We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An easy 5 star B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Acacia House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Acacia House Inn
Ranked #14 of 31 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“An easy 5 star B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

Went here with my fiance in late October for four nights, and we felt like we lucked out by choosing to stay in the Acacia House. If we return to Acadia, I will not even attempt to find an alternative B&B, and I'd recommend it to almost anyone.


The best aspects, in no particular order:

(1) The location - The location is perfect for easy parking and access. Very close to Bar Harbor attractions and restaurants, but it's still in the perfect spot to make access a breeze. Plenty of parking next to the inn and on High St.
(2) The food! I ordered the specials almost every day, and there were eggs benedict and a tart with bacon that were absolutely fantastic. In addition, in the evening (we were gone throughout the day, so we never got to sample the mid-day snacks) they kept the tea kettle full of water, and had a different baked desserts available each night (If you feel a little too full at dinner, enjoy the walk back to the inn and grab one!)
(3) The hosts. Ralph was incredibly helpful when we fist arrived, and recommended some great hikes for the awkward 1/3 of a day we had left upon arrival. The restaurants he suggested were equally good, especially McKays and the Side St. Cafe's lobster roll. We interacted somewhat less with Anna, but she was very friendly, helpful when we were asking late at night about dinner options.
(4) The house. We only stayed in one room (#6, on the third floor), but we poked our heads into a couple of others that were vacant, and they looked great. It is very cozy and comfortable, and it was a joy to return to our room each night. I also think that the breakfast/snack area is wonderful and very easy to access. Finally, it's very easy to access your room once you enter the house.


Neutral comments (none of these were a problem for us, but I want to mention them)

(1) The room has a nice note to ask guests to obey "quiet hours" after 9. If a guest doesn't comply with this request I could see that being an issue, but everyone was very considerate while we were there and only really heard people as they entered and left their room
(2) The house is charmingly aged, so the wood floors will creak a bit. While I have no idea how this affected other patrons, I felt AWFUL trying to surreptitiously leave the house for sunrise on two mornings. Could be just my neuroses, but it's something to be aware of (and if I go again, I will definitely try to stay on the top floor!)
(3) Wi-Fi was spotty on the third floor, but 3G reception was really good so that wasn't really an issue for us

Room Tip: We were in Room #6, which was on the third floor overlooking High Street. Room #5 is on the same fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William_Walker24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    24
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
37
165
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
El Cajon, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Well located warm and welcoming B & B. Our host Ralph was extremely hospitable and helpful. Eager to answer all our questions and seek out info he was unable to provide. Delectable treats in the afternoon and early morning scones or rolls along with coffee and tea made it very pleasant for early risers. And that was in addition to hearty breakfasts which were scrumptious! Ample parking was available and did I mention the food? Evidently Ann & Ralph owned a bakery before this enterprise and their expertise shows. Thanks for a wonderful stay. This would have been a 5 but the only room available was a tad small.

Room Tip: Wi-if didn't work in our 3rd floor room. Stay on the 1st floor.
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Wanderlustsuzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisarow, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Our only other experience of an inn was in New York State and it was rather dark and cluttered. Ralph and Anna's inn is light and bright. After an extremely long day of driving we arrived to the aroma of freshly cooked cookies and lovely calming music and it only got better from there. The bed and pillows were so comfortable that I'm hoping my bed at home is as good. The bed linen and towels were luxurious. We stayed in Room 2 for two nights which is a lovely size, attached to a large if quirky bathroom and a balcony off both bedroom and bathroom. And the food ...... after weeks of complimentary chain hotel breakfasts we were in heaven! All produce is sourced from local farms and was made into homemade muffins, caramelised pear with nuts, the most amazing light and fluffy vegetable omelette, to name but some of the lovely breakfast treats. If you're in Bar Harbor you MUST stay here at Acacia Inn as Anna and Ralph's hospitality can be experienced first hand.

Also the inn is right in the middle of town so easy access to the waterfront and restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovetodrive57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

We loved saying at Acacia House. We were warmly greeted by one of the innkeepers. We had a long drive and I was eager to get our key but we engaged in friendly conversation which was actually nice and welcoming. Our room, #6 was great for us. There was a card placed in the room to be aware of other guests and there's a quiet time after a certain hour. We did have a problem hearing other guests way past this time but I guess you can't expect everyone to follow the rules. Breakfast was Great! There's a standard menu every morning that you can choose from in addition to a daily special. My fiancé had the special everyday and they looked amazing. I choose from the standard menu and those were equally amazing and kept us full. The location of this Inn is about 10 minutes from the entrance from Acadia which was important to us. There are tons of shops downtown for the in-season. I would recommend going to see a movie at Reel Pizza where you can eat and watch a movie (for cheap)! Our visit did include rain which was a bit of a bummer especially where there isn't a whole lot to do when it rains. But we did ask for suggestions and received a couple back. In the end, if we ever came back to the area, we would stay here again. Location to the Acadia Park, price and quality of the room and the breakfasts were amazing not to mention the friendliness of the hosts.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcrean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

If you're looking for a place to stay in Bar Harbor, I would highly recommend Acacia House. It's on a quiet street away from the crowds but is a short walking distance to anything and everything in town. We were able to leave our car in their small parking lot and walk everywhere (unless going to Acadia National Park). We stayed in Room 5 on the third floor and were very comfortable. The room was spacious with windows looking out over the street and the attached bathroom was fairly large. Ralph and Anna were both so very kind and welcoming. If you're a foodie, you'll love the breakfasts. Each breakfast has a fruit of some sorts served before your main meal (such as lemon and blueberries with lemon curd or blueberry compote with greek yogurt). There is also a baked item offered each morning, like scones or muffins. I had three different and amazing breakfasts while staying there. I had an great omelet, a fantastic frittata, and the chocolate pancakes with an orange-ginger butter were my favorite! You can choose from the standard menu or a daily special. Oh, and they have gluten-free options available. In the afternoon, cookies are set out with tea. We were usually out exploring all day, but there were still plenty of cookies left every evening when we got back. I would definitely stay at Acacia House again!

Room Tip: Room 5 was large, quiet and more private feeling since it was on the third floor. The bathroom is bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank parker31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights, and were so glad we found Acacia House. It is a very short walk to restaurants, shops and the Harbor area, but nicely tucked away in a quiet street.

Our room was on the top floor in the "attic" and was spotlessly clean with a big, comfy bed (beautiful linens). We slept really well here.

Ralph and Anna were relaxed, helpful and friendly hosts. We felt right at home and loved the breakfasts and "afternoon treats". In fact, we'd say that the blueberry pancakes were the best we've ever had! It is tricky to choose from the breakfast menu as everything sounds and tastes so good.

Highly recommended. One of our favourite stops during our 2 week tour of New England.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosieh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

We couldn't have been more please with our choice to stay at Acacia House. It is conveniently located and easy walking distance to the commercial area of Bar Harbor. What we really enjoyed the most was the food. Breakfast was FANTASTIC. There are standard offerings as well as specials each day such as raspberry and cream cheese stuffed French toast. Each breakfast was started with a warm baked item (blueberry muffins, currant lemon scones) followed by a baked fruit. Freshly baked cookies are served in the afternoon with hot tea. We stayed in the downstairs room right off the kitchen and sitting room. We did not find this to be an issue and would stay in this room again. The bed was extremely comfortable and the bathroom was large and well appointed.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank markjs712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,601 reviews
0.1 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#9 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#17 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
0.2 mi away
Primrose Inn
Primrose Inn
#7 of 31 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acacia House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acacia House Inn

Property: Acacia House Inn
Address: 6 High St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1817
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable and friendly century-old Victorian in a quiet, tree-lined neighborhood, just steps away from all that Bar Harbor has to offer. Rooms feature organic linens, private baths, hardwood floors, some with balconies. Full breakfast served every morning on our sun-lit porch, complimentary afternoon refreshments, handmade pastries and espresso. Off-street parking, cable, wifi, maps and books, knowledgeable innkeepers will help you get the most from your Acadia vacation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Acacia House Hotel Bar Harbor
Acacia House Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing