We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We've been here several times and we'll be back”
Review of Bar Harbor Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bar Harbor Motel
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“We've been here several times and we'll be back”
Reviewed 4 June 2011

This is not a fancy or luxurious place, but it is remarkably well-run and well-maintained. It looks like a beautiful classic motel from the sixties with mid-century modern styling, except that it always looks brand new.The entrance is right along route 3, but the property extends far back from the highway and there is actually a private entrance to Acadia at the rear. The interiors are more modern with flat-panel TV's and very comfortable beds. The sound-proofing is terrific, with barely a noise intruding from other rooms. Housekeeping is immaculate.
The owners have run this motel for many years and clearly know and enjoy what they are doing. They are always able to provide information that will make your stay in the area more interesting and pleasant. This year we had reservations for mid-May, but when the weather forecast called for rain the entire time we were to be on vacation, they were willing to change our reservations at the last minute to the week after Memorial Day with no penalties. I'm sure they wouldn't always be able to do this during the high season, but it was a very nice gesture which allowed us to really enjoy a much-needed vacation!
They offer a package with dinner included at several local restaurants which we have used several times. The meals have always been good and are a significant value.

Room Tip: Rooms toward the back are almost in the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jqpjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,544 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,004
    472
    58
    10
    0
See reviews for
700
525
34
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
maine
Level Contributor
55 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

My husband and I stayed here over Memorial Day weekend. We brought our bikes to ride the carriage trails. The Motel had a separate bike "garage" complete with an air hose to fill up your tires! The garage is locked at 10 pm and opens at 6 am. The trail through the woods to eventually reach the carriage roads was a bit rough (you have to walk it with your bike), but it was definitely handy. The property is immaculate, and our room was no exception! Close proximity to down town. We will definitely stay again!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank craftydameMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loveland, OH
Level Contributor
82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2011

When you look at this place, you might drive right past thinking it is an older motel. After reading all the ratings, I made a reservation for three nights. The room was clean, modern, and had everything I needed, including free wireless internet and wide screen tv. I think the owners really make it a priority to keep the place special. It looked like the walls were freshly painted. About 2 miles to Acadia NP Visitor's Center. Not sure but my guess is this place is cheaper than a lot of the other surrounding motels. Seemed like it was about a mile drive to downtown Bar Harbor.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mysei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearfield, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2011

The motel was a home away from home. The staff was so helpful, the motel so clean and so up to date. We could hop the bus in front of the motel & go just about anywhere we wished to go for the day. We will diffently stay again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moe80_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Youngstown, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2011

My husband and I arrived late to check-in and discovered their office closed, but they left our key and asked that we check-in upon waking. Don't know anywhere that would do that. The room was clean. The motel is a little older and has a slight musty smell, but nothing to be put off by. I originally booked for two nights a family room since that was all that was available online. Upon checking in, we decided we would like to stay longer and asked if they could accomodate us. Not only could they, but they were able to keep us in the same room, and they decreased the rate to the standard room rate. Amazing! We also found it very helpful that they kept area restaurant menus for you to check out. The staff was also very helpful in suggesting good restaurants!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bramm13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2011

We have now stayed here 12 years, and just made reservations for a 13th year. this is simply a comfortable. accommodating facility. It is not high brow, like some of the other local hotels (my last reservations was at Nemacolin as 5 star hotel with a butler in every room), just extremely accommodating and comfortable if you are with a family. The direct access to the trail system, the bike lockers, the friendliness of the staff, and the two Owners, Dick and Claudia (who you will frequently see), are fabulous. I highly recommend the Family suite- definitely give kids their space and their adults their sanity. I will note it is on the route of the local bus route, which is very convenient to the town center, where parking can be a pain. And did I note the friendliness.......

I am not a paid reviewer, but if they asked I would probably do it for free I am so pleased over all the years. Probably the reason we see so many people year after year.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tdtaylor91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2010

This is one of our favorite motels in Maine and we think the rates are very reasonable for the value offered. The location is great - close to Bar Harbor and on the bus route yet far enough out of town to avoid the crowds. The one-story units are set beautifully on the property which is large and has trail access to Acadia National Park. Staff is friendly and eager to please. Rooms are good-sized, quiet and spotlessly clean. The coin laundry was also very clean and a much appreciated amenity. A small problem with our room was addressed promptly and to our complete satisfaction. We're looking forward to our next visit to Acadia and another stay at this motel.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AntiqueFarmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,617 reviews
0.0 mi away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#14 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
3.4 mi away
Best Western Acadia Park Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bar Harbor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Motel

Property: Bar Harbor Motel
Address: 100 Eden St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1106
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#3 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Bar Harbor Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
84 Ground level rooms spaced amid 14 acres of lawn and trees. Featuring 2-Bedroom Family units for up to 6 people or rooms with 1 King or 2 Queen beds. All rooms feature full bath, A/C, mini refrigerators, irons, hairdryers, free in room high speed internet and all non-Smoking. Free continental breakfast. Free enclosed bicycle locker. Direct Trail access to Acadia National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Bar Harbor Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Hotel Bar Harbor
Bar Harbor Motel Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing