We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place to Stay, Close, Clean, Friendly”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hutchins Mountain View Cottages
Drexel Hill, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice Place to Stay, Close, Clean, Friendly”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Stayed three nights, checked in on Sunday, checked out on Wednesday. Friendly check in service, very clean cottages, not rustic, not five star, but above my expectation. Great views as described. Clean cottages with daily service, nice pool and spacious grounds. Very close to Bar Harbor downtown, Acadia National Park Visitor Center and easily close to restaurants and activities outside of those two main attractions. i would stay again and probably will.

Room Tip: Cottages are different sizes, all have a view, just be sure to get the size you need and you should...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    12
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
25
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Trapper Creek, Alaska
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We loved this place. We came as a drop in and they offered two different cottages for two nights. Both were reasonably priced, clean, and comfy. The first one was larger and felt more like home with a separate bedroom. Both kitchens were spotless and fully stocked with dishes and appliances. The host was a wealth of knowledge on where to go and what to do. I love that the place has been in the family for years. The distance from Bar Harbor downtown is short but the cottages are quiet. We never saw the mountain view because of the foggy weather, but it didn't matter. We enjoyed the screen porches on both.

Room Tip: If room 17 is available, give it a try. It is bigger and more secluded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank birdflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We just finished up our week at Hutchin's Mountain View cottages. It is our 12th year staying with them. The cabins are nice, clean and comfortable. The screened in porches are an added bonus with great views of Cadillac. The cabins are well built and you actually have some space between cabins and some privacy. In prior years, we had stayed in other camping cabins in the area where you have barely any space between cabins and you can hear the conversation of the people in the next cabin. You can't get a better location with access to both town and the park.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gale C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, MA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Our family stayed here for a long weekend while visiting the island and park. Our cabin didn't look special on the outside, but it was clean and we loved the screened in porch. The bathroom could stand a little bit of love, but this isn't a fancy place. It is clean, let's you have more than a hotel room, and had a large open outdoor space. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MountainMooses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ossining, NY
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012

Simple, small cottages but very clean and friendly staff. Far enough in from main road so no noise, but access to free bus service and road are easy. Good price for the season. Peaceful property. Theres a swimming pool, though we never used it.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LMadison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsford, Vermont
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

I absolutely loved these cabins and the 20 acres of meadow and property they are on. My dog Lucy loved it even more and made many doggie friends while there. We spent many afternoons on the enclosed porch enjoying the view of the mountains and the breeze. It is close to Bar Harbor and the Park ,and restaurants are close by too. If you would rather stay in your cabin in the evening as I did many nights, they have well equipped kitchens to prepare your meals with a stove, oven and full size refrigerators. They also have picnic tables outside your door to enjoy. I saw deer in the early morning and turkey in the evening right on the property. Although it is conveniently located right on RT 3, it is quiet and back from the road.
This place is well taken care of and your needs attended to without being effusive.
I found Hutchins Mountain View Cottages to be the perfect place for me and my dog to enjoy the perfect vacation.

Room Tip: If you are bringing a pet I would recommend the cottages at the far end of the meadow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012 via mobile

We used Hutchins Cottages for an overnight and base for touring Acadia NP. They are located a couple of miles from Bar Harbor near the entrance to the park and Visitor's Center. Our cabin had a nice view of the mountains and served us well. Nice little kitchen, screened porch and very quiet location.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ghoulwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
2.8 mi away
Belle Isle Motel
Belle Isle Motel
#21 of 41 in Bar Harbor
325 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Acadia Park Inn
3.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,236 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Colony on Frenchman's Bay
3.1 mi away
Highbrook Motel
Highbrook Motel
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hutchins Mountain View Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hutchins Mountain View Cottages

Property: Hutchins Mountain View Cottages
Address: 286 State Highway 3, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-7540
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Bar Harbor
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Hutchins Mountain View Cottages Hotel Bar Harbor
Hutchins Mountain View Cottages Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing