We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value; good location; good amenities”
Review of Bar Harbor Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bar Harbor Motel
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa FL
Level 6 Contributor
287 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Good value; good location; good amenities”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

A perfect location close to Bar Harbor and Acadia as well. Rooms decor and plumbing were dated, but quite clean. The staff was exemplary in being helpful,friendly and knowledgeable. Enjoyable complimentary breakfast and understanding housekeeping staff.
Only possible negative was the ice machine and laundry were up a hill and far away, making it not senior friendly, especially in the dark after long days of being on your feet. Ask for rooms closer to them if available.

Room Tip: Ask for room close to ice machine and laundry if uphill walking is an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TampaFLRuthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,605 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,056
    481
    58
    10
    0
See reviews for
732
542
39
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DeWitt, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

As requested, our room was in back of the property and had a deck with tables. Fortunately, our room did not directly look out onto the deck since privacy would be compromised if you are not traveling with a group occupying these rooms. Rooms are basic, sheets just OK and the walls very thin. Bathroom windows allow for air circulation but also allow lots of noise into the room, including a motorcycle departing at 7:00am. Breakfast was nice and as mentioned the young man in charge of the breakfast area was fantastic! Service desk personnel are very friendly. A number of positives, but if we return to the area we'll probably opt for a more appointed room.

Room Tip: Back portion of facility best for privacy but quiet level depends on people in the next room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spartantown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We had a family suite in a rear building. It was great for my husband and me and our two kids, ages 13 and 11. They each had their own bed in the back. My husband and I shared a King bed. The room has one A/C unit up front (noisy), but the windows open as well. There is a small refrigerator (no freezer) in between the two bedrooms and each room has a door. The bathroom is in the middle. Would have been nice to have more shelves (maybe to the right of the sink on the wall), but overall a decent hotel room.

Quiet area. There is a trail that leads out the back of the property into Acadia National Park. It leads to a beautiful stone bridge over a pretty creek. We were able to go down stone steps to the water and wade in and explore. Not a very long walk to get there. Worth the hike!

Breakfast is included and consisted of bagels, muffins (the chocolate chocolate chip ones were so yummy), cereal, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, fruit, juices, tea and coffee. All was wonderful. The dining area is kept very clean by a very attentive man. I can see why he earned employee of the month! As soon as anything was running low or a table was vacated, he was on it, replenishing and cleaning. A couple of mornings later in the week we could not get a table due to a full dining area, so we just took our food back to our room.

The front desk people were very friendly and helpful. The chalkboard outside of the front door encouraged kids to describe what animals they saw every day. Saw some goofy answers, but it added to the fun.

The pool was nice. We only used it once as we were always out and about.

The Island Explorer, a free propane-fueled shuttle bus backed by LL Bean, stops right outside the front of the hotel. We used it once. Just know it runs every half hour in the am and every 15 minutes in the pm. We waited longer than we liked in the am only because we misread the schedule. It's actually faster to drive into downtown Bar Harbor (less that 5 minutes). We always found a spot to park. You just have to be patient.

The only thing that was frustrating with the stay was the weak wi-fi. But hey, you're in Maine. You shouldn't be on your computer anyway! It made uploading pictures slow, but it still worked if you were patient.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the rear of the property away from Route 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawnie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHM_Manager, General Manager at Bar Harbor Motel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
This may have one of the most comprehensive reviews we've received. Kudos. You commented on the rooms, the breakfast, the grounds, the shuttle, and the staff. We're pleased that you were pleased. Thank you for the gracious words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Bar Harbor Motel is a very nice place to stay: clean room, nice staff, enough breakfast, reasonable price, and most of all, it is very close to the Acadia National Park and downtown Bar Harbor. I highly recommend it.

July 14th ~ 18th, 2014

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Fang M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidney
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed here two nights and were pleasantly delighted with every aspect of our stay. The front desk staff went above and beyond in assisting us to be sure we enjoyed our visit, patiently helping with directions, restaurant recommendations, and room suggestions so we could be near friends. The location is a 2-3 minute drive to town, just far enough to be away from the hustle bustle. Our room was very nice, with a lovely bath. Although it had a/c, we used the overhead fan and opened the windows for a nice breeze. The continental breakfast was just right, with a variety of fresh fruit, yogurt, bagels, muffins, juices, and coffees. We will definitely choose Bar Harbor Motel again on our next visit!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PamelaBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indianapolis
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

This is an unusual review because my family and I did not actually stay here. However, I am compelled to write a review to detail the excellent customer service I received anyway from Jack at the hotel. Through a mistake on a booking website, I was reserved at this hotel for the wrong dates. I did not know about this reservation and even though it cost him effort and expense, Jack allowed me to change this reservation. Any small business owner that demonstrates such graciousness and commitment to excellent customer service to even a prospective customer deserves the highest rating and special mention. I am sad that we did not get to stay at this hotel on our visit in July (they were all full when I tried to book several months in advance, so BOOK NOW) and sincerely hope that our next visit to Bar Harbor will be with them. And just on a side note, I drove by this property when we visited and it is immaculately kept from the outside and in a wonderful location. Again, if you are on the fence, you should book this hotel now! Learn from my mistake that it fills up fast!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank crazyforsanibel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHM_Manager, General Manager at Bar Harbor Motel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
We all make mistakes. We always appreciate the guests who, on the "receiving" end of our mistakes, are calm and gracious as we attempt to rectify the situation. So, when we heard you had made a mistake we simply responded in a like manner. Life's too short and too precious to worry and stress about these small things. There's a phrase we like: Everything will be okay in the end. If it's not okay, it's not the end.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Not fancy but very clean, comfortable and quiet. Great location. Wifi service was spotty at best. The shops and restaurants were close enough that you could walk there. This would be a good place for families.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,273 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
1.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#19 of 41 in Bar Harbor
280 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
625 reviews
0.0 mi away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#16 of 41 in Bar Harbor
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bar Harbor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Motel

Property: Bar Harbor Motel
Address: 100 Eden St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1106
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#3 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Bar Harbor Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
84 Ground level rooms spaced amid 14 acres of lawn and trees. Featuring 2-Bedroom Family units for up to 6 people or rooms with 1 King or 2 Queen beds. All rooms feature full bath, A/C, mini refrigerators, irons, hairdryers, free in room high speed internet and all non-Smoking. Free continental breakfast. Free enclosed bicycle locker. Direct Trail access to Acadia National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Bar Harbor Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Hotel Bar Harbor
Bar Harbor Motel Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing