We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something Different in Bar Harbor”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Black Friar Pub

Black Friar Pub
Ranked #22 of 143 Restaurants in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$32
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
153 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Something Different in Bar Harbor”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

This one is a little different. It's in a small Inn and has a small bar/restaurant. We had breakfast there a year ago and this year decided to have dinner there a couple times. We enjoyed it both times. It's a little quieter than most places in town. It has a pretty nice variety of items on the meno and the daily specials are unique. Everything we tried was very good. Service was also very good. A very friendly little pub.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    49
    22
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Trussville, Alabama
Level Contributor
128 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful Burgers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

We ate here during our first night staying at the Black Friar Inn. We had two of the ale soaked burgers and a cup of lobster bisque along with a couple Gritty's beers. It was all good and reasonably priced. The menu consisted of upscale pub food with lots of local dishes. Also had a piece of chocolate cake that was wonderful, but a bit expensive.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winthrop
Level Contributor
271 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“evening in Bar Harbor”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

food was very good it is a small place and when entered no one around to greet us or provide any direction. staff was friendly and helpful.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank toys4dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yellville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Brief visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Just stopped by for a beer as had read abut it in a Frommer's Guidebook. No rooms available but still wanted to look at it. Barmaid/waitress was a bit irked that we didn't eat a meal there. We weren't very hungry plus prices were pretty steep, but from what we saw served the food looked very good.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Ray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Methuen, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
112 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem that you have to find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

This was probably our favorite meal and restaurant during our week-long honeymoon in Bar Harbor. The Black Friar Pub was recommended to us from a local business owner and we are very glad we took up the recommendation. I'd definitely say it's one of the best restaurants in all of Bar Harbor and what makes it even better is it's one of those hidden gems not on Main Street.

Definitely make a reservation to eat here as the dining room doesn't accommodate a ton of visitors. The night that my wife and I ate here, the Black Friar was hosting a party of 20 which essentially filled their larger dining room making only a few tables in their smaller dining room available. As much as they didn't want to turn people away, they had to that night. But it also showed how good the place is as it was filled to capacity and turned away more visitors.

I had the NY Sirloin which was cooked to medium rare perfection and it was served with their veggie and starch nightly choices which were butternut squash and a cool shredded potato pancake. My wife had the rosemary skewered scallops which were huge and delicious.

I had a couple of pints and one thing I found interesting was the pub doesn't serve Atlantic Brewing Beer per the owner's choice. Still plenty of other local micro-brews to choose from though making this is an overall great dining experience for us.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Black Friar Pub also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Black Friar Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing