We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Simply an amazing place to stay on Mount Desert...”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, Maine

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Salorey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Simply an amazing place to stay on Mount Desert Island!”
Reviewed 30 October 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful home on a quiet secluded cove. We saw lots of wildlife, including a bald eagle and harbor seals. The private rocky beach was great to explore. The home itself was spacious with plenty of amenities. We never did get the television to work, but who cares? We were there to explore and be with nature, not watch tv! The kitchen was well stocked, and there were plenty of games in the living room. The large back porch and enclosed front porch were great too. Bar harbor and Acadia were an easy 15 minutes away. The house is a little pricey in the summer months, but worth every penny! We would stay there again in a heartbeat!

Rooms Location
Cleanliness
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maceturne...
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, though some updates would help”
Reviewed 30 October 2014 for a stay in August 2014

My family and I went with family friends and stayed at the Big House for a week this past August. Both families had 2 kids each, ages 6-12. The location for this house was hands down amazing. Not in the craziness of Bar Harbor proper, but close enough to get to everything wonderful on Deer Island. Also, we were right on the water and ordered kayaks which we used daily and thoroughly enjoyed. My only real criticism of this property is that the sheets, towels, and furniture are all VERY worn, and it would help tremendously if some of these items were replaced and updated.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie B
Wolcott, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Bar Harbor Escape”
Reviewed 30 October 2014 for a stay in April 2014

The house we rented was the big house. It was a well maintained, large home that had most everything we needed to have a relaxing week. The house was bare, but to be expected for a rental house. The upstairs bedrooms were spacious but the double/queen beds were not the comfiest to sleep on. I would have liked to have seen a master bedroom with a king bed and a mattress from this decade. The couches are older but comfortable for the most part. It was great to sit on the closed in porch and have a cup of tea in the morning. There is little to no cell phone service at the house. So make your calls at start of the road.
Overall this was a nice house with some room for improvement and updating furniture.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leslie E
Knoxville, Tennessee, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magical!!”
Reviewed 30 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The setting is absolutely gorgeous! It is so very private. We loved it. The house was beautiful and well appointed and it was relatively close to everything we wanted to do. We took a boat tour of the lighthouses, ate at the Chart Room, visited all over Acadia Nat'l Park and even took a day trip to Camden. The people are great to work with and everything about renting was easy. As a big "moon lover" you can imagine how amazed I was to watch the sun go down and the full moon rise standing on our own little beach! It was a truly wonderful vacation in every way.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the setting
Liked least: the directions we were sent
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LA
Reviewed 10 April 2014 for a stay in September 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CT
Reviewed 22 May 2013 for a stay in May 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ohio
Reviewed 22 May 2013 for a stay in August 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing