We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What's not to like”
Review of Bar Harbor Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bar Harbor Motel
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Morganton, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What's not to like”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Comfortable room, quiet, great hospitable staff, good breakfast, very close to Acadia Park and easy and inexpensive cab ride to town to avoid the parking crush. Price and comfort both - We will be back!

Room Tip: We were clear at eh back - so quiet and private!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Garry V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,608 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,057
    483
    58
    10
    0
See reviews for
733
544
39
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Epping, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We went as part of a family vacation (7 adults, no kids). We stayed for 3 nights & had 3 rooms including one family room which was another bedroom attached to the shared bathroom. The free breakfast was very good and the pool was clean although not quite heated to the advertised 80'. The rooms are simple and clean but could do with some updating. The refrigerators need to be plugged in so be sure to do so if you intend to use them. The place was quiet and good for families as well as those seeking a good value.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 03042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Easthampton, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

After looking online at various properties to stay at in Bar Harbor the wife and I selected the Bar Harbor Motel. We are glad we made the choice, what a place. Set on 12 acres the motel is spread out in separate buildings. We had a family unit that was all the way to the back of the property. It was clean, comfortable and quiet. Our housekeeper Heidi did a great job of the daily service, the front desk staff all of them were friendly and helpful they made you feel like you were home.
The breakfast was good, muffins, cereal. juice. bagels. and hard boiled eggs available. We booked the nature cruise through the motel and saved about $8 take the cruise its across the street and it is great. We wish we had more time to enjoy this great motel. We will be back but, we are going to stay where the units have a full deck with table and chairs next time.

Room Tip: If you want quiet book the family suite, everywhere on property is quiet except rooms next to laundr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnc51_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHM_Manager, General Manager at Bar Harbor Motel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your first visit to our property and that you were able to take advantage of our relationship with the Acadian Boat Tour company. They offer a nature cruise all season long, a puffin cruise in the spring and early summer and a Somes Sound Fjord Tour in the fall. The boats leave from directly across the street, so no hassle finding parking (leave your car in front of your room) and enjoy a nice discount on the ticket price when booking through us. We hope this is the first of many visits for you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We brought a group of 8 for three midweek days in June. Had 2 rooms in a unit way in the back of the property. It was fantastic! There was a patio at this unit where we could all gather after a day of sightseeing in Acadia National Park. Nice and secluded away from the hustle and bustle, but only a few minutes drive to downtown Bar Harbor. Nothing fancy, but was comfortable, clean and updated and a great price. The breakfast room was beautiful and kept well stocked with bagels, muffins, English muffins, oatmeal, hardboiled eggs, yogurt, apples, bananas, tea, coffee, hot chocolate, and 4 types of juice. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHM_Manager, General Manager at Bar Harbor Motel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Our "patio rooms" are truly a unique feature here in Bar Harbor. We have one building with 8 rooms. Each room has it's own sliding glass door which opens up to a large shared patio with chairs and tables on which people can gather and relax. Our only regret is that we don't have more of these. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Framingham, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2014

There is no reason to look for any other place to stay in Bar Harbor (unless there is no more space left here...). The location is great, very close to downtown. There is a pool which is great for the kids. Rooms are comfortable and clean. Staff is very nice and helpful. Breakfast was OK. great value. This is our second visit there and will definitely come back in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank shacharw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHM_Manager, General Manager at Bar Harbor Motel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
As I've mentioned in other posts providing a friendly, clean, well-kept environment so that guests feel at home and want to come back is our main focus. Thank you for returning and posting these kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Only real complaints are there should be more easily accessible computer and charging points in the rooms. And, the breakfast wasn't that great but i understand they're working on it. The shower water pressure was probably the best of any place I have ever stayed.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Many of the places in Bar Harbor are bed and breakfast inns. They are not great for families with children, but the Bar Harbor Motel was a great value and cheap. They have a headed pool and playground for the kids. We even saw a doe with her fawn on the path at the end of the property that elads to Acadia National Park.

Room Tip: The family suites are a good value. They are basic, but quiet and comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHM_Manager, General Manager at Bar Harbor Motel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
You're right this is a great place for families. Plenty of space for the kids to safely run around. A playground for the little ones. some tree swings for kids of all ages, a nice outdoor pool, direct access to Acadia National Park, and plenty of wildlife. This week alone I have personally seen deer, lots of birds (including cardinals and a pileated woodpecker), a groundhog, a porcupine, and a wild turkey. Come join us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,292 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
1.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#19 of 41 in Bar Harbor
281 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
627 reviews
0.0 mi away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#16 of 41 in Bar Harbor
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bar Harbor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Motel

Property: Bar Harbor Motel
Address: 100 Eden St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1106
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#3 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Bar Harbor Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
84 Ground level rooms spaced amid 14 acres of lawn and trees. Featuring 2-Bedroom Family units for up to 6 people or rooms with 1 King or 2 Queen beds. All rooms feature full bath, A/C, mini refrigerators, irons, hairdryers, free in room high speed internet and all non-Smoking. Free continental breakfast. Free enclosed bicycle locker. Direct Trail access to Acadia National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Bar Harbor Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Hotel Bar Harbor
Bar Harbor Motel Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing