We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and renowated - great view, of course :)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Atlantic Eyrie Lodge
Ranked #17 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Clean and renowated - great view, of course :)”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

NOTHING TO ADD TO GREAT REVIEWS.
I was anxious when our car turned into small street before entering Bar Harbor, but it led uphill, and hotel is on the top of it. View is great from the balcony. Room was recently renovated. 307 was the number, and it looked like the tub was recently replaced. Clean, clean.... I stayed Memorial weekend, and did not try a pool. BIG MISTAKE!!! Touched a water om the departure day, it was WARM (not only for pinguins). Breakfast: fresh muffins, hard boiled eggs, toasts. Five deers were making an appearance now and then. THANK YOU, ATLANTIC EYRIE...

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tavribruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanticeyrie, internet advertising at Atlantic Eyrie Lodge, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Your review made me smile! We do try to keep the pool warm but not too warm as most guests prefer it a little on the cool side as they are usually doing laps, etc. and if the air is warm it is refreshing. Last time I checked there weren't any penguins, like you said, several deer (and the occasional fox with kits) Happy you continued on up the road to our little hilltop overlooking the area and had a nice stay with us on Memorial Day weekend. I hope you get a chance to come back again. Thank you for the review~Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    301
    157
    25
    6
    4
See reviews for
172
221
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
North Huntingdon, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My family of four stayed in a third floor room. Spacious, clean room with comfortable beds. Good breakfast and nice pool. Amazing views. Close to downtown and to the park. There are so many choices in Bar Harbor. I'm glad we chose this one.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ILoveFerns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanticeyrie, internet advertising at Atlantic Eyrie Lodge, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Hello,
Yes, you are correct, Bar Harbor has a lot of choices for hotel rooms, from outrageously expensive to inexpensive. We are happy our amenities (view, salt water pool, breakfast,rooms, beds, etc.) were pleasing to you and your family. I hope you got to explore the island and walk around Bar Harbor while you were vacationing. It is such a fabulous spot, we are lucky to live here. Thank you so much for the great review! Have a nice rest of the summer. ~Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We have been going to Bar Harbor for many, many years this is the cleanest, most roomy, comfortable , pet friendly motel we have found.They offer a small complementary breakfast as well.The price and location are excellent. Even though we ran into a problem this year with the hurricane , and they didn't do anything to assist us we will stay there again. Our pets were truly comfortable too.

Room Tip: The first floor is the best choice, if there ever is a power outage you will have easy access to you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilene g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanticeyrie, internet advertising at Atlantic Eyrie Lodge, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Hello,
We are happy you had a great visit with your pet. Nice to hear positive things about our hotel rooms. Most of us are dog and cat owners here at the hotel so we know the difficulty in finding a clean, nicely appointed hotel room. We are sorry the power went out across Bar Harbor, it was very inconvenient and annoying. This is not a common occurrence and our staff did the best they could under the circumstances. We were disappointed that the power turn on kept being changes and that made it difficult for us to be accurate with that information as it was updated incorrectly by the power company. Glad to hear that doesn't stop you from staying again. Thanks very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

My wife and I came to Bar Harbor for her birthday weekend and stayed at the Atlantic Eyrie Lodge. The views here are absolutely amazing, words can't begin to explain. The staff is very friendly and knowledgable. The rooms here are spacious and very comfortable. We were minutes away from all the restaurants, shops, and hiking trails. I highly recommend staying here to any one visiting Bar Harbor.

Room Tip: I recommend getting a room on the top floor. The view is absolutely amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chippewawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanticeyrie, internet advertising at Atlantic Eyrie Lodge, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post that positive review about our customer service as well as our hotel! We really appreciate it. Hope you get a chance to visit us again. My favorite time is the autumn with the leaves turning spectacular colors. With all the deciduous trees on the island it truly is magical. Take care and thanks again, Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hooksett, New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Sadly, our return to the Atlantic Eyrie was not a favorable one. Due to a power outage, we experienced no electricity, no hot water, no services and above all no information from the staff who were as clueless as we were. A generator was placed right outside our hotel room on the ground floor to provide lights to the main office. We repeatedly requested that the generator be moved so the fumes would not invade the room. Our requests were ignored. Their solution was to offer to move us to the room next door to the one we were in. ( 2 steps away) As a result 3 of my children and my husband experienced nausea and headaches and we were forced to leave. The personel at the desk did not deem it necessary to contact the manager who left the property. Someone should inform the management of the property that generators need to be placed at least 10 feet from a building to satisfy code regulations. While our money was refunded for the day we left, we will NEVER return to the Atlantic Eyrie. Beautiful views, but sadly lacking in customer service and satisfaction.

Room Tip: Certainly, do not choose a ground level room. Anything goes wrong and you will be impacted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brooklyn53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanticeyrie, Internet advertising at Atlantic Eyrie Lodge, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
We are very sorry we were unable make your return visit a happy one, due to the power outage, which was around 14-15 frustrating, inconvenient hours for over 20,000 customers in the area. Your visit with your pet limits your stay to the lower level, as you are aware, as that is our pet friendly area. It is easier when you need to walk the dogs on the property to walk out your door easily. The only other room available was another pet friendly room. Since you were traveling with a dog, it does limit the rooms available to you. Unfortunately, the placement of the generator, which was closer to the manager’s office door and window, was the best we could do under the circumstances to have it reach the office. It was a well-ventilated area and I am so sorry for your difficulty; that certainly was not what we like to hear. After your comments, we did measure the distance on the generator, which was just over ten feet. The generator actually came from the manager’s home and he brought it in to provide hot water for beverages for our guests. We are glad you were able to enjoy a few cups of hot tea during the outage. Our manager (who was there from 11 pm on the 4th until 4 pm when he went home the following day to get some sleep) was unfortunately unable to be reached due to power outages to land lines as well as cell service. When he left he did make sure that he had done what he could. Obviously, things can happen. As far as we know, there was only one other hotel with a generator in the area and we did speak with them about what they were doing for their guests as we are friendly with their staff. Our hotel guests were happy we were able to provide some hot beverages in the midst of the power loss. We don’t have power issues as a rule in the summer so you are right, hotels (and businesses) in the area were caught totally off guard and unprepared. The other problem is the electric company kept giving later and later times for the power to be restored so we, too, were unable to give definitive times as they kept being changed which was difficult on everyone. This was hard on our staff as they were unable to tell the guests an exact time as the electric company kept adjusting it. I don’t think our staff was “clueless” just dealing with changing times of power turn on via the Bangor Hydro/Emera and trying their very best to keep our guests informed. Again, we are sorry for the time during the power outage that you were inconvenienced (thank you for noting the refund); we did try our best under the circumstances. Sometimes, events are beyond our control. Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springdale, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

The Atlantic Eyrie Inn has awesome views of the water from the balcony. The rooms were very clean but the bathrooms are very small. The Inn could use some updating and the carpet on the outdoor stairs needs to be replaced. The continental breakfast was fine but the plastic ware could be a little more heavy duty. All in all a nice place with very friendly staff.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanticeyrie, Internet advertising at Atlantic Eyrie Lodge, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Hello,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are happy you enjoyed your visit. Of note is the fact that we had planned to remove all outdoor carpeting this spring but time got away from us and we are actually removing some of them today! We agree, they are old and it's time to change them out. We are actually, re cementing and just are going to paint the concrete as the carpeting gets old quickly with the salt air environment. Hope you have a great rest of the summer.
~Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We recently stayed here for the 4th of July Holiday while visiting family in Bar Harbor. The location is great and the staff is very friendly and helpful. The views are spectacular! The pool is nice, although we only went swimming once due to our schedule and the weather. We highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanticeyrie, Internet advertising at Atlantic Eyrie Lodge, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for posting a review! How nice to have family to visit on the island. I always wonder if my family is visiting for my sake or for the sake of this beautiful island we live on!! Hopefully it is a combination of both, I do know it's not for my home cooking! Glad you enjoyed the views and got to swim in the pool. We did have some wild weather for a little bit with Hurricane/Tropical Storm Arthur who dampened a bit of everyone's vacation. Have a great rest of the summer. I love visiting your area of New England, especially in the late fall when things start to slow down here. ~Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.2 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#28 of 41 in Bar Harbor
409 reviews
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
288 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,323 reviews
0.9 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#11 of 41 in Bar Harbor
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Eyrie Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Eyrie Lodge

Property: Atlantic Eyrie Lodge
Address: 6 Norman Rd, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1114
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#11 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Atlantic Eyrie Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Atlantic Eyrie Lodge sits high atop a bluff overlooking the waters of Frenchman Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Atlantic Eyrie Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Eyrie Hotel Bar Harbor
Atlantic Eyrie Motel
Atlantic Eyrie Lodge Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing