We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice room close to town.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Atlantic Eyrie Lodge
Ranked #18 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
243 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Very nice room close to town.”
Reviewed 23 June 2011

This was a very nice hotel. Our room (the family style room) was spacious and comfortable with a nice view from the balcony. Everything was in great shape and very clean. We had a little fridge and microwave. The only downside was the selection at the complimentary breakfast. It was not great. We ended up getting pastries from the nearby grocery store instead.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gatorRPH1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    150
    24
    6
    4
See reviews for
162
213
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2011

We stayed in one of the suites on the 3rd floor. The balcony was huge and overlooked Frenchman's Bay. Staff was courteous and there was a nice breakfast each morning on the ground floor. Suites have an elevator to your room. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I would defintely recommend the suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank civilwarrior2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fullerton, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2011

This hotel has amazing views from the 2nd floor, and I can only imagine the higher floors are better (but smaller occupancy rooms). Most hotels and cabins in the area do not have this (or any) view. We would definitely stay again.

The rooms were very clean and acceptably modern; the breakfast was the same every day but had cereal, pastries (incl french toast), canned fruit and yogurt. The location is great; not in bar harbor, but close enough, away from the crowds, and again...that view! The pool was cold (65) in June, but its solar "heated" so it depends on the weather

BUT the internet was horrible. Bring your AOL dialup from the 90s, because that will seem like high speed internet. Could not check email, could not look for local attractions, could not check weather. MUST have a phone to check all this b/c the "high speed internet" absolutely does not work for anything.

Room Tip: higher floors have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jhaan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Spacious, quiet, very comfortable room on 4th floor, with nice view on bay. Good continental breakfast (but hours should be extended to 10AM). Would have preferred a spa rather than the pool. The hotel is not in town, so you need to drive 5 minutes to Bar Harbor. There were plenty of nice-looking motels around town with lower rates, so value is questionable, but if you don't mind the premium price it's an excellent choice. My only caveat concerns people needing to have internet access for work: in-room wifi reception is poor. I had to be on the balcony to get semi-decent speed. The staff added a router to my room, but speed was still slow.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank princepollux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2011

The Atlantic Eyrie Lodge in Bar Harbor was the most fantastic hotel I've ever been to. the exterior of the hotel is nice and the interior is nice as well. the rooms are equipped with blue carpet, an AC/heating unit, fridge, iron, closet, television, phone, clock/radio, a standard bathroom with a bath/shower unit, a sink and a toilet and has a breathtaking view of the Atlantic Ocean. it's 1 mile from downtown. the lobby is very nice and the staff are extremely friendly/helpful. it's equipped with a wall clock, a front desk, a computer, a postcard stand(stamps are sold at the front desk), stairs to the breakfast buffet, speaking of which, steve who's the breakfast bar manager is very friendly towards you. The breakfast bar has bagels, cereal, orange/apple juice and other tasty stuff. the address and phone are below
6 Norman Road
Bar Harbor, ME 04609

TEL: (207)288-9786
Trust me, the Atlantic Eyrie Lodge is a great hotel, so the next time your in Bar Harbor, make this hotel you #1 choice. you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank REVIEWS10161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
115 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2011

We stayed in a room on the 4th floor. What a view! Even though it was foggy while we were there, the fog would occasionally lift and and the ocean would be revealed. Our room looked out to the sand bar and that spurred us to go out there ourselves during low tide.

The room was very comfortable with 2 sinks and lots of comfortable seating. There were 2 doors to our room. At the front door is a communal balcony and at the back door is a private balcony overlooking Frenchman Bay.

Wifi connection was very spotty and it was only by moving our laptop around the room that we could connect.

I liked the coffee in the lobby, as they had real cream. The complimentary computer access in the lobby was good for when the connection was slow in the room.

This was a great room and you can't put a price on the stunning view. Good value.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank musicalclara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dracut, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

The family suite is just a room with 2 beds and a sofa. The heated pool is solar heated, so if there is no sun there is no heat for the fool. Breakfast is only until 9:30am and is less than to be desired. There is no common area for you to rest and enjoy the view except for your room. For the amount of money I paid per night I could of got a motel room and paid half the price.

Room Tip: Go to a motel and pay less money for the same room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sanpois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
534 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#16 of 41 in Bar Harbor
587 reviews
0.8 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#17 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,052 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Eyrie Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Eyrie Lodge

Property: Atlantic Eyrie Lodge
Address: 6 Norman Rd, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1114
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#11 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Atlantic Eyrie Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Atlantic Eyrie Lodge sits high atop a bluff overlooking the waters of Frenchman Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Atlantic Eyrie Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Eyrie Hotel Bar Harbor
Atlantic Eyrie Motel
Atlantic Eyrie Lodge Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing