We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“awesome hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Atlantic Eyrie Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Atlantic Eyrie Lodge
Ranked #17 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“awesome hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2011

Best hotel "bar None". The rooms were huge and the views were outstanding. Free breakfast was good

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hayleysdad777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    150
    24
    6
    4
See reviews for
162
213
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sarver, PA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2010

Our stay at the Atlantic Eyrie Lodge was wonderful and one of the many highlights of our trip. We stayed in a 4th floor end room and the views were spectacular! It was also very quiet and peaceful. Everything was spotlessly clean and the sheets were actually the softest that we have experienced in any hotel. We normally request to not have housekeeping come in the room while we are gone during the day so what a nice surprise it was to come back everyday to a bag full of fresh towels hanging on our door. The front desk staff was also very helpful in answering any questions that we had. We plan to make Bar Harbor a yearly fall trip if possible and have found our favorite place to stay! Comfortable, cozy, charming, and romantic!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RebeccaO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2010

We have stayed at the Eyrie several years now. The rooms were renovated this year and are pleasant, clean and well cared for. The continental breakfast is better than average, with a nice variety, including fresh baked muffins. The views of Frenchman's Bay are just amazing from the balcony (when there is no fog!). Acadia is a wonderful park to explore. Try the free shuttles that go all over the island. We will go back!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AmyRoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edmond, ok
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2010

Room was spacious and very clean. Staff was very helpful and nice. Bed was very comfortable and air conditioner worked well. Can't beat the location or the view. We arrived early and they let us in our room before the contract time. Nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dcjamesgang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madisonville,ky
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2010

I can't say enough about this hotel. Just spent 2 weeks in New England and this is the only hotel I felt comfortable going barefoot in. Very clean and the view is fantastic.

Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2010

I read some very positive reviews, so I had expectations......First the good: large room, nice ocean view, pleasant staff, a bed that was comfortable and the location was near my conference and an adventure in Acadia National Park. Now the bad-dark, dreary depressing, very dated room decor, non functioning"free" wireless internet and a "complementary" breakfast that was nothing short of TERRIBLE!!!!!!For a $150 a night I expected nice-not the Taj Mahal, but nice...... ....Oh, one more thing.....Bar Harbor is a port of call for the ginormous cruise lines.....everyday a tsunami of old grandmas and grandpas overwhelm the town .....NEVER AGAIN!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gottagit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
243 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2010

We had reserved ahead for a room with a king bed and great view. We got those two requests as well as a much more spacious room than we had expected which was located on the top floor.

The room was very clean and the view of the bay was fantastic. I was hoping to see at least one cruise ship while in Bar Harbor but as it turned out I saw a few of them, didn't realise B.H. was so popular with cruise ships but hardly noticed the number of passengers as they pretty much boarded tour busses and left the downtown area. The availability of the free shuttle bus to the downtown (which picked us up at the door) was a real plus as we just left our car in the hotel parking lot and used the bus to get around to the areas we wanted to see. Front desk staff were friendly and helpful and at the time we were initally checking in he pointed out that there was a deer which had just come out of the wooded area on their property and was walking around on the lawn, haven't seen that at other hotels we've stayed at. If there were one "con" it would be the lack of hot items for breakfast but this gave us an opportunity to try breakfast at some of the local restaurants.

I have to say we were extremely satisfied with our stay and would recommend the Atlantic Eyrie to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank biker01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,587 reviews
0.2 mi away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#16 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
3.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Eyrie Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Eyrie Lodge

Property: Atlantic Eyrie Lodge
Address: 6 Norman Rd, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1114
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#11 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Atlantic Eyrie Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Atlantic Eyrie Lodge sits high atop a bluff overlooking the waters of Frenchman Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Atlantic Eyrie Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Eyrie Hotel Bar Harbor
Atlantic Eyrie Motel
Atlantic Eyrie Lodge Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing