We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the BEST motels on our trip from California to the east coast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bar Harbor Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bar Harbor Motel
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the BEST motels on our trip from California to the east coast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

The staff was absolutely delightful, very friendly and helpful. Kid friendly with playground, pool and tree swings. Great breakfast (not hot) but very good. We will tell all our friends and we will return! Very close to town

Room Tip: On top of the hill at the back of the property rooms 132-136 have a great large patio for reading an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Howard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHM_Manager, General Manager at Bar Harbor Motel, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,540 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,002
    470
    58
    10
    0
See reviews for
696
525
34
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holtsville, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

First, the staff is exceptionally friendly, helpful and knowledgeable about the area. The room is immaculate and spacious. Loved the location; quiet and just a hop, skip away from the town. Place was hopping during Memorial Weekend. Only downfall was the breakfast: weak coffee, watery juices and green uneatable bananas. Still, I would definitely return the next time I'm in Bar Harbor.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 705jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHM_Manager, General Manager at Bar Harbor Motel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thanks for the kind words. The machines that dispense the coffee and juices were calibrated by the tech who brought them. Only after you stayed did we realize they had been set incorrectly. It was our fault that we assumed it had been done properly. Shame on us. And let me apologize to you personally for the bad taste (or rather tastelessness) it left in your mouth. It should be fine now for any future guests and if you yourself come back. Have a good summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

The family suites are perfect! A great property in a prime location, with easy access to all points of the island. Staff is helpful and friendly. The rooms are in great shape and clean. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank EGosack F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Our weekend couldn't have been more enjoyable in Bar Harbor, thanks in part to the wonderful staff and property at the Bar Harbor Hotel. The atmosphere was perfect for our kids. They were able to run around, swing, swim, and bike all over the property. They were received with smiles by the staff at every turn. Aaron was especially wonderful! We unloaded our bikes from the car when we arrived and didn't need to load them up again until we left Maine, as the property connects to a trail leading right to Acadia. It was perfect! Our family will definitely return to this lovely property.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank baseball8823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHM_Manager, General Manager at Bar Harbor Motel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Everyone on the staff came up to me after your family and friends left and told me how much they enjoyed seeing all the kids running around and playing. It really lifts your spirits when you see young (and old) people laughing and having a great time. Without sounding too sappy I do think this property has some "essence" that brings out the kid in all of us. Thanks for choosing us and we hope to see you all again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

This place is wonderful, great location to Acadia National Park and very quiet. The room was immaculate. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I love the way the rooms were designed. It is not traditional motel style packed up high. Each unit contains four rooms and there is a nice separation from another unit. Plenty of parking. I did not use the pool as it was still cold, but it looked really nice. Would for sure come back again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank STB150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

Great location, super clean room, friendly and helpful staff. My daughter and I were able to walk out of the room to hike in Acadia. We were also able to take a scenic walk to downtown Bar Harbor for dinner. Just great!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ann Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHM_Manager, General Manager at Bar Harbor Motel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Glad you had a great time. Your experience walking directly into Acadia gives me an opportunity to elaborate a bit for future guests. Our property is unique in Bar Harbor in that it abuts Acadia National Park and we have direct access into the park and the park's carriage roads - groomed gravel paths for walkers and bikers. It really is a fantastic feature for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

After the early arrival of our grandchild, we decided to head to Bar Harbor + Acadia. Having stayed here before, I knew it was in a good location and a quiet spot. The room we had was clean and ample towels provided.
The staff is so friendly, helpful + cheerful answering our many questions. The path to the carriage trails is terrific + allows one to hike or bike out your back door! A winner all around!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Gigi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.1 mi away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#16 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
3.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bar Harbor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Motel

Property: Bar Harbor Motel
Address: 100 Eden St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1106
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#3 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Bar Harbor Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
84 Ground level rooms spaced amid 14 acres of lawn and trees. Featuring 2-Bedroom Family units for up to 6 people or rooms with 1 King or 2 Queen beds. All rooms feature full bath, A/C, mini refrigerators, irons, hairdryers, free in room high speed internet and all non-Smoking. Free continental breakfast. Free enclosed bicycle locker. Direct Trail access to Acadia National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bar Harbor Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Hotel Bar Harbor
Bar Harbor Motel Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing