We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Emery's Cottages on the Shore
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Where do I begin? If you are going to be in the Bar Harbor area for a few days, stay here. Just do it. Owners Wally and Carol Gray can't do enough for their guests. For a property right on the water the rates are extremely reasonable and the property is peaceful and quiet. The big lawn slopes gently down to the rocky beach. I spent a blissful day in a lounge chair on the lawn reading. The only noise was the wind, the gentle lapping at the shore of the incoming tide, birds and the occasional hum of a fishing boat motor. This property is a couple of miles of the beaten path but only a few minutes to town. The cottages were immaculately taken care of. Grills and picnic tables were convenient for a BBQ at the shore. With the good cup of coffee, great view and peace and quiet provided by our hosts, we did not feel the need to rush the start of our day at all. Oh, and don't forget to return from your day's adventures in time grab your front row seat to the beautiful sunsets. We cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sadiebun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

We consider ourselves so fortunate that we were able to get reservations at Emery's! From a very friendly check-in to wonderful views and an unbelievable clean cottage, we had a great stay! The cleaning staff is like no other, they go above and beyond. We have never stayed anywhere that is as clean as this! No, everything is not new but it is so immaculately clean and doesn't show any wear that it doesn't matter. We saw seals and dolphins, walked to the sea caves when the tide was out. It is a short drive to Bar Harbor and an even shorter drive to Acadia. You cannot go wrong by staying here. We cooked almost the entire time during our stay and unlike some places we have rented, they had everything we needed and no cheap pots with thin bottoms. They also have lobster pots you can use and you don't have to worry about bringing your beach towels they have those for you too. We hated to leave!!!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank oneyearride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The cottage was perfect for myself and my fiancee. We stayed in a cottage with a kitchenette which worked out well because we were able to make ourselves breakfast and dinner many days. The owners were very helpful in getting us oriented when we first got there and the staff did a great job keeping the place clean. The area was very quiet and relaxing. It was about a 5 minute drive to the entrance of Acadia and 10 minute drive to downtown Bar Harbor, since parking wasn't a problem in Bar Harbor, this worked out really well for us. I would highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank athomps33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This was a great place to stay - close to Acadia and downtown area without being in the thick of tourists. The water view was wonderful and having the kitchenette was a huge perk for nights we weren't in the mood to go out to eat dinner. Very friendly staff and simple, clean cottages. Truly made our visit relaxing

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Suzanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I are on our honeymoon, and we planned on camping near Acadia. Last night's thunderstorm changed our plans, and Wally (the owner of Emery's) was so kind and accommodating when we called @ 830 PM to book a cottage. He took my info & then said he wd leave a key in cottage 8 for us. This place is so charming & adorable! It is immaculately clean, 1 queen bed, a mini-fridge, full bathroom with shower, tv, & a dresser. Wally met us at the office in the morning with a welcoming smile & gave us great advice on where to go in Acadia & Bar Harbor & pointed us to the free coffee next door. Best part of this quaint place is the private, peaceful, rocky beach with breathtaking views of the water - we even saw 2 seals! So beautiful & so reasonably priced- Lovely, lovely, lovely! (: Wish we could stay here longer - special thanks to All of the previous Trip Advisor commentators for helping us to find this special place! (;

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank LynnderellaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We spent five nights in Maine, three of them at Emery's. We wish we would have stayed all five here though...as we were sad to leave our cottage half way through our trip! We stayed in a cottage without a kitchen, but it wasn't a problem since there is a community kitchen that was open to everyone. Actually, I'd almost recommend the cottages without the kitchens, since the view of the bay (and amazing sunsets) is probably the best from them.

All of the staff was friendly, and we were even loaned a few Acadia hiking books when we checked in, which were very helpful, and the other guests were also friendly as well.

We will definitely stay here again if we do make it to Bar Harbor again.

Room Tip: Go for the cottages (#4 through 8) without a kitchen if you're the kind of person that likes to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

There are so many wonderful things about this place. The owners are wonderful, very friendly, helpful and just plain nice folks. Wally showed us their photo album with pictures of the cottages thru the seasons. He and Carol were both helpful but unobtrusive. They were there if we needed them but gave us our space. The cottage we had, 5A has to be the cleanest place I've ever stayed. Yes, the cottages are old but well maintained and comfortable. Did I mention CLEAN?? We had a cottage with a kitchenette which worked great for my husband and I. Plenty of room, lots of grills, both gas and charcoal. The cottage was stocked with everything we needed. Fresh towels were delivered daily. There is a cottage that has a washer and dryer, ice machine and coffee each morning.They also have an area to cook lobster. Emery's is a very short drive into all the action of Bar Harbor, but secluded enough to enjoy the peace and beauty of what Maine is. This was our first trip to Maine and we loved everything about it, but especially Emery's. Emery's is not a fancy fufu kind of place. It's a place where as corny as it sounds, you can reconnect to yourself and nature. For my husband and I it was truly Heaven on Earth. Maine, we will be back and Mr and Mrs Emery, we'll be heading in your direction. Thanks for a lovely trip

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sunnythyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Acadia Park Inn
3.6 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
4.2 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#26 of 41 in Bar Harbor
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
717 reviews
2.4 mi away
Belle Isle Motel
Belle Isle Motel
#22 of 41 in Bar Harbor
373 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Colony on Frenchman's Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emery's Cottages on the Shore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emery's Cottages on the Shore

Address: 181 Sand Point Rd, PO Box 172, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-7559
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Bar Harbor
Price Range: £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Emery`s Cottages On The Shore Hotel Bar Harbor
Emery's Cottages On The Shore Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing