We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“delicious food & resonable pricing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Side Street cafe

Side Street cafe
Ranked #10 of 143 Restaurants in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids, Bar Scene, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Huron, OH, USA
Level Contributor
102 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“delicious food & resonable pricing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

we used call ahead seating & couldn't even get there before they had our table ready! that was great. Service was fast & the food was great. I had lobster mac & cheese & my husband had grilled haddock sandwich; we split loaded fries. yum! the picture says it all. It was a block from the drop off of the bus. I would go again if we are lucky enough to go back to Bar harbor,.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SherryOrndorff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,542 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,397
    798
    255
    69
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
182 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Didn't live up to reviews”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

I thought the food was good but nothing special. It was fresh but not a wow. Our appetizers were better than the dinners we had the grilled avocado and the fish chowder . The lobster dinner is a good value . The wait staff was very nice. They allow dogs outside so if that bothers you wAit for an inside table but it will be a long wait. Many passing by the deck stop to see the dogs and their heads are at your feet level since the deck is elevated. and they start calling to the dogs right under your feet and legs. I enjoyed the music inside while eating on the deck .

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank aweiss00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“wow, you have to go here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

We had the best breakfast here as food was excellent as was service and atmosphere. All of the staff were upbeat, friendly and there to make your dining experience great. You are not a number at the Side Street Cafe as they treat each person so nicely so you want to go back. Also the artwork was beautiful and added to the overall wonderful atmosphere!!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Becky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good lobster roll”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

We found this place based on TripAdvisor advice as one of the best places to get lobster rolls. I don't know if it is the best because that is the only time I have ever has a lobster roll - but it was really good. They had a huge menu and we would definitely go back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank A_dragon7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent lobster roll!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Chose this spot for lunch based on previous reviews and were glad we did. IMO this was the best of all the lobster rolls I had while in Bar Harbor (and there were many)! Great margaritas too! The service was terrific, great menu, and we loved the laid back, casual atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jojay-4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Side Street cafe also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Side Street cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing