We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great motel!”
Review of Bar Harbor Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bar Harbor Motel
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
“Great motel!”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I don't give anyone a 5 out of 5 (nobody's perfect :)
But BHM was darn close. Big room and bathroom. updated nicely. 4 rooms to each pod and about 10 pods, each one separated by trees giving a lot of privacy. The breakfast was continental. I really like the family activities of wiffle ball and movie night. The pool is great, and the location great. Like that the motel is on the trolley stop and you don't have to drive into town with all the traffic. Can't wait to stay there again.

Room Tip: one floor is nice. I would classify this as a 'mom and pop' motel that has been updated. rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Deborah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHM_Manager, General Manager at Bar Harbor Motel, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
The word "pod" always reminds me of the movie "Body Snatchers." Just to clarify, what happened in that movie IS NOT HAPPENING HERE!. But your description of our 4 room buildings dotting our park-like atmosphere as "pods" is accurate. It's a unique environment, great for families and couples alike, giving people a sense of space and privacy not found in your typical box style hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,548 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,007
    473
    58
    10
    0
See reviews for
702
526
34
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed in a two bedroom suite with our family of five and had a wonderful time. Everything was very clean, there was just enough room with doors closing off each room and another separating the bathroom. Because of the comfortable temperature, we slept with the windows open. It was quiet and we felt quite safe.The continental breakfast was more than enough to help start the day and the young gentleman in charge of the breakfast was exceptional. Everyone at the front desk was full of wonderful information and willing to help with anything. Loved having a separate building to store all of our bikes.There is a free bus that picks up and drops off through 10pm -- so much better than trying to find a parking spot in Bar Harbor! The motel is also across the street from the College of the Atlantic where Diver Ed is located. A must do for families with children of all ages.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank FoxnLamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankeny, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I had considered other places to stay that were fancier, but the Bar Harbor Motel always pulls me back with such great rooms, a fab pool and playground area, and excellent employees!!! the employees go above and beyond and I was so pleased with our latest stay!!

Room Tip: The whole area is nice and quiet for being on a somewhat busy street due to the season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank cemetree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHM_Manager, General Manager at Bar Harbor Motel, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you. And thank you for coming back again and again. There are a lot of lodging options available in Bar Harbor and we can't thank you enough for choosing us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upper Gwynedd
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Great location. Great room. Manager bent over backwards to make our stay pleasant.
It's far enough from town but close enough to be convenient. Good free breakfast. Manager knows the area like the back of his hand.

Room Tip: Try ti stay in the back away from the traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marvin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This is your traditional old fashion motel that has been updated and in excellent condition. The value for the room considering location cannot be beat. The rooms are very well maintained, bathrooms pristine. My only criticism would be the bedding. The beds are nothing special and the sheets are a little scratchy.... but that is the hotel snob coming out in me! Most important it is extremely clean We would definitely stay here again. We had a room with a patio and it was so relaxing at night and early in the morning soaking in the fresh air and tranquil surrounding. Complimentary continental breakfast bar was an additional perk and the staff was very pleasant and helpful!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank maradventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Perfect Location near Bar Harbor --it was right on the bus route if you want to fight the parking in town . Good complimentary breakfast. Great staff all around. The best value and price to quality ratio in the Town.

Room Tip: We had a room in the Patio section in the back and it was great. We would stay in that section again...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Harry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Rooms were clean and big, breakfast there was good, the kid that was working the breakfast rooms worked his butt off (think it was Brendon), great job. ONLY issue we hAd was our room was the farthest from the office and was quite a hike, and coming back was up a substantial hill.

Room Tip: Close to office
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHM_Manager, General Manager at Bar Harbor Motel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
His name is Bohdan and he is from Ukraine and he is a tremendously hard worker and keeps the breakfast area clean and stocked. Truly, there is no one like him in Bar Harbor. We are blessed to have him on our staff. Thanks for noticing his hard work.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,621 reviews
0.0 mi away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#16 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
3.4 mi away
Best Western Acadia Park Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bar Harbor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Motel

Property: Bar Harbor Motel
Address: 100 Eden St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1106
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#3 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Bar Harbor Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
84 Ground level rooms spaced amid 14 acres of lawn and trees. Featuring 2-Bedroom Family units for up to 6 people or rooms with 1 King or 2 Queen beds. All rooms feature full bath, A/C, mini refrigerators, irons, hairdryers, free in room high speed internet and all non-Smoking. Free continental breakfast. Free enclosed bicycle locker. Direct Trail access to Acadia National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Bar Harbor Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Hotel Bar Harbor
Bar Harbor Motel Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing