We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The views are amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Atlantic Eyrie Lodge
Ranked #16 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This hotel is fabulous!! The rooms are so large and comfortable. We were on the 4th floor and our view was amazing!! This is THE BEST place to stay! Don't pass it up. I hope that I can return some day.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanticeyrie, internet advertising at Atlantic Eyrie Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Hello,
Thank you for the enthusiastic review! Now that it is the offseason we get a chance to enjoy that view a bit more, although there is a bit of snow cover! However, even in the winter it is beautiful and there are a lot of winter sports. We sincerely appreciate the review and especially the comment about our large rooms which we think is an added bonus to our hotel. Take care, ~Joanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (514)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 514 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

For my first time in Bar Harbor, Atlantic Eyrie Lodge was a major part of my great experience. Checking in was a breeze, this included a brief explanation of the town and amenities. After a fellow guest told me they had been coming for 21 years and was sad to leave, I knew I'd be back.

Stayed: October 2013
Thank DanB574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanticeyrie, internet advertising at Atlantic Eyrie Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Hello,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are glad you enjoyed your first visit to the area and hope you had time to explore Bar Harbor as well as Acadia. Nice to hear that you chatted with an long time guest who hated to leave! Hope you have a great winter and have a chance to come back again. Sincerely, Joanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Stayed for four nights in one of the three rooms that did not have a view of the ocean (and which was in fact above the car port!). The room was spotless though a little dated. The hotel itself is beautifully sited with lovely grounds, a very nice pool and balconies (for everyone else's rooms) looking onto the Atlantic. In Bar Harbor country this hotel is a deal. Only area for improvement is the breakfast which is a anodyne and worthy of a low end chain hotel.

Room Tip: The three cheap rooms are over the car port. Every other room appears to have a great view (but you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChicagoFamilyGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanticeyrie, internet advertising at Atlantic Eyrie Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Hello,
Thank you for your review. Hopefully you will return for a visit and stay in an ocean view room and get the full experience of the hotel. You are correct, we are one of the best deals for a hotel in Bar Harbor, especially for one with a spectacular ocean view. We are doing more renovations this late fall and winter to improve our exterior hallways, parking, etc. I am sorry you didn't enjoy breakfast. I will mention that to our manager for next season. Happy holidays and I hope you return to the island for another visit. ~Joanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We just returned from a 3 night stay in Bar Harbor. The Eyrie Lodge was everything we could ask for. Our suite was perfect for a couple where one is an early riser and the other likes to sleep in. The views from the balcony are wonderful and we could have spent hours just watching the harbor. The housekeeping staff and grounds crew do a wonderful job. The front desk crew was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was fresh and the dining room light and airy. Heated salt water pool was still open and refreshing for a morning swim. Hope to return in the future for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjntr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanticeyrie, internet advertising at Atlantic Eyrie Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Hello,
We hope you do return for a longer stay. Thank you for mentioning our salt water pool. We are very proud of our new pool and the fact that we use a salt water chlorinator to virtually eliminate the use of harsh chlorine products. We sincerely appreciate your review and also the fact that you included a mention of our fabulous housekeeping and grounds crew! Thank you for that. Hope you have a great winter. ~Joanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

This place proved to be an excellent place to stay in Bar Harbor. It has been recently renovated and had lovely rooms with a balcony and an outstanding view of the bay. The location high on the side of the hill makes the views even better. The continental breakfast was very nice and the available washer/dryers came in very handy at the midpoint of our trip.

Room Tip: The higher floors may be better but almost all have nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanticeyrie, internet advertising at Atlantic Eyrie Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Hello all the way to Texas! Hope you weren't in the area with all the freezing weather and stormy conditions. That was a lovely, positive review that you took the time to post, we love "hearing" the word, "excellent" when a guest writes about us! Hope you have an easier rest of the winter weatherwise. Thanks again, Joanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Off of almost all of the rooms is a fabulous view of Bar Harbor. If you are on the 4th floor, you can see the sand bar open up that links Desert Island and Bar Island at low tide. The rooms are spacious, the included breakfast quite adequate, the staff wonderful. The hotel is served by the island shuttle. I would highly recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 4th floor have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathsalzman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanticeyrie, internet advertising at Atlantic Eyrie Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Hello,
Thank you for the complimentary review, especially the staff accolades. I will pass this on to our manager as well. As you probably know it is a long season that winds down in October and our staff seems to always be lovely with our guests and each other. Hope you return to our island in the future. We have been doing more improvements to our exterior hallways, parking and entrance since we closed in October. Thanks again, Joanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed two nights at Atlantic Eyrie on the 3rd floor. We had not planned on spending as much as we did for our Bar Harbor visit, but the views (and looks at some lesser properties) sold my wife and our traveling companions. Our room was a little dated but still very nice, with a balcony. As one reviewer mentioned, the free shuttle bus (doesn't belong to the hotel, but stops there) is a nice perk for those not wanting to go searching for parking in the main part of Bar Harbor. The hotel is convenient to Acadia National Park, but it is a little inconvenient to find. You have to know where you're looking. We ended up driving up the fire lane to get to the hotel because we didn't know which road led to it. But, on the positive side, you didn't have to listen to traffic all night. The room was clean and had the usual amenities. The free breakfast was continental but had enough cereal, yogurt and other stuff to fill me up. The breakfast room staff were very nice. Wi-Fi in the room worked fine. At dusk, the deer like to come out in the open area below the pool. One odd thing about the coin operated washer and drier (one of each) is that they are outside under an overhang on the basement level. If it's cold outside, you're going to be cold doing laundry. Our base price was $144.90/night.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shaka_Frank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanticeyrie, internet advertising at Atlantic Eyrie Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Hello, Thank you for leaving a positive review, it is greatly appreciated. Mentioning our quieter location and even including a "plug" for the deer that wander around was great. We struggled with locations for the washer and dryer as in the summer it becomes uncomfortable in a laundry room. I will definitely mention your concerns with being cold while doing laundry. Perhaps we can put a little partition or come up with something different. Thank you for mentioning this. Hope you have a great winter. Sincerely, Joanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.9 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
389 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#10 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,774 reviews
1 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#5 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,387 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Eyrie Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Eyrie Lodge

Address: 6 Norman Rd, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1114
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#9 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range: £100 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Atlantic Eyrie Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Atlantic Eyrie Lodge sits high atop a bluff overlooking the waters of Frenchman Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Booking.com so you can book your Atlantic Eyrie Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Eyrie Hotel Bar Harbor
Atlantic Eyrie Motel
Atlantic Eyrie Lodge Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing