can't be beat - right in town, and no need to use the car except when we headed into Acadia. The breakfast was an added bonus, and the dining area was also clean and comfortable. Definitely recommend the Villager Motel!

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank vps5c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,323 reviews
1.3 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.8 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#29 of 41 in Bar Harbor
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#19 of 41 in Bar Harbor
288 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
649 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bar Harbor Villager Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Villager Motel

Property: Bar Harbor Villager Motel
Address: 207 Main St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1745
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#13 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Bar Harbor Villager Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family friendly, affordable lodging with modern amenities conveniently located in the heart of downtown Bar Harbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Bar Harbor Villager Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Villager Hotel Bar Harbor
Villager Motel Bar Harbor
Villager Hotel Bar Harbor
Bar Harbor Villager Motel Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing