We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Lodging Experience”
Review of Bar Harbor Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bar Harbor Motel
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2014

My husband, our 21 year old daughter and I just returned from a 10 night trip to Maine. 3 of our nights were pleasantly spent at the Bar Harbor Motel. I would highly recommend this motel to anyone looking to be close to all the area attractions, yet quietly off the beaten path thru town. We stayed in a suite up the hill from the office, which was so peaceful and beautiful. Aaron helped me with the booking a couple of months ago, and was also the one who checked us in. Everything was just as he'd told me & they had our keys ready and waiting when we arrived, so check in was so quick & simple. Breakfast was better than most, and the young man working the dining area was a standout! He busily kept the tables cleaned and the food replinished. In summary, these folks have their act together and I don't think you'll go wrong staying at the Bar Harbor Motel!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ginger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHM_Manager, General Manager at Bar Harbor Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

"these folks have their act together" - This is very high praise indeed. We really do make every effort to get things right, whether that's your reservation, the cleanliness of the rooms and grounds, or our customer service. And we can assure you, that when we do make a mistake we do everything in our power to correct the situation in a timely and mutually agreeable manner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,709)
There are newer reviews for Bar Harbor Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

925 - 931 of 1,709 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed at this motel for a weekend of visiting Acadia National Park and for Bar Harbor. Checking in was a breeze and we were given brochures for activities around town. The check in area had a nice seating area and also games/books that you could sign out for use in your room.

Upon check in, we were travelling with another family and asked for a room near their and this was granted. There are four units per building and each of us had the end. Our room # was 229 and we were close to the laundry area. There was a short 2 minute walk to the outdoor heated pool. It was raining upon check in and we were told that we could have free wristbands to use the indoor pool across the street. We didn't use this-but it is a nice perk if needed on rainy days.

Our room was extremely clean. I am a bath tub woman and the bath was cleaner than many 4-5 star resorts I have stayed in. I believe our cleaner was Sue, and this woman deserves some kudos for a job well done.

This motel serves a continental breakfast daily and it was the standard fare of bagels, muffins, cereal, fruit, coffee and juices.

We were only a few minutes drive from both Acadia national Park and Bar Harbor downtown. This is a very central spot for not a lot of money. There is also a walking path at the back of the motel road that leads into the Park, but we didn't walk that way because our hike was leaving from another location, but we did see deer right out our door one evening.-maybe five feet away.

Room Tip: We were more toward the back of all the buildings and I think this was a more quiet area than being...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoseAnne121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We were 2 couples attending the Corvette show on May 29- June 1, 2014. The staff were most accommodating, even offering to personally shuttle us if required. (not required).
The units are separated in groups of 3 or 4 and are very clean and modern, possibly recently renovated. The area is very quiet and relaxing, yet close to the town and the park. The units we stayed in had a king bed in the front room and 2 twin beds in the second room, with TV and AC in both. Ideal for a family or 2 couples sharing(we didn't share). We would gladly stay again when visiting this unique area of Maine.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Carolyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We really enjoyed the Bar Harbor Motel and would definitely return and recommend to others. The entire staff went out of their way to make sure everything was prefect for us. The grounds were well kept, quiet and the room was exceptional. Nice continental breakfast and the cleaning boy in the dining area was meticulous about cleaning the tables. Easy access to Acadia.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Carol J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Always struggle accomodations-wise when doing a trip with more than two of the children, had three this family trip. Good spacious rooms with three beds, plenty of storage. Able to park right in front of room. Nice breakfast; eating area very clean.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHM_Manager, General Manager at Bar Harbor Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Your warmhearted review about our "family" rooms gives me an opportunity to elaborate a little for future guests. Our two bedroom suites (we call them family rooms) consist of one bedroom with a king-sized bed and one bedroom with two double beds. The bedrooms share a bath and are separated by a short hallway and two lockable doors, ensuring (if desired) privacy between the bedrooms. As Jan K describes they are an excellent option for families (the suite can accommodate up to 6 people) who want to be together but also would like a little space to unwind and relax.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

This was a very cozy family orientated motel and was spacious, clean, with friendly and helpful staff that went out of their way to help you. They had a great pool, tree swings, and a playground for the kids and the continental breakfast had something for everyone from kids to adults. The best part was the price, most hotels in the area were at least $80 higher, I would recommend this to anyone!

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with a couple of friends for 3 days so we could go hiking in Acadia. We had a fantastic time, and a large part of our experience was staying in this hotel. The employees are super nice, friendly, and caring. There was kosher breakfast, and the price could not have been better. Hope to stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shmuli G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHM_Manager, General Manager at Bar Harbor Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you for the generous review. I had a good time reminiscing about my days keeping kosher with my college roommates and learning about you and your friends education during breakfast. It was a pleasure to meet you and we hope you'll make the trip up from the city again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
305 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
691 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#8 of 41 in Bar Harbor
376 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
1.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#9 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bar Harbor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Motel

Address: 100 Eden St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1106
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#3 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range: £100 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bar Harbor Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
84 Ground level rooms spaced amid 14 acres of lawn and trees. Featuring 2-Bedroom Family units for up to 6 people or rooms with 1 King or 2 Queen beds. All rooms feature full bath, A/C, mini refrigerators, irons, hairdryers, free in room high speed internet and all non-Smoking. Free continental breakfast. Free enclosed bicycle locker. Direct Trail access to Acadia National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Bar Harbor Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Hotel Bar Harbor
Bar Harbor Motel Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing