We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Bar Harbor Experience”
Review of Bar Harbor Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bar Harbor Motel
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Saco, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Bar Harbor Experience”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed at the Bar Harbor Motel in June 2014. We specified a room on the patio. This is a great location within walking distance of Bar Harbor and easy walking access to the Carriage Roads. The room was spacious and clean. Very comfortable. The patio affords plenty of room to site outside and enjoy company. The continental breakfast is well done. The included Diner at the Bar Harbor Inn was spectacular.

Room Tip: Ask for the patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank gobe100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHM_Manager, General Manager at Bar Harbor Motel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Glad you mentioned dinner at the Bar Harbor Inn. We have an affiliation with that resort and they allow us to book packages which includes dinner at the renowned Reading Room Restaurant. We currently have a standard two-day package and a standard three-day package. If interested please call us and the staff will gladly explain how it works and how much it is. We can also tailor packages to your needs. We have relationships with bike rentals, kayak tours, photography safaris, rock climbing, guided hiking, scooter rentals, a fishing expedition, and nature cruises. We can offer packages including these activities (ask for an Adventure Package), room nights, and meals at the Reading Room all at a discount. Call us and create your adventure today.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,621 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,067
    485
    58
    11
    0
See reviews for
741
546
40
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Great location. Comfortable and friendly . Staff was welcoming and helpful. Lots to do in the area . Breakfast was plentiful
and good. Would definitely return to this place. Family room was everything we needed.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix,AZ
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2014

My family of 4 (2 adults, 2 teens) greatly enjoyed our 4 night stay at your hotel. All of the staff were friendly and went out of their way from the moment we arrived to help us get settled, recommend activities and accomodate us in every way. We loved the path at the back of the property that led to Acadia National Park. At night we went to that part of the grounds and spotted wildlife. The breakfast included a generous assortment of items including some for health-conscious individuals and kid-pleasers as well. I might suggest the addition of a whole grain bread item. Everything was clean and well-kept in our 2 room family suite as well as throughout the property. Nice job -- we will be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank hola23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHM_Manager, General Manager at Bar Harbor Motel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you and looking forward to seeing you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nazareth, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The BH Hotel really can't be beat for it's value. The rooms are very clean and the facility is very quiet. The hotel is actually made up of several units with 4 rooms per unit, so you never have to worry about loud neighbors above you. The staff is very friendly. The continental breakfast is good. They have a heated pool, but in BH, you really don't have much time to use it - there is too much to do and see.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NittanyVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Titusville, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Wonderful stay at this motel. The room was spacious and very clean. We were a little concerned about the location before we arrived, but were pleasantly surprised. Very close to downtown Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park. The grounds are beautiful and so well kept. Excellent and helpful staff. We had a patio room with very nice seating outside and very quiet. There was a walking path outside our door that led into Acadia. Breakfast was nice and the dining area kept sparkling. We enjoyed our stay so much we stayed an extra night. Would definitely stay again and recommend to our friends,.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dkberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHM_Manager, General Manager at Bar Harbor Motel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for the gracious review. There is some confusion about our location because of our name. We are in the town of Bar Harbor, but we are not as this review describes in the downtown section. We are about 1 mile (20 minute walk) from town. During the summer (end of June until mid October) there is a shuttle that stops right in front of our motel (every 1/2 hour) and will take you town if you don't want to fight for a parking spot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Rooms were somewhat dated, but comfortable and clean. the property was well kept. Front desk staff was very friendly and seemed very interested in making our stay pleasant! Front desk staff even demonstrated how to use the room key, as they are card keys, but you don't slide them as with most room keys - they have a RFID tag the lock reads. Location is very convenient to both Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LibraryLaird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indian Mound, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed 18 June 2014

My husband, our 21 year old daughter and I just returned from a 10 night trip to Maine. 3 of our nights were pleasantly spent at the Bar Harbor Motel. I would highly recommend this motel to anyone looking to be close to all the area attractions, yet quietly off the beaten path thru town. We stayed in a suite up the hill from the office, which was so peaceful and beautiful. Aaron helped me with the booking a couple of months ago, and was also the one who checked us in. Everything was just as he'd told me & they had our keys ready and waiting when we arrived, so check in was so quick & simple. Breakfast was better than most, and the young man working the dining area was a standout! He busily kept the tables cleaned and the food replinished. In summary, these folks have their act together and I don't think you'll go wrong staying at the Bar Harbor Motel!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ginger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHM_Manager, General Manager at Bar Harbor Motel, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
"these folks have their act together" - This is very high praise indeed. We really do make every effort to get things right, whether that's your reservation, the cleanliness of the rooms and grounds, or our customer service. And we can assure you, that when we do make a mistake we do everything in our power to correct the situation in a timely and mutually agreeable manner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,326 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
289 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
1.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,693 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#27 of 41 in Bar Harbor
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bar Harbor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Motel

Property: Bar Harbor Motel
Address: 100 Eden St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1106
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#3 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Bar Harbor Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
84 Ground level rooms spaced amid 14 acres of lawn and trees. Featuring 2-Bedroom Family units for up to 6 people or rooms with 1 King or 2 Queen beds. All rooms feature full bath, A/C, mini refrigerators, irons, hairdryers, free in room high speed internet and all non-Smoking. Free continental breakfast. Free enclosed bicycle locker. Direct Trail access to Acadia National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Bar Harbor Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Hotel Bar Harbor
Bar Harbor Motel Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing