We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Front lines!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bar Harbor Villager Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bar Harbor Villager Motel
Ranked #11 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Maine
2 reviews
“Front lines!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

I've stayed at this motel several years in a row, each fall for the Mount Desert Island Marathon. It is conveniently located in downtown Bar Harbor. It is also right at the "start-line" for the marathon. Sit in your room until just before the starting gun!!! Doesn't get any better!! Staff is very helpful and the continental breakfast EXCELLENT!!

Room Tip: Poolside rooms face the marathon starting line.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Maine-iac238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    254
    43
    5
    4
See reviews for
183
260
23
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

I had the best experience at this inn! Front desk personnel were courteous, helpful and welcoming. My room was immaculate. And I was right downtown. The room charges were much more in line with my budget than any other inn I researched. I would much rather be in the thick of the bar harbor experience than out of town and grubbing for a parking space. A tidy, we'll managed property that offers a great location, cleanliness and excellent value.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, Maine
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

We've stayed at the villager under old and now new management. Liked the spiffier, cleaner rooms, however the pink sheets were a little much, and the fitted bottom sheet was so old it didn't stay tucked in...we thought it would get changed the second night, but no...even though we didn't put the card out for ecological savings on changing your sheets ours weren't changed! It would have been a great stay if not for the sheets! We mentioned to the clerk upon leaving that they needed to retire those sheets. We are Mainers and will come to Bar Harbor again. The Villager is convenient as it makes the town walkable.

Room Tip: There is a second level and I think it night have been quieter if your room was not by the steps to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Momfitz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaitlinMeredith, General Manager at Bar Harbor Villager Motel, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Hello! Thank you for taking the time to review the Bar Harbor Villager Motel. We are so glad you enjoyed the updates to the rooms and the convenience of our location. Regarding the sheets, we only change the sheets every 2 days unless otherwise requested, which is why your sheets weren't changed for the second night of your stay. However, if you had let us know about the problems you were having with the sheets after the first night, we would have happily changed them for you. I apologize for the inconvenience. We do go through sheets and take old ones out of inventory periodically, and sometimes it is hard to determine which ones need to be retired as we aren't the ones sleeping on them, so I really appreciate you letting us know when you checked out. Many thanks for the review and we look forward to seeing you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wicklow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

My husband and I have stayed at this motel over the last two summers. We have found the staff very friendly and helpful. Our room was clean and comfortable........love the king size bed!!
We love to walk the downtown area and can walk and then return to motel to rest. It is very close to wonderful eating places which we can walk too. We were very satisfied with our stay at this motel.
We will definitely book here again if in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2013Getaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cessnock, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

We found this motel to be convenient and comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful, the room was well appointed and comfortable and the breakfast was good. The motel was easy distance from the town and Arcadia National Park.

Room Tip: All rooms were similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Robyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

We visited Bar Harbor last weekend of the season and stayed one night at Bar Harbor Villager. Our rooms were clean and we were satisfied with our experience. We will definitely book the place again as it is perfectly located downtown and near Acadia.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cndsurfchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buchanan, Michigan
Level Contributor
309 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

This is a very clean motel with above average toiletries, but very dated. The grounds are well maintained but there is inadequate parking which requires you to park on the pool grass. This is ok unless it is raining. The continental breakfast is typical motel offering but if a tourist bus has brought forty plus folks, find out when it is leaving or eat elsewhere.
The front office is very welcoming but the manager did not think it important to call me,as requested, regarding the below concerns.
PROBLEMS
Housekeepers informed us they were leaving our section but would return later. You guessed it, they never came back.
When we booked our room, no one told us that the Marathon started at the entrance to the motel, so at 7:30 AM the loud speakers started followed by a foghorn. Had we not been up late the night before attending a wedding, this might not have been "

Room Tip: This motel is in the center of town, so try for a room further away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaitlinMeredith, General Manager at Bar Harbor Villager Motel, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad that you enjoyed the cleanliness of our rooms, the quality of our amenities, and that you felt welcomed by front desk staff. I am so sorry I wasn't able to speak with you on the day you departed, as it was my day off, but I did send you an email immediately that same day addressing your concerns in which I welcomed you to call me should you wish to discuss them further. Regarding the parking: Occasionally, when we are very busy and someone returns to the property later in the evening, the only parking available may be on the grass by the pool. We are always able to accommodate everyone and we do offer umbrellas available at the front desk should a guest wish to borrow one in the case of rainy weather. Regarding the housekeeping issue: I did speak with the housekeepers responsible for your room, and they indicated that, one day, your rooms was serviced as usual, and the other day, you just requested towels. I believe that this was simply a miscommunication, as these particular housekeepers are my best and what you described is highly out of character for them. The reason that you were not informed about the Marathon upon booking your reservation is because you booked it online through our website. However, on the main page of our website, we do reference that we are the starting line of the Marathon with a hyperlink to their website for more information. Again, I would like to offer my most sincere apologies that we were not able to meet and exceed your expectations, and we do hope you will give us another chance the next time you find yourself in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
1.3 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
4.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn
1.1 mi away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#16 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bar Harbor Villager Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Villager Motel

Property: Bar Harbor Villager Motel
Address: 207 Main St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1745
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#13 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Bar Harbor Villager Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family friendly, affordable lodging with modern amenities conveniently located in the heart of downtown Bar Harbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Bar Harbor Villager Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Villager Hotel Bar Harbor
Villager Motel Bar Harbor
Villager Hotel Bar Harbor
Bar Harbor Villager Motel Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing