We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bar Harbor Villager Motel
Ranked #11 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 September 2013

My husband and I come to Bar Harbor every year to celebrate our anniversary. We used to stay at an expensive hotel and realized we were never in our room. We walked by the Villager and it looked nice and so we tried it. For the money you cannot beat it! It is clean and the staff are very friendly. We always go back to the Villager every year. We don't need luxury because we are never in the room. If you just need a clean place to stay this is your best bet to save yourself some money!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (648)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

453 - 459 of 648 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2013

Rooms need renovated , Room was dark and dingy, Everything in the room was 50 years old, Mattress was so worn out it hurt our backs , we left day earlier , AC was 25 years old, Personell were friendly (all foreigners). Breakfast was less then exciting, Location was good, Would not stay there again !!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaitlinMeredith, General Manager at Bar Harbor Villager Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us. It is always helpful for us to know the areas we can improve upon so that we can better serve our future guests. I am so glad you enjoyed the convenience of our location and the friendliness of our staff. Every year, we spend the winter updating the property to better serve our guests. For this year, all of our guest rooms were repainted, received new drapes and bedspreads, and new pillows. Last year, we renovated all the bathrooms and installed energy efficient low flow toilets, curved shower curtain rods, new light fixtures, new tile floors, and new vanities. In addition, the complimentary continental breakfast was new for last year, and most guests find that it is just what they need to get their day started. We offer 2 kinds of bagels, 2 kinds of muffins, English muffins, hot and cold cereals, hard boiled eggs, assorted flavors of yogurt, a selection of juices, coffee, and tea. I only wish you had let us know about the problems you experienced with the mattress during your stay, so that we could have had the opportunity to move you to a more suitable room for your needs. Thanks again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

My wife and I recently stayed in the Annex part of this motel and for the price and location it could not be better. The annex rooms lack a phone and internet connection but thats all. A breakfast room adjacent to the office provides an adequate light morning meal. No need to pay more for rooms in Bar Harbour..save your money to visit the local pubs!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spryfieldCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Wonderful location close to restaurants and shopping as well as the Shore Path. It is also just a short drive or bike ride to any one of several entrances to Acadia, clean rooms, friendly staff, nice continental breakfast, reasonable rates. It is the place we like to stay in Bar Harbor! The value can't be beaten!

Room Tip: We like the rooms with the king sized bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kaye B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

The location is fantastic, out the door and there you are, right in town close to everything. The rooms are clean but there was a loof dirt on the bed rails and the mattresses are so soft. The only things that could make it better would be to update the rooms. Old beds, to short and your legs hang over, old furniture and no table in the room. We like to play cards or eat in our rooms but this room had no place to do either. The breakfast offered is light, great staff and again, the location is the best! I would stay again but please update the rooms to equal the price that is charged.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Cindy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

After reading all the positive reviews about the Bar Harbor Villager Motel, I was looking forward to my 4-night stay.

The rooms were adequate and kept clean. The continental breakfast was good. The location is definitely a plus. It was great to be able to walk around and not have to take the car out. But you do have to take the car if you want to get up to Cadillac Mountain for the sunrise and sunset. Although the buses can take you there, if you want spend more time roaming around, it's best to take your own car.

Our biggest gripe was the parking though. There are just not enough parking spaces!!! There were evenings when we were lucky enough to get the last space! One night we were not so lucky. The front desk suggested we park on the lawn or one of the "short" spaces. Those of you who have stayed there know what I'm talking about. If I had a sedan, it wouldn't have been a big deal, but I had a mini-van and it would have jutted out a lot, not to mention make it difficult for other cars to leave. How can there not be at least one parking space per room? We travelled with another couple in one car but took 2 rooms. Wasn't I entitled to at least one parking space?

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank May Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaitlinMeredith, General Manager at Bar Harbor Villager Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. Though our parking can get quite full on busy nights, especially if you return to the property late at night, we are always able to accommodate everyone, even in the height of the season during August. Occasionally, we do have to suggest parking on the grass by the pool, or in the half spaces, and most of our guests find these to be perfectly adequate solutions. On the night you are referring to, there were actually a couple of spaces available on the grass, as well as a full space right by the continental breakfast building which is ultimately where you parked, so I am unsure as to why you found the parking frustrating. We don’t have assigned parking spaces, so parking is first come, first serve. Those guests who prefer to keep their car nearer to their rooms usually maintain their preferred spot by leaving their car parked there, especially in the afternoons and evenings. The benefit to our convenient in-town location is that we are just a 5 minute walk from all of Bar Harbor’s wonderful restaurants, so most guests simply leave their cars parked in the afternoons/evenings. I am glad we were ultimately able to accommodate you in a full parking space, as you requested.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

This hotel is in a great location and you can walk everywhere and it's a short drive to three of the Acadia entrances. Clean and comfortable room with free WiFi. Not enough outlets to charge all of our electronics. It would be nice to have lights over the headboards because the room is pretty dimly lit. Continental breakfast was good but limited. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thelg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1.3 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,376 reviews
0.8 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#26 of 41 in Bar Harbor
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
312 reviews
0.1 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#8 of 41 in Bar Harbor
380 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#4 of 41 in Bar Harbor
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bar Harbor Villager Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Villager Motel

Address: 207 Main St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1745
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#13 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range: £96 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bar Harbor Villager Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family friendly, affordable lodging with modern amenities conveniently located in the heart of downtown Bar Harbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bar Harbor Villager Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Villager Hotel Bar Harbor
Villager Motel Bar Harbor
Villager Hotel Bar Harbor
Bar Harbor Villager Motel Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing