We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cute, clean, comfortable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bar Harbor Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bar Harbor Motel
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Burke, Virginia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Cute, clean, comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

Definitely lives up to its great reviews! Lots of little details that show they are in the hospitality business for all the right reasons. I emailed before we came to tell them about my daughter's asthma, and Aaron responded right away. They put us in a room at the top of the hill which was dry and perfect for us. This is a great property - big enough to have amenities like a laundry room (laundry after a week on the road is priceless!), but spread out enough to have a small-place feel. If walking is a thing for you, do contact them to let them know - we were at the back of the property and loved being up high next to the trail access for Acadia. We did not mind the walk downhill for breakfast - we enjoyed it, actually, and it just took a few minutes. But I can see where it would be hard if walking is an issue for people. The breakfast is great - an easy way to start the day, and the selection was larger than I expected (my kids had muffins, bagels, cereal, hard boiled eggs, yogurt and fruit). The guy working in the breakfast room was fantastic - never stopped moving to keep everything fresh and the tables clean. We had a family room, and it was nice to spread out into two rooms plus a bathroom. Having the shuttle stop outside the motel was incredibly convenient - the shuttle system here is brilliant and it was great to leave the car behind for a couple days. The wifi worked great in the room. I hope we make it back to Bar Harbor, and if we do I will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Do let them know if you want to be close to the front of the property (flat, and near breakfast/pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VAEllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHM_Manager, General Manager at Bar Harbor Motel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for this gracious review. We're glad that you and your family enjoyed a nice holiday with us. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,540 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,002
    470
    58
    10
    0
See reviews for
696
525
34
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Thanks to TA we found this motel. Very good location, bus stops at the door or it's a 10-15 min walk to town. We booked a 2 room family suite for 4 nights, very large bathroom, impeccably clean. The grounds and pool are very clean and well kept. Good cont breakfast, they had a full time person cleaning up after everyone and restocking. Staff was very helpful. Wi fi was poor but that happens at other hotels on the island. Would be nice to have picnic tables located near the upper buildings. Wish we could had stayed longer but they were booked. We had to change to another hotel which was inferior. We would definitely recommend the BH Motel.

Room Tip: The buildings at the top of the hill have better wifi and are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cordobesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHM_Manager, General Manager at Bar Harbor Motel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for the generous review. Your idea of providing picnic tables for the buildings at the back of the property is an excellent one and something we should have thought of ourselves. Thank you, and we will definitely make this change for next season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

Just leaving after a 6 night stay. overall good find-- friendly staff, good continental breakfast, and good proximity to downtown. The drawback was lack of wifi in room--- needed to go into lobby to get consistent free service, so this was a hassle--- in description it says-- wifi should work in rooms doesn't say will !! be aware!!--- pool setting is nice

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryKate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHM_Manager, General Manager at Bar Harbor Motel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
As we've discussed in previous posts we understand the wifi does not work in all rooms on a consistent basis. What we are finding after this latest round of changes by the IT team is that most of property seems to be okay but that there are still some weak points for which they are now developing a plan to fix. Thank you for staying with us and we promise to make this a priority for next season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sainte-Julie, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

Was there in August with 3 other couples. We loved the huge rooms, and that we were very private with the configuration of the motel. Management were very accommodating & didn`t charge our friends for the night when they had to go unexpectedly to Bangor hospital to do translation service. Only negative, could use an extra toaster in the breakfast room. Had to send my bagel through 4 times.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHM_Manager, General Manager at Bar Harbor Motel, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
It was not an issue for us to let your friends check out late with no charge. Our only hope is that she got the care she needed and is now feeling better. We check the settings on our toaster before we open each morning and then periodically throughout breakfast; however, there are guests that alter the settings (even though we've taken all the knobs off) and we suspect you got caught in between one of these alterations and before the breakfast person was able to spot it. We apologize for this and will keep ever vigilant on those settings. Thanks for the generous review and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

So when we travel with our kids we normally hit the chains and find a deal with free breakfast. But there is no such thing in Bar Harbor, Maine. So we used the rank the hotels at tripadvisor and looked for the one that rates high but priced reasonable ( $150/nt). BINGO Bar Harbor Motel! DOUBLE BONUS : They offer a continental breakfast. This method never fails! We called and talked to Amanda and Kate to reassure that they were kid friendly and they provided the lay of the land and proximity to the entrance to Acadia ( less then a mile up the road and also entrance in the back of the property). Our kids loved the friendly folks at the front desk. First impression of the room was 1970 Holiday Inn. When you walk into the bathroom you are in a trendy boutique hotel. They had the best soaps and lotions of any hotel we stayed at on a 12 day trip. They even had a black hand towel for make up removal ! They had a heat lamp a fan and a night light in the bathroom. Amazing. We did laundry and only place we went that all the machines were working whole trip! Only complaint was the only place you can get wifi was sitting right up against the front windows of the room.

Room Tip: Pool is in front of complex and rooms near there are very close to pool and park and breakfast hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe90123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHM_Manager, General Manager at Bar Harbor Motel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Great idea for finding the place you want at the price you want. Glad you chose us and that we were able to exceed most of your expectations and by the sounds of it even did a little better in some aspects than the chain hotels you stayed on during your trip. We appreciate the kind words and hopefully will see you and your family again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Fast check-in, I stayed in the back so the room was so quiet. That was wonderful for me.
Front desk was very helpful and told us a lot of information. It was very close to Acadia National Park. We got up early to say the first sun rise in USA.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHM_Manager, General Manager at Bar Harbor Motel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Glad you and your family had a pleasant stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
120 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

We rented 2 family rooms at this Motel and were very please with our experience. While the price is a bit high (as you can expect for any place in Bar Harbor), the rooms are kept clean and the customer service is very nice. We will definitely consider this place again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room towards the back of the property to get some quiet time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHM_Manager, General Manager at Bar Harbor Motel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for the kind words. Please consider us again in the future if you and your family come back to Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.1 mi away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#16 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
3.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bar Harbor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Motel

Property: Bar Harbor Motel
Address: 100 Eden St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1106
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#3 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Bar Harbor Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
84 Ground level rooms spaced amid 14 acres of lawn and trees. Featuring 2-Bedroom Family units for up to 6 people or rooms with 1 King or 2 Queen beds. All rooms feature full bath, A/C, mini refrigerators, irons, hairdryers, free in room high speed internet and all non-Smoking. Free continental breakfast. Free enclosed bicycle locker. Direct Trail access to Acadia National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bar Harbor Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Hotel Bar Harbor
Bar Harbor Motel Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing