We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Acadia”
Review of Acacia House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Acacia House Inn
Ranked #14 of 30 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Millbury, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Acadia”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We loved saying at Acacia House. We were warmly greeted by one of the innkeepers. We had a long drive and I was eager to get our key but we engaged in friendly conversation which was actually nice and welcoming. Our room, #6 was great for us. There was a card placed in the room to be aware of other guests and there's a quiet time after a certain hour. We did have a problem hearing other guests way past this time but I guess you can't expect everyone to follow the rules. Breakfast was Great! There's a standard menu every morning that you can choose from in addition to a daily special. My fiancé had the special everyday and they looked amazing. I choose from the standard menu and those were equally amazing and kept us full. The location of this Inn is about 10 minutes from the entrance from Acadia which was important to us. There are tons of shops downtown for the in-season. I would recommend going to see a movie at Reel Pizza where you can eat and watch a movie (for cheap)! Our visit did include rain which was a bit of a bummer especially where there isn't a whole lot to do when it rains. But we did ask for suggestions and received a couple back. In the end, if we ever came back to the area, we would stay here again. Location to the Acadia Park, price and quality of the room and the breakfasts were amazing not to mention the friendliness of the hosts.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcrean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    24
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
39
171
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

If you're looking for a place to stay in Bar Harbor, I would highly recommend Acacia House. It's on a quiet street away from the crowds but is a short walking distance to anything and everything in town. We were able to leave our car in their small parking lot and walk everywhere (unless going to Acadia National Park). We stayed in Room 5 on the third floor and were very comfortable. The room was spacious with windows looking out over the street and the attached bathroom was fairly large. Ralph and Anna were both so very kind and welcoming. If you're a foodie, you'll love the breakfasts. Each breakfast has a fruit of some sorts served before your main meal (such as lemon and blueberries with lemon curd or blueberry compote with greek yogurt). There is also a baked item offered each morning, like scones or muffins. I had three different and amazing breakfasts while staying there. I had an great omelet, a fantastic frittata, and the chocolate pancakes with an orange-ginger butter were my favorite! You can choose from the standard menu or a daily special. Oh, and they have gluten-free options available. In the afternoon, cookies are set out with tea. We were usually out exploring all day, but there were still plenty of cookies left every evening when we got back. I would definitely stay at Acacia House again!

Room Tip: Room 5 was large, quiet and more private feeling since it was on the third floor. The bathroom is bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank parker31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 6 Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights, and were so glad we found Acacia House. It is a very short walk to restaurants, shops and the Harbor area, but nicely tucked away in a quiet street.

Our room was on the top floor in the "attic" and was spotlessly clean with a big, comfy bed (beautiful linens). We slept really well here.

Ralph and Anna were relaxed, helpful and friendly hosts. We felt right at home and loved the breakfasts and "afternoon treats". In fact, we'd say that the blueberry pancakes were the best we've ever had! It is tricky to choose from the breakfast menu as everything sounds and tastes so good.

Highly recommended. One of our favourite stops during our 2 week tour of New England.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosieh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

We couldn't have been more please with our choice to stay at Acacia House. It is conveniently located and easy walking distance to the commercial area of Bar Harbor. What we really enjoyed the most was the food. Breakfast was FANTASTIC. There are standard offerings as well as specials each day such as raspberry and cream cheese stuffed French toast. Each breakfast was started with a warm baked item (blueberry muffins, currant lemon scones) followed by a baked fruit. Freshly baked cookies are served in the afternoon with hot tea. We stayed in the downstairs room right off the kitchen and sitting room. We did not find this to be an issue and would stay in this room again. The bed was extremely comfortable and the bathroom was large and well appointed.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank markjs712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
405 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Perfectly located on a quiet street close to the city center. Rooms were large and quiet. Breakfast is outstanding. Cookies and tea offered in the afternoon. Friendly and dedicated hosts. Not cheap, but good value for money in Bar Harbor.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcogi6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

I've stayed at a couple different B & B's in Bar Harbor over the years; Acacia House stands right up there at the top. Anna prepares the breakfasts and Ralph bakes the pastries that are such delicious delights mid-afternoons. All the food we enjoyed there was delicious! The location of the inn was outstanding for the time of year that we visited...over the busy 4th of July weekend. In fact, the town July 4th parade was held on the street that was about a half block away from the inn. The location was also great to walk to anywhere downtown, the laundromat, grocery, etc. We stayed at the inn 4 nights and were in the smallest room in the main house, but it was totally comfy for us. We loved the bathroom and claw foot tub/shower. The porch was a great place to begin your day, with bright and sunny mornings to accompany the scrumptious breakfasts. A big winner for us--the reviews we'd read before booking were spot on, and we were very pleased with our accommodations, hosts, food, and the stay in BH!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoriM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsborough, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2013

There's not much to say really, if you stay here then you'll have a great stay guaranteed. Great little inn, awesome service, Ralph was always happy to help. The breakfasts are unreal, so so good. They made us a packed lunch everyday which was supposed to be $12 a go but at the end of our stay they told us that since we used solely public transport we got a discount which covered all our packed lunches for our 4 day stay! We didn't even know about that discount so they could have easily gotten away with not telling us but they're far too nice for that! Just stay here, it's awesome.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,326 reviews
0.1 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#11 of 41 in Bar Harbor
361 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
654 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#27 of 41 in Bar Harbor
412 reviews
0.3 mi away
Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acacia House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acacia House Inn

Property: Acacia House Inn
Address: 6 High St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1817
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable and friendly century-old Victorian in a quiet, tree-lined neighborhood, just steps away from all that Bar Harbor has to offer. Rooms feature organic linens, private baths, hardwood floors, some with balconies. Full breakfast served every morning on our sun-lit porch, complimentary afternoon refreshments, handmade pastries and espresso. Off-street parking, cable, wifi, maps and books, knowledgeable innkeepers will help you get the most from your Acadia vacation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Acacia House Hotel Bar Harbor
Acacia House Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing