We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing view, comfortable room and great staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Atlantic Eyrie Lodge
Ranked #17 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2013

We stayed at the Atlantic Eryie Lodge in June, 2012, and we couldn't have been happier with it! Our room was on a high floor, and the view was spectacular. The room itself was great--big, clean and comfortable and it had a nice patio for enjoying the view.

The location was fantastic. It is so close to Acadia and downtown Bar Harbor. But, it is a little off the main road, so it is also nice and quiet.

Finally, the staff was very helpful and friendly. Be sure to notice the gigantic reservation board in the office. It's incredible--I've never seen anything like it. The staff was really nice about taking time to explain it to me.

We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AElaine622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanticeyrie, internet advertising at Atlantic Eyrie Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2013

We are so happy you decided to stay with us. Your review was very thorough and I"m sure helpful for potential guests as well as for our staff. Perhaps you'll come stay with us again this June! We are putting in a lovely pool this spring and have made some terrific improvements. Thank you again for taking the time to post the review. Happy Spring! ~Joanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (508)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

278 - 284 of 508 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2012

When we first stepped into the room and pulled back the curtains I was sold on this property. There is a small balcony with a table and a couple of chairs to enjoy the scenery. The room was clean and the staff was very helpful. I also liked the shuttle bus that picked me up directly in front of the hotel. Breakfast was a typical hotel continental but a bit disappointing as I expected a little more from a property like this. Then again, I'm not a big breakfast person so it's probably just me. A great experiece.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanticeyrie, internet advertiser at Atlantic Eyrie Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2013

Hello,
Sorry for the tardy response. I've evidently missed a few of the reviews and am just getting caught up. Thank you so much for staying with us and for the review. We have to agree, the view is amazing. I hope you have been checking out our webcam when you get a chance. It is especially beautiful in the autumn with the color changes and it is always lovely during the warmer months with the beautiful view of the Atlantic!
I'm sorry breakfast was not what you expected. We are constantly trying to improve and have noted what you mentioned. All reviews, positive and negative are greatly appreciated and help us in our efforts to constantly improve. ~Joanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Our July vacation in Bar Harbor was a total success starting with the Atlantic Eyrie lodge. The owners greeted us personally, and were generous with their recommendations. The room was spacious and clean with a beautiful view of the water and the woods below.
Breakfast was plentiful and the area was tended well
Hiking in Acadia was inspiring, and the lobster was delicious!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank dragonboater53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanticeyrie, Internet advertising at Atlantic Eyrie Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2013

Hello,
Thank you for the review of your July stay. It sounds like you enjoyed your visit to our area. We especially like it when our guests take note of our staff's attentiveness both in the cleanliness of our rooms as well as our treatment of our guests.
There are so many beautiful hiking trails all around the island, it's great that you got to experience some of them.
Hope to see you again at The Eyrie, have a great spring. ~Joanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

This was a really great place to see and enjoy Bar Harbor ME...The location is such that you are looking down on the Harbor. The days we were there you also see the cruise ships docked out and being tendered in. The breakfast was great and the staff was friendly. The location was easy to get to and about five minutes from the Harbor. The Acadia National Park is also a few minutes away. Great Place!!!!!!

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms there....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Carl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanticeyrie, Internet advertiser at Atlantic Eyrie Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2013

Wow, that was a great review - 5 stars for each category. That highly compliments every department which is great! It sounds like you enjoyed sitting out on your deck watching the cruise ships. It's amazing to me how many dock during the season. For such a small harbor, it's an active one.
Thank you again for the very kind review, it is much appreciated and quite honestly gratifying for us to read.
~Joanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Excellent location.
Only about a minute off the main highway and easy to find.
Once you get back on the main highway Bar Harbor itself is less than five minutes away.
In the other direction, north, the entrance to Acadia National Park is also only a few minutes.
Note that public transportation buses stop at the lodge and take you to the Village Green, from which location buses run to most of the attractions.

Parking is right next to the building.

When you arrive you are given a short orientation on the area.

The building layout is of a common older style : the rooms open into an open type hallway, sort of a balcony running along the side of the building. All the doors are
on this side, which is away from the bay.

The elevator is just a couple of steps from the entrance.

We had a room on the third floor. The first thing to be mentioned about the room is the view. Looking from the large sliding glass doors about 45° to the left you have a beautiful view of the bay.
All rooms, save for about a couple per floor, have this view.

The room is spacious. Large TV that works well. Comfortable beds. WiFi signal is strong and was available all the time (stay of three nights).
Two sinks, one of which is not in the bathroom, but out in the room itself. Microwave and refrigerator.
The only odd item : the hair dryer is by the sink which is in the room, not in the bathroom. It is attached to the wall, so you cannot move it.

Breakfast is on the lowest level. The breakfast area is large enough so you do not have to search for an open table. It is also cheerful, with many windows looking out
to the side where the lake is.
Breakfast is standard continental offering with plenty of choices from hard boiled eggs thru a nice fruit salad to english muffins, and many in between.

This lodging establishment is a very good choice, with positives that add up and no real negatives.

Room Tip: There are some corner rooms that provide even better view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SquareG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanticeyrie, Internet advertiser at Atlantic Eyrie Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2013

Hello,
Reviews that go into detail are great for us as well as others looking for accommodations in our area. We are delighted that your stay was enjoyable. As far as installing the hair dryer above the outside sink we did that more to free up the bathroom itself for other members of the family. You also mentioned our location which is convenient to both the park and the town and with the public transportation stopping at our establishment throughout the day it really does make it even more convenient. We hope to see you again. Thank you for writing the detailed review, we appreciate it! ~Joanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

We have visited Bar Harbor a number of times and until this year we have always stayed at another property up the road from this one. The reviews on that one have dropped since the long-time owners sold it over the winter, so we decided to try something different. I requested a corner room on the 3rd floor, which is exactly what we got, and we were very impressed. When you enter the room, the whole bay is spread out in front of you. There is a large sliding door opening onto a balcony. In the corner rooms, there is also a side window which extends the view. Just breathtaking. The room itself was very pleasant, with a microwave and fridge, 2 beds, sofa and a 32" flat panel TV. A nice feature is the 2 sinks, one in the main room and one in the bathroom, which can simplify things if you are trying to get out early in the morning. Everything was very clean the entire time we were there. I'm very sensitive to sound from surrounding rooms. There were relatively few guests during our stay, but there were occupants in the rooms above and to the side and I heard nothing from them during our stay. Nearly all of the rooms face the bay and the facade is staggered so there are a number of "corner" rooms. I only saw 3 rooms that face the hills in the back and these are noted in the descriptions on the web site. Higher rooms are a little better for the views, but the whole place is high on a hill, so even on the first or second floors, most rooms should have the view. We only had the continental breakfast one morning, but it was perfectly acceptable and the fruit salad, in particular, was excellent. My only complaint is that the beds, while comfortable, were a little too soft for our taste. The sheets were extremely nice. We will definitely be returning in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room on the 3rd or 4th floor and i don't think you can go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jqpjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanticeyrie, Internet advertiser at Atlantic Eyrie Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2013

Hello, sorry for the late response to your very nice and detailed review. Somehow I missed several reviews and am just now getting to them. The great thing is, they were all positive and made my day! We are happy you gave us a try after having stayed somewhere else for your trips to Bar Harbor. Hopefully, when you come back you will notice some of our changes. The biggest one is the addition of a new pool and some landscaping changes that enhance the property. We are very excited for our repeat guest's reactions. Have a good spring and hope to see you again. ~Joanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

You'll find exclusive and expensive resorts in town on the water, quaint B & B choices in town, the cheap old style motel/cabins surrounding town...and then there's the Atlantic Eyrie. It is located a few minutes ride out of town, high up on a hill. It is an older styled building with common exterior open hallways in the back which access decent rooms, and it's prime feature is of course the views.

When staying near the water, I always prefer a room with a view. The choices in town that had water views were very expensive, so we chose the Atlantic. To maximize the view, we picked a more expensive room from their offerings which was a corner room, thus providing another set of windows on the exterior wall and a more private balcony as it had one less neighbor. The room itself was quite spacious, and had a table in front of the side wall windows which also, as did the balcony, overlook the bay.

They have a pool, which we did not use. They included a breakfast buffet, which we took full advantage of, and brought the food back to the room to eat while enjoying our view. Please note my photos; the view is not totally unobstructed, as there is a building visable between this one and the bay. Also, we asked for a high floor, as there was also some trees one must look over to get the best view.

We felt this was the best choice given what was available in our desired price range. Having gone in the summer, all rooms were of course offered at the high premium rates. This would be a steal off season, if you were going then.

Room Tip: Ask for the highest floor possible. And end room also has extra windows on the side wall, it costs m...
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
4  Thank 1dancing_fool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne S, Public Relations Manager at Atlantic Eyrie Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2012

Beautiful photos! If you get Atlantic Eyrie homesick, we do have our webcam pointing in the same general direction but it does show the lawn as well where our resident deer cavort almost every day. There are, as you discovered, a myriad of hotel room offerings in Bar Harbor and the surrounding communities. We are happy you found us and even better, happy that you found us to be reasonably priced as well. Glad you enjoyed the breakfast on the balcony. Have a great winter and thank you for taking time to review our hotel. ~Joanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.2 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#26 of 41 in Bar Harbor
443 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#4 of 41 in Bar Harbor
713 reviews
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
312 reviews
0.9 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#8 of 41 in Bar Harbor
380 reviews
0.8 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#19 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Eyrie Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Eyrie Lodge

Address: 6 Norman Rd, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1114
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#11 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range: £121 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Atlantic Eyrie Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Atlantic Eyrie Lodge sits high atop a bluff overlooking the waters of Frenchman Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Atlantic Eyrie Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Eyrie Hotel Bar Harbor
Atlantic Eyrie Motel
Atlantic Eyrie Lodge Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing