We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good view and reasonable rate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Atlantic Eyrie Lodge
Ranked #18 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Mendon, New York
Level Contributor
123 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good view and reasonable rate”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

Has a good view of Frenchman Bay. Quiet location. Room had a balcony to enjoy the view. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was clean, bed comfortable, and thick towels. Had a microwave and small refrigerator, flat screen TV, as well as a small table with 2 chairs and a stuffed chair and 2 separate sinks. In addition, the room had ample outlets for using and charging your electronic devices. Didn't care for the soap and shampoo. Breakfast was available by 7 AM. Breakfast included hard cooked eggs so that you are getting real eggs in addition to fruit, breads, muffins, french toast, cereal, yogurt, juices, coffee, tea.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanticeyrie, internet advertising at Atlantic Eyrie Lodge, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Hello,
It's always nice to get reviews from a "seasoned" trip advisor reviewer. Your post was thorough and descriptive which helps potential guests. Hope you are having a wonderful autumn in New York. Things are slowing down quite a bit here on the island. Take care and thanks again, Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    150
    24
    6
    4
See reviews for
162
213
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

Good: GREAT views from the room, that's the main reason we choose to stay here for our 5 days vacation. The bed sheets were soft and comfortable. The hosts and other staff were very friendly and helpful. The pool looked very clean and inviting, but too bad we didn't get a chance to use it. Deer visited the yard in one of the evenings, the staff was walking around doing chores, and the deer didn't mind it at all, they must be coming here regularly.

Average: The rest ( room layout, decor, amenities) are pretty basic, same plain breakfast every morning, we had to drive into town for real breakfast after been eaten there twice.

Could be better: You can hear noise from other rooms. Also some unknown loud noise (pipe maybe?) came from the walls. The soap and shampoo it provided are cheap quality, better to bring your own.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay here, even though the location is not very convenient if you prefer to hang out in the town after 8pm (the last free shuttle leaves the town center on 8:15pm), but it provides the tranquilness, great views and reasonable price.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeelingH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanticeyrie, internet advertising at Atlantic Eyrie Lodge, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Hello,
We always appreciate reviews from our guests and yours was a very thorough one, thank you. Thank you for noting that we have quality bed linens as well as having a lovely view. I'm sorry the shampoo and soap quality weren't up to par, I will pass that message on to the manager to make note of the next time we are ordering. Glad the overall stay was satisfactory. Hope to see you again. Take care and thanks again, Joanne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

The view, the view, the view!!!
Stayed in a room with 2 queen beds on the third floor. The room was neat, clean, with comfortable beds, nice thick towels, microwave and small refrigerator.
All the staff we met were very friendly and helpful. The front desk staff gave us lots of travel tips, including how to get a membership card for the Cadillac Mountain sunrise club. They gave us a suggestion for a wonderful local restaurant for dinner.
We used the bus service which takes you from the hotel into Bar Harbor which was very convenient.
The pool was a plus, the breakfast buffet had a nice variety and was well-stocked. The location of this hotel was a plus, convenient access to Bar Harbor, Kebo golf course, Acadia Park, Southwest Harbor, Atlantic Brewing Company, etc.
For sure, will be back here next summer.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eatsoutagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanticeyrie, internet advertising at Atlantic Eyrie Lodge, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thank you for taking time out of your day to post a review on The Eyrie. So glad we were up to your expectations and delighted that the view was so enjoyable. We can't take credit for it, however, we are happy to credit our wonderful staff with making suggestions for dinner, etc as well as the maintenance and cleaning crew for their part as well. We are fortunate to have such a fabulous crew. Have a wonderful winter and rest of the fall! ~Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for labor day weekend and it was perfect. The room was j7st as we expected, two queen beds, small fridge, microwave, two sinks, and full bathroom. Also had a balcony overlooking the harbor and the pool. The first morning we woke up to a deer in the small field below which was pretty neat. It's a quiet hotel with everything we needed. Everything was clean and the breakfast was very good. Fruit, french toast ,coffee ,and pastries, along with cereal ,milk ,and juices. I would definitely stay here again. Also the shuttle comes right up to the hotel so no need to struggle to find parking.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shauna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanticeyrie, internet advertising at Atlantic Eyrie Lodge, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Hello,
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review. I have to say that getting a chance to see the deer here is so wonderful. Did you know the whole of the the island is a game preserve? Hope you have a fabulous fall. Take care and thanks again. ~Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

We had stayed in this hotel in 2008 and had a wonderful time then, so had no hesitation in staying here again. Upon arrival we found out that the hotel underwent several upgrades since we were last there.

The reason why we liked staying here last time is you do not need a car to get around. It is a stop on the island shuttle that goes down town, where you can hope on another shuttle and go just about anywhere in Acadia. Then to catch the Sunrise or Sunset on Cadillac Mountain, just ask the front desk how to get up to the mountain the back way. You avoid so much traffic.

Our room didn't disappoint, had a great view of Frenchman's Bay and Bar Island with all the going on in the bay. The bed appeared to be new and was very comfortable, the refrigerator worked great as did the microwave. The bathroom also appeared to be updated, and had no problem with the WiFi connection.

One thing about being out of downtown, is that you had a great night sky right from your balcony. Our visit coincided with the Perseid meteor shower, and we were not disappointed as we seen lots of meteors.

We saved money with their continental breakfast, but we call it an extended continental breakfast. As it has lots more then the continental breakfast we have been to. You have your standard Muffins, and cereal. But it also had fresh fruit, yogurt, French toast, boiled eggs, and your standard coffee, hot chocolate, and juices. I do know that the breakfast was included in the price of your stay, but I was disappointed with the hotel guest who ignored the tip cup for the gentleman who was doing it all, making sure everything was stocked, cleaned the tables, and was friendly as could be and was eager to please. So next time people think about just dropping a dollar or two, remember it is better to give then receive.

We also enjoyed the new pool, it was cool and refreshing after a long day hiking. I liked that there were plenty of chairs around the pool for everyone and that they had towels for the pool as you went out the door, and a place to leave them.

We will be back again in the future as we have only climbed 1/2 of what Acadia has to offer.

Room Tip: Ask for a 3rd or 4th floor for the best views, and the King size beds are huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaPa_Photos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanticeyrie, Internet Advertising at Atlantic Eyrie Lodge, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thank you for taking time out of your day to post a fabulous review. I was just responding to another guest that had been with us two years in a row and it is nice to see that we impressed you enough when you were here several years ago to stay with us again. You touched on so many of our improvements, we really appreciate that. It was very thoughtful of you to mention tipping at breakfast as it is not necessary but very much appreciated. What great photos you took. Hope you have a great off season and come back again to see the improvements that are in store for the future! Sincerely, Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westminster, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here for the second year in a row over Labor Day weekend. We would definitely recommend this place if you'er in the market to explore Acadia and or Bar Harbor. The hotel is conveniently located near both and there's a free shuttle that runs to the down own every 15 minutes. The owners are very friendly and rooms were immaculate.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanticeyrie, Internet advertising at Atlantic Eyrie Lodge, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Two years in a row you have chosen to stay with us! Thank you so much. Repeat guests are the best review we can get! I hope you enjoyed your Labor Day break and didn't have too much traffic getting back to Massachusetts. Have a great autumn and winter and I hope you come back for a third year! Take care, Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

Yep, the views are great, rooms are clean, and the beds are very comfortable (really soft cotton sheets). Being 2 minutes out of town and the evening fray, it is quiet.

The rest? Meh. Average scratchy towels. Average shampoo/soap. A motel-like feel with the doors of the rooms opening onto an outdoor hallway that looks out over the parking lot. Glad we were on the 3rd floor and not on the 1st or the sound of the shuttle bus that pulls up right next to the hotel to take guests into town every 15 minutes would have been very annoying early in the morning or late at night. And the pool? Heated, salt water? If you're a penguin, it might feel heated. For a human being expecting a heated pool? Nope.

The breakfast buffet is mediocre at best. Weak coffee, a plastic vat of pink yogurt that guest dip into (kind of unsanitary, no?), a plastic vat full of hard boiled eggs, mini-muffins...you get the picture. Then again, it comes with the price of the room and breakfast in town at supposed breakfast hot-spots like Jordan's isn't much better and expensive, so choose the lessor of both evils, I suppose.

Again, the views ARE great - and if that is what matters to you, you'll love it. But this hotel isn't glam by any stretch of the imagination. Friends of ours were staying down the road at the less expensive (!!) Bar Harbor Regency (a Holiday Inn), and it felt like a palace in comparison. Flowers everywhere, a glamorous (heated) pool setting with hot tub and a full-service bar, etc. AND it had great views, too. Had we known...we'd have stayed at the Regency in a heartbeat. Next time.

NOTE: At the time this review was written (August, 2013) Construction is going on at the property right next door Monday - Friday. Pile-driving machine starts at 7 AM sharp.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shira-NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanticeyrie, internet advertising at Atlantic Eyrie Lodge, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Hello,
First off, let me say that I am very sorry you were disappointed in our hotel. We have been making improvements and renovating quite steadily on the interior of the hotel, our grounds, etc. We are an older family owned hotel, not a newer built chain hotel like the Holiday Inn. We are constantly upgrading in the off season and feel we have worked hard to improve and are proud of what we've done. I am sorry we aren't up to your standards. I'm glad you enjoyed the view and room at least which was nice of your to mention. Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#15 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
0.8 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#17 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Eyrie Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Eyrie Lodge

Property: Atlantic Eyrie Lodge
Address: 6 Norman Rd, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1114
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#11 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Atlantic Eyrie Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Atlantic Eyrie Lodge sits high atop a bluff overlooking the waters of Frenchman Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Atlantic Eyrie Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Eyrie Hotel Bar Harbor
Atlantic Eyrie Motel
Atlantic Eyrie Lodge Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing