We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not our first choice but best choice!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Atlantic Eyrie Lodge
Ranked #17 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
96 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Not our first choice but best choice!”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We had difficulty getting last-minute reservations for mid-October in Bar Harbor. Luckily there was a cancellation at the lodge so we reserved the available suite. From our first view of Frenchman's Bay from the lobby, we knew this was a great choice. The staff couldn't have been more welcoming or helpful with places to see and restaurant suggestions. The living room was large with a view of the bay. The kitchen, bedroom and bathroom was very nice with fluffy towels and comfortable beds. There were two patios to watch the colorful sunrises in the morning and deer wandering below in the evening. Breakfast had a nice selection of cereal, muffins and pastries, yogurt, fresh fruit and hard boiled eggs. The bus service to town every half hour was an added bonus. I tried to come up with anything that would improve this hotel but couldn't think of even one.

Room Tip: Suite would be great for four people since it had a king-size bed and sofa bed. Kitchen is fully- eq...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ejf67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanticeyrie, internet advertising at Atlantic Eyrie Lodge, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Hello,
That was a very detailed and terrific review from an experience Trip Advisor reviewer, thank you. I'm so glad you enjoyed your suite. Its nice to have the extra room when traveling. Our regular guest rooms are quite large as well which is nice. The deer visiting is such a neat experience, it just might be that apple tree which seems to be a favorite place especially come fall. We are very glad that a difficult time finding a room turned into a great experience at The Eyrie. Thank you for the review and I hope you have a lovely winter. ~Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    151
    24
    6
    4
See reviews for
163
215
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Great hotel in the Bar Harbor area with a great view, very comfortable beds, and free breakfast. Pet-friendly, with a single pet fee for the entire stay (not per day; September 2013). Conveniently located near an entrance to Acadia National Park. The front desk staff was very attentive. Will stay again.

Room Tip: Get a first floor room if traveling with a pet. Get a room elsewhere for the best view of Frenchman...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stargatecruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanticeyrie, internet advertising at Atlantic Eyrie Lodge, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you for mentioning our low pet fees. We just felt one fee is enough as we, too are pet owners and when we travel it is annoying to have to pay every single night for our dogs to stay with us. I hope you got to walk around the property and enjoy the grounds. We have been busy this off season changing things around quite a bit and doing some renovations to the outside hallways and parking lot. We try every year to do some renovations and hope you return again to the island and the Atlantic Eyrie. ~Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean View, New Jersey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This was also our first trip to Bar Harbor and we could not have picked a better location for our 50th wedding anniversary. Although the bus comes to the front door, the town is very easy to navigate by car. The management was very professional and friendly, accommodations were excellent and the breakfast was perfect. We are looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Book rooms overlooking harbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanticeyrie, internet advertising at Atlantic Eyrie Lodge, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Hello,
Belated congratulations on your golden wedding anniversary. Such a wonderful milestone and we are delighted you spent your time with us and had an "excellent" room and visit. It sounds like you went out and about and enjoyed the island. Good for you both. Hope to see you for your 51st wedding celebration! Sincerely, Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Bend, IN
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

This was our first trip to Bar Harbor and we could not have had a better location. The rooms are large and comfortable, although a little outdated, but the view is spectacular. The free bus comes right to the door so you don't have to drive anywhere unless you want. The brerakfast was adequate, but it was served in a new, modern area. Would we stay here again? Yes!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat350Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanticeyrie, internet advertising at Atlantic Eyrie Lodge, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
I think anytime a guest says that will return that is exactly what we are striving for. Thank you for the lovely review. The shuttle is a very nice perk for businesses in our area and does help with the overcrowded downtown parking. One of the long time drivers is my brother in law and he says he meets some of the nicest vacationing families. Hope to see you again and also hope your winter is mild.
~Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This hotel is fabulous!! The rooms are so large and comfortable. We were on the 4th floor and our view was amazing!! This is THE BEST place to stay! Don't pass it up. I hope that I can return some day.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanticeyrie, internet advertising at Atlantic Eyrie Lodge, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Hello,
Thank you for the enthusiastic review! Now that it is the offseason we get a chance to enjoy that view a bit more, although there is a bit of snow cover! However, even in the winter it is beautiful and there are a lot of winter sports. We sincerely appreciate the review and especially the comment about our large rooms which we think is an added bonus to our hotel. Take care, ~Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

For my first time in Bar Harbor, Atlantic Eyrie Lodge was a major part of my great experience. Checking in was a breeze, this included a brief explanation of the town and amenities. After a fellow guest told me they had been coming for 21 years and was sad to leave, I knew I'd be back.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank DanB574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanticeyrie, internet advertising at Atlantic Eyrie Lodge, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Hello,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are glad you enjoyed your first visit to the area and hope you had time to explore Bar Harbor as well as Acadia. Nice to hear that you chatted with an long time guest who hated to leave! Hope you have a great winter and have a chance to come back again. Sincerely, Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
139 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Stayed for four nights in one of the three rooms that did not have a view of the ocean (and which was in fact above the car port!). The room was spotless though a little dated. The hotel itself is beautifully sited with lovely grounds, a very nice pool and balconies (for everyone else's rooms) looking onto the Atlantic. In Bar Harbor country this hotel is a deal. Only area for improvement is the breakfast which is a anodyne and worthy of a low end chain hotel.

Room Tip: The three cheap rooms are over the car port. Every other room appears to have a great view (but you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoFamilyGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanticeyrie, internet advertising at Atlantic Eyrie Lodge, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Hello,
Thank you for your review. Hopefully you will return for a visit and stay in an ocean view room and get the full experience of the hotel. You are correct, we are one of the best deals for a hotel in Bar Harbor, especially for one with a spectacular ocean view. We are doing more renovations this late fall and winter to improve our exterior hallways, parking, etc. I am sorry you didn't enjoy breakfast. I will mention that to our manager for next season. Happy holidays and I hope you return to the island for another visit. ~Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#16 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,622 reviews
0.8 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Eyrie Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Eyrie Lodge

Property: Atlantic Eyrie Lodge
Address: 6 Norman Rd, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1114
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#11 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Atlantic Eyrie Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Atlantic Eyrie Lodge sits high atop a bluff overlooking the waters of Frenchman Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HRS, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Atlantic Eyrie Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Eyrie Hotel Bar Harbor
Atlantic Eyrie Motel
Atlantic Eyrie Lodge Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing