We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time, still outstanding”
Review of Bass Cottage Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bass Cottage Inn
Ranked #4 of 29 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2013

This B&B is one of our favorite anywhere. We stayed here last year as well so this is an update. The place is still immaculate and the service is phenomenal. Terri and Jeff, the owners, are wonderfully friendly and helpful. We also received excellent help and very pleasant conversations with Susan who works there in the afternoons. Best fresh afternoon snacks, bar none, at any B&B. The breakfasts are delicious and varied. Much appreciated is the daily offering of 3 options. Great fresh baked goods. Wonderful. This year we stayed in Room #6. It was a little small but immaculately clean (wife likes extra space for her yoga exercises). Fresh, comfortable and clean bedding. Very nice period type furniture. Comfortable bed. Nice weight towels and spotless, large bathroom. Water pressure was low in the shower but, frankly, I am used to my high volume, high pressure shower at home. Our preference was for the much larger room #3. It was not available during our time slot. If you like space, can swing a few extra $$ and it is available, I would try for #3. Next year, we will shoot for the larger room but the small room was fine too. Frankly, by the time we get back to the room after a day on the trails and a big dinner, we simply collapsed. Nice new addition this year is free wine and cheese at 6:00 PM. We got there one night. Missed it the other nights. Oh... and don't miss the bowl of chocolates in the living room. We didn't.

This place is a definite keeper and we will hopefully return next year.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank mitchm11741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BassCottage, Owner at Bass Cottage Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2013

Ralph Waldo Emerson once said 'a foolish consistency is the hobgoblin of little minds.' "Little minds" aside, we strive for consistent excellence so that our many repeat guest are rarely disappointed. Nothing foolish about it!

Thanks to these folks for their repeat business and taking the time to share their experiences with other Tripadvisor readers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (613)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 613 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2013

This was our 3rd visit to the Bass Cottage Inn and it never disappoints. As soon as we left, we keep thinking about how we can't wait to come back next summer! For this trip we were able to stay for 5 nights, and it was so awesome! I can't really say enough about how beautiful and great the inn is and the breakfast is delicious! We are also complete germaphobes and have a difficult time feeling comfortable in most hotels. We feel like we are at home in the Bass Cottage Inn. It is so clear that the inn is super well-cared for and Jeff and Teri are so nice and truly care about making each guests' stay wonderful!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dancing41nancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BassCottage, Owner at Bass Cottage Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

We can get no better endorsement than guests who like to come back again and again. And, it's great to see 'old friends' walk back in through our front door.

Cleanliness is our mantra here at The Bass Cottage Inn. It's the foundation upon which everything is based. Our rooms are double-inspected before guest check in. The effort is worth it when we know our guests are as comfortable as they can be.

See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

True gem in the heart of town. We received a warm welcome upon arrival & were given the option of receiving a tour about its history along with FAQs of Bar Harbor. Our room was #8 and although on the smaller side (and thus less expensive) this was overlooked as a result of the room quality. The owners have given attention to every detail. The furnishings, linens, bathroom amenities were all very nicely done. The main house had been updated while maintaining its charm. A nice pantry was stocked with water, sodas, coffee, tea & freshly baked goods. A gourmet breakfast was offered with usually 3 different options to choose from. That being said, the kitchen accommodated each morning to my dietary restrictions & customized my meal. The evening wine hour was also accompanied by a creative dish. Jim & Teri were available each morning to offer suggestions for planning the day. The Inn also offers a wide selection of DVDs, books, magazines & board games which can be used in various areas of the main house or in your room. Lastly, the location can't be beat. The Inn offers parking & is walking distance to all the restaurants & shops as well as the water. Would definitely recommend & revisit! Thania, Boston, MA

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thania W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BassCottage, Owner at Bass Cottage Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Thanks to these Bostonians for staying with us at The Bass Cottage Inn. We put great effort into all the little details that make up our hospitality and it's great when they are appreciated by guests. Come back and visit again...book ahead for a larger room with a fireplace and jacuzzi, perhaps?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Approximately one month ago, my husband and I returned home from our tenth visit to the Bass Cottage Inn. We continue to be eternally grateful to Jeff and Teri for having the insight and determination to create this spectacular, one of a kind, "home away from home" in Bar Harbor. Together, and with their staff, they have continued to maintain very high standards, as well as to provide genuine warmth, kindness, and hospitality to those of us who have been fortunate enough to have discovered this very special gem. We have been blessed!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank regretful-9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BassCottage, Owner at Bass Cottage Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Thanks so much to these folks for staying with us and writing such as nice review. It is WE who are blessed to meet such nice people in our line of work. We realize that all business people aren't so lucky. Please come back and visit again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

My wife and I stayed at the inn for five wonderful nights. The atmosphere is special, the staff is professional and very friendly, the delicious breakfasts are an unbelievable way to start a day of exploration on the island, and the evening wine get togethers for guests are the perfect way to conclude the day and prepare for dinner. Each afternoon upon returning from a busy day, we could not resist stopping in the refreshment area (open 24 hours) for a homemade snack.

The owners, Teri and Jeff, have created something very special. As we ended our stay, we gave Teri and Jeff our only advice: "change nothing!"

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Keith K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BassCottage, Owner at Bass Cottage Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

We are so happy that this couple enjoyed their stay with us at The Bass Cottage Inn, Bar Harbor. While we acknowledge and appreciate the guest's advice to "change nothing", we are always polishing the apple, so to speak, to make guests' stays better and better.

Thanks for taking your time to share your Bass Cottage Inn experiences with other Tripadvisor users.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

What a great place! I can't say enough about how comfortable we felt during our stay. The inn is a classic beauty, and the hosts are the best ever. Jeff, Teri, and Susan all were extremely helpful with anything we needed. The room was perfect, as were the breakfasts. The little extras like cold sodas and fresh baked goods all day were a very nice touch. We enjoyed talking with the other guests over wine and appetizers on the glassed-in front porch after a full day of hiking, sight seeing, and shopping.

The Bass Cottage Inn is the only place we'll stay on Mt Desert now that we've found it. Recommendations on where to eat were spot on and they even made the reservations for us (we also think we got the best table in the restaurant when they made the reservations).

Mike & Cindy, Highlands Ranch, CO

Room Tip: Because the inn is located well off the street, there was no traffic noise, so there's no need t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BassCottage, Owner at Bass Cottage Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

We'd like to thank Mike and Cindy from Colorado for their review and for selecting The Bass Cottage Inn. As we learned 10 years ago when we started the Inn - small details matter. These guests appreciated the little kindnesses we offer to make our guests' stay special.

Thanks again for your business...we do hope to see you again when you're back 'home' in Maine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Trust us...this is the best one to stay in! It is an old inn with a rich history, but with a restored and updated look. It was refreshing to see beautiful decor that was clearly put together with class! It wasn't the stereotypical Victorian bed and breakfast....it was better! We researched this thoroughly, and we were thrilled with our decision...you will be too! It was in walking distance to everything...literally a block to town (charming downtown) and a block to the waterfront. Gourmet breakfast by an incredible chef each morning. Perfect. -----A and D from NJ

Room Tip: Incredibly clean and wonderful rooms. Very quiet and peaceful stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alison d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BassCottage, Owner at Bass Cottage Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

We are so pleased that these folks from NJ selected our inn for their Maine holiday. We're also please they appreciated our modern, Maine style. As the reviewer noted, you won't find Victorian frills at The Bass Cottage Inn ... and that's by design. We avoided Victorian excess while focusing on stylish, tasteful and soothing decor. Our guests seem to like it, and that's what counts.

Thanks for taking the time to share your experiences with others. We hope to see you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 42 in Bar Harbor
1,776 reviews
0.2 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#9 of 42 in Bar Harbor
389 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#5 of 42 in Bar Harbor
1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.4 mi away
Saltair Inn Waterfront B&B
Saltair Inn Waterfront B&B
#3 of 29 in Bar Harbor
639 reviews
5.6 mi away
Coach Stop Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bass Cottage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bass Cottage Inn

Address: 14 The Fld, PO Box 242, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1801
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range: £150 - £272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern. Maine. Classic. Bar Harbor's finest boutique inn. Yankee Magazine "Best of New England / Editors' Choice" award winner. Member of the Diamond Collection. Bar Harbor's premier luxury inn featuring sophisticated, elegant accommodations and gourmet breakfasts. Located steps from the waterfront, shopping, restaurants and just minutes from Acadia National Park. Fireplaces, whirlpool tubs and free WiFi. Open mid-May through end of October each year. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bass Cottage Hotel Bar Harbor
Bass Cottage Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing