We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top Notch B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bass Cottage Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bass Cottage Inn
Ranked #9 of 31 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Holbrook, NY
Level Contributor
150 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Top Notch B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

Beautiful and elegant B&B located in a great location in town but off the main thoroughfare. The common rooms are very nicely restored with a comfortable and relaxed atmosphere. The owners are friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. They really make you feel like a guest in their home! Our room (#3) was very roomy and comfortable. I never noticed bedding before. Here it was a luxurious pillow top bed.Sleep comes easily within minutes. Lastly, the breakfasts were extraordinary. Having 3 choices each day is nice, especially since my wife is not a hot breakfast person. The muffins were great (especially the blueberry). I especially enjoyed the blueberry waffles. The only breakfast let down was the sausage which, to me, tasted more like a hot dog than a breakfast sausage. While I have only stayed in a half dozen or so B&B's over the years, and I have stayed in some that were very nice, this one was by far the best. Highly recommended. It may be a little more expensive than some others but you won't find a better B&B anywhere.

Room Tip: Room 3 was very large and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mitchm11741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    509
    25
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
33
435
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the BCI in July and it was one of the best B&B's we have ever stayed at. We were warmly greeted by Terri and she promptly showed us around and offered us dinner suggestions. Room 8 was very cozy and quiet and there a lot of common areas to sit around and relax. Location could not have been any better, right off main street but still very private.
Breakfasts were wonderful and they had drinks and snacks out during the day. The staff were all polite and friendly. This is the place to stay in Bar Harbor.....but make sure you leave me a room!

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mc423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

We stayed at the Bass Cottage Inn for three nights in July for our honeymoon. We can't say enough good things about the stay. The breakfast was excellent- you have three different options, and everything we tried was great. The owners and staff were great- everyone was very friendly and we really enjoyed chatting with everyone. We stayed in room 3, which was very large, and had a large bathroom attached. The bed was very comfortable and even though the room was in the front of the house, it was quiet in the morning.
We would have loved to stay longer, but will definitely be back

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristyB10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallingford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
74 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

We stayed for three nights at the end of June for our honeymoon. Great location, amazing decor, delicious breakfast. Terri even made me gluten free scones two of the three mornings! (Somehow the message of my wheat allergy didn't get delivered the first morning), but she did apologize and the next two mornings the scones were some of the best I have ever had, gluten free or not. One day there was not a breakfast option that was wheat-free, so they made me an omelet specially.
Our room was beautiful and huge and felt very private.
Not inexpensive, but I didn't feel that it was exorbitant given what we got.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bflygrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, CT
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

This is an oasis amid the bustle of Bar Harbor. The location is just off Main Street, but you would never know it. The owners have done an amazing job with the layout, decor and the feeling of this place. The breakfasts are wonderful. I had the lightest lemon pancakes I have ever had. I appreciate that there was coffee available in the guest pantry at 6:00 am when I went out for an early morning walk. The breakfast room is set up with individual tables for the guests, so if you are not a fan of interacting with strangers first thing in the morning, this is your place.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CTDave75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

We spent three nights earlier this month at the Inn. i have to admit that my heart was in my throat while the proprietress showed us around the common rooms on the ground floor, as they had such classic styling that I half expected to find a couple of the "Little Women" sisters around each corner. However, the rooms themselves were a lovely combination of modern conveniences done in antique styling. We could not have been more comfortable in our room and the breakfasts were exquisite. The Inn serves dinner several nights per week and their dinner was the best of all the restaurants at which we ate during our stay. If your travels take you to Bar Harbor, I highly recommend that you stay in Bass Cottage Inn and that you eat dinner here one night. It will be a treat that you long remember.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angelyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level Contributor
284 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 442 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

This place is so good I don’t want to tell anyone about it for fear it will be full the next time I want come back.

I felt like I was wandering around my own big house in the morning and evening. The public rooms are many, spacious and beautifully decorated. I would wake up like clockwork around 4:15 a.m. every morning and go downstairs and sit with a cup of coffee and write in my travel journal.

When I first looked out my window, I saw rooftop and trees and thought it was an o.k. view. While lying in bed and waking up to a pink sky behind the tree line, it became wonderful.

The breakfasts are truly gourmet and stick to your ribs for a while. I wished I had of gotten to stay one more day because I would have tried the healthy platter with fruit, yogurt and homemade granola. One lady next to me ordered it and it looked absolutely delicious.

Did I mention the beds are pillow top? It is heavenly to sleep on. There are 4 pillows per bed – I love lots of pillows. A light comes on in the closet which I have always liked when trying to find clothes in the morning.

There is a guest refrigerator in the pantry area and you can request buckets of ice. They have Coke, Diet Coke and Sprite. Check out the great snacks!

The location for this B&B could not be any better!!! Step right outside and you are but a few steps from Main Street and numerous places to eat and shop and yes, kayaking offices are all close by because they are not located at the end of town they are in the middle of the action. The harbor is also just down the block.

JUST COULD NOT BE ANY BETTER.

I ate at 10 Tables one night and will post a review soon. Also, a great place to eat dinner.

My only irks are these: there is no road sign telling you where THE FIELD is. The road is next to a bank. My GPS found it but I still rely on road signs because my GPS had me lost twice in Maine. I went by it the first time as a result and had to circle around again through a huge crowd.

The other is the shower in room 6 is kind of small. I kept hitting the door with my elbows when washing my hair. Otherwise the bathroom is huge.

Something that might irk you was one could hear the staff in the kitchen and on the back porch around 7:00 a.m. It was of no concern to me since I was already up but if you are a late sleeper who likes dead quiet you might want to try another room (I was in #6).

You might want to ask them where the location of your would-be room is. I ‘think’ rooms 8 and 10 had an external entrance up a few flights. This might be a concern if you have lots of luggage or heavy luggage.

Whatever room you pick, you will not regret your decision.

Room Tip: ask about location of room if it might be a concern
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HazelEyesFromTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BassCottage, Owner at Bass Cottage Inn, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
We are so happy the guest who wrote this carefully considered review gave us such high marks. She was with us for several days and got a chance to fully experience all that we do to help our guests enjoy themselves. A couple of comments based on this guest's observations:

1) our location is great -- centrally located but tucked in a quiet enclave off of Main St. near the harbor. So, we can be hard for some to find. That's why we provide a link to Directions (text and map) in an email that goes out to arriving guests 5 days before they check in. A GPS system works fine, but guests should also print out the directions if they are concerned.

2) Room 6 - this guest's room for her stay - is one of our most popular rooms and normally very quiet. However, on one day during the guest's stay one of our kitchen staff was having an emergency family phone call outside and, unfortunately, could be heard in the guest's room. Staff have been reminded that we provide a comfortable and QUIET environment for our guests. I don't expect further issues as our staff are very responsible and customer-focused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,587 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.2 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#9 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#17 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bass Cottage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bass Cottage Inn

Property: Bass Cottage Inn
Address: 14 The Fld, PO Box 242, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern. Maine. Classic. Bar Harbor's finest boutique inn. Yankee Magazine "Best of New England / Editors' Choice" award winner. Member of the Diamond Collection. Bar Harbor's premier luxury inn featuring sophisticated, elegant accommodations and gourmet breakfasts. Located steps from the waterfront, shopping, restaurants and just minutes from Acadia National Park. Fireplaces, whirlpool tubs and free WiFi. Open mid-May through end of October each year. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bass Cottage Hotel Bar Harbor
Bass Cottage Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing