We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and very clean”
Review of Bar Harbor Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bar Harbor Motel
Ranked #4 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Stayed here 3 nights and had one of the family suites in the back of the property which is very quiet. Rooms are large, comfortable and the place is very clean. Not luxurious, but just right for what we needed. The breakfast is pretty good for continental (kids loved the chocolate muffins!) and it was great that the coffee/juice/milk was available all day with the dining room open. The staff is very nice and helpful with any questions about the area. Pool was okay, we visited it only once due to time constraints. Only negative is that the wifi was pretty weak in our room.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank TraciTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,741)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

910 - 916 of 1,741 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Bar Harbor Motel. It feels very different from the typical motel because the rooms are grouped in units of 4-6, spread out spaciously throughout the grounds, interspersed with green space and trees. The trail access to the carriage roads was very convenient, as was the Island Explorer bus stop, right in front of the motel. The staff were tremendously helpful and breakfast was a tasty spread. We appreciated use of the breakfast area at other times, and the picnic tables by the community swings. We highly recommend the family suite" layout - how nice to have 2 rooms.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Susannah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHM_Manager, General Manager at Bar Harbor Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

It really is a "lovely setting" here. The motel and grounds just vibrate a relaxed, comfortable space where guests feel as though they are not just on vacation, but on holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This motel is in a great location with a helpful and friendly staff. They have a nice swimming pool and a little playground area for young children. It's located only a few min drive to the waterfront, shops and restaurants and only a few min to Acadia. Appeared as if room had been recently renovated. Place is clean and well maintained. I have no complaints and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank cd499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I have been going to Bar Harbor since 1996 and stayed at the same B&B all those years. However, in 2010 the innkeeper passed away and the property was sold this past spring. My husband and I thought we would never find a place as nice. Glad we were wrong! From the front desk, to the funny guy (Brendon) who managed the breakfast room to the ladies who cleaned our room were truly FABULOUS! WE WILL BE BACK! Thank you for making us feel so welcome.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sherylhazzard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHM_Manager, General Manager at Bar Harbor Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you for that rousing review. We're glad you found a new place to call your own and even more glad it was us. See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed at the Bar Harbor Motel July 3rd-6th. All I can say is we loved it! The grounds were immaculate, rooms were clean, staff was awesome! The staff went above and beyond to make sure our stay was positive & comfortable.
The common area was a great place for families to come together and play games or just hang out. The continental breakfast that was provided daily was very good also. We loved the coffee :-))
We found the Bar Harbor Motel to be very very well priced compared to the surrounding hotels/motels.
The bus comes right to the motel every 15 minutes. This makes heading downtown very easy & convenient.
The only minor downsides was the wifi connection, which was fair from our room. Also, we stayed in one of the rooms in the back of the grounds, that could have had better lighting outside.
These things were minor compared to all the positives! We would definitely stay there again :-).

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Goldenhaloxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We really felt we lucked in with Bar Harbor Motel
It's located approximately 1 mile from the Arcadia State Park and about a 5 minute drive to the Center of the Harbor.
The grounds were spotless and they have a nice heated to 80 degree pool.
Room was spotless and comes with a refrigerator and little table and chairs. Nice flat screen television with plenty of channels.
The bathroom does have a blow dryer if you need one
There is a a small coffee maker but with the Continental Breakfast they offer, it was easier to slip into the lobby and get coffee. The lobby is where they host an incredible Continental Breakfast. The room is available 24/7 for use of the dining tables, coffee/tea and juice as well as snacks. It's great if you order Pizza or bring back Lobster and don't want to eat in your room.
The staff were helpful and bent over backward to accommodate with information on where to pick up fresh cooked Lobster or accommodate specific requests.
They have a large shed locked down from 10 or 11 till 6:00 am if you need to lock up Kayaks or bicycles.
We were there July 2nd and 3rd with the threat of the first Hurricane of the season approaching. The night desk clerk gladly locked our Motorcycle up in the shed as we were worried about strong winds knocking it over..It was great!
I would highly recommend this Motel for anyone wanting to explore the area and have a clean, comfortable affordable place to stay

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank sunshine4jo66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHM_Manager, General Manager at Bar Harbor Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for the kind words. Glad we were able to keep your motorcycle out of harms way and that your stay was a pleasant. Hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Good place to stay, rooms clean and roomy, access to main street is great. Good breakfast, ends at 11am. Close to bay and ocean and route #3. Near Boat tours & free bus stops to main street.
No microwave, but one is located in the lobby, no room food odors either.
Only had 1 issue and it was handled great by the day manager, who went above and beyond to make our stay a great one.

Only one recommendation is a slight improvement with WiFi, had trouble getting access or losing access.

Would highly recommend your stay there and BarHarbor.

Room Tip: Have 1 room with 1 king and second room with 2 double beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank RegionalLink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
728 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
1.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Best Western Acadia Park Inn
1.1 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#8 of 41 in Bar Harbor
388 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#10 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bar Harbor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Motel

Address: 100 Eden St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1106
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#3 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range: £88 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bar Harbor Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
84 Ground level rooms spaced amid 14 acres of lawn and trees. Featuring 2-Bedroom Family units for up to 6 people or rooms with 1 King or 2 Queen beds. All rooms feature full bath, A/C, mini refrigerators, irons, hairdryers, free in room high speed internet and all non-Smoking. Free continental breakfast. Free enclosed bicycle locker. Direct Trail access to Acadia National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Bar Harbor Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Hotel Bar Harbor
Bar Harbor Motel Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing