We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect spot to enjoy Bar Harbor and explore Acadia” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bass Cottage Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bass Cottage Inn
Ranked #9 of 31 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nixa, Missouri
1 review
“Perfect spot to enjoy Bar Harbor and explore Acadia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Bass Cottage Inn is beautifully renovated and maintained! The owners are fantastic as is the breakfast and other perks. We were looking for somewhere to stay and be within walking distance of most of Bar Harbor, yet quickly get to lots of spots in Acadia National Park. This was our first trip and we picked a great spot!! The photos of the rooms are great and their website is very well done.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan_M_adventurist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BassCottage, Owner at Bass Cottage Inn, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thanks to these nice folks for sharing their experience at the Bass Cottage Inn. Our location is one of our best assets - on a quiet lane but walking distance to everything you need. Thanks also for the shout-out on our new website. All the work was well worth it given all the guest comments. Come back and see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    509
    25
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
33
435
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

This was our first visit to Bar Harbor, and the owners and staff at this terrific B&B made us feel right at home. The Inn itself is a recently renovated "cottage" with beautiful common spaces, a pantry with water, coffee, tea and homemade snacks, and comfortable rooms. The location couldn't be better, on a quiet side road but just a block away from all the shops, restaurants, and waterfront of the town. And the breakfast was delicious, with Terri the owner and chef checking in on everyone and offering recommendations for activities and dining around Mount Desert Island. Wine and snacks are served every evening, with the friendly guests comparing hikes, restaurants, and travel info. Little touches like a full carafe of water in the room and Cable TV channel guide were appreciated, as well as use of their extensive library and handy guidebooks. And the adirondack chairs outside were a nice place to relax with a book and a glass of wine after a long day in the National Park. Note: We travelled with 2 teenagers, but most of the guests were couples. Just a wonderful place to stay.

Room Tip: The Verbena room is huge; with a king bed and a jacuzzi tub. Lots of windows keep it cool with cross...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerilyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BassCottage, Owner at Bass Cottage Inn, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Many thanks to this nice family from NYC who had a great time in downeast Maine. We love to help our guests relax, feel at home and get the most out of their visit to Bar Harbor. It's gratifying to owners and staff when guests appreciate what we do. Thanks for sharing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

My newly husband and I stayed here for a mini honeymoon as recommended by a friend. Light and beautiful room - we stayed in #9 the salt and pepper room - it was private and quaint - breakfast each morning was top notch and meeting Terri and Jeff the owners during breakfast made the stay even better. Everyone congratulated us on being newlyweds and the snacks - well my husband drank 1/2 the Half-and-half one evening with about 5 oat meal raisin cookies - in his words 'to die for'. Not sure any other 'inn' will ever compare. Will definitely revisit upon our anniversary(ies).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BassCottage, Owner at Bass Cottage Inn, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Many thanks to these guests for their kind review (we love lots of exclamation points!!!!) and their appreciation for our freshly baked oatmeal raisin cookies. Please come see us again on your next anniversary. Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Bass Cottage Inn was one of the best places we've ever stayed. The location is perfect - a block walk to Bar Harbor's main street or the waterfront. Every detail was attended to including the fine decor with many modern influences amongst fine antiques. Breakfast was an outstanding work of art each day and the guest pantry had a great variety of beverages and fresh baked sweet treats available 24/7. Pillow top mattresses combined with pillow top mattress covers made for the most comfortable beds. We stayed in the Thyme room. Just perfect.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJAshworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BassCottage, Owner at Bass Cottage Inn, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Many thanks to these nice folks from Ohio to stay with us AND take the time to share their impressions of the Bass Cottage Inn with other travelers. We're especially glad they enjoyed our convenient location - on a quiet lane in the heart of the village near the waterfront. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollywood, FL
Level Contributor
99 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

This B&B has a fantastic location (right off main street just steps from the water). While you don't get much interaction with the owners, when you de see them in the morning, they are both helpful, pleasant and knowledgable. Terri is an absolute sweetheart not to mention an amazing chef. The breakfasts, and I'm not big on breakfast, were scrumptious to say the least. Just thinking about them now is making me hungry. The inn has various public spaces to enjoy such as a library and pantry. They offer water, coffee, tea, soda, fruit and daily baked treat everyday at all hours. It was a very nice touch. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The only slight negative is they don't always run the a/c. That being said, I would highly recommend sating at the Bass Cottage Inn.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElmurFud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BassCottage, Owner at Bass Cottage Inn, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Many thanks to these nice folks from Florida for choosing the Bass Cottage Inn for their holiday. We're especially glad that they appreciated our breakfasts and unparalleled location. We do note that they had a 'slight negative' with regard to our use of the A/C. The weather during their stay in early June was quite cool and damp - in fact, we had the heat on! Travelers should rest assured that we certainly use the A/C all time during the warm weather months.

Thanks for taking the time to share your experiences at the Bass Cottage Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Berwick, Maine
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

We have been to Bar Harbor many times and stayed in several B&B's, but the Bass Cottage Inn is definitely the most charming and inviting of all. The staff is so welcoming and attentive, the breakfasts are amazing and the rooms are lovely and immaculate. There is always some fresh baked goody or fruit and drinks available and at 6:00 they offer wines and some delicious appetizer on the porch. You are only steps away from the shops, restaurants and pier so the location is fantastic! We highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SZandSZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BassCottage, Owner at Bass Cottage Inn, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Many thanks to these guests from southern Maine for staying with us and taking the time to comment on their wonderful stay at the Bass Cottage Inn. We do get guests from literally all over the world but we especially love to see fellow Mainers enjoy their own state. Thanks again and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Charming, Immaculate, Lovely, Cozy - Perfect. I can't find enough positive adjectives to describe this inn. From the moment we walked in, we were greeted with such friendliness and professionalism, we were already impressed. We were given a tour of the grounds and a brief history of the town and the inn itself. I loved the attention to detail the owners obviously paid to every room and hallway - from the art on the walls to the furniture pieces, I could tell they were extremely meticulous.

Our bedroom smelled so fresh when we walked in - it was as if they sprayed it with the ocean! Everything was so clean, we felt right at home. And it was so well lit (except for the light with the fan which we didn't even need to use). In all my reviews - I'm a stickler for lighting and even when a place is clean but uses fluorescent white lighting, I don't like it. This place was lit very well and at night, the room was still bright, beautiful and cheerful, and they did not neglect this in the bathroom! (which many hotels unfortunately do)

Wine hour was very pleasant each evening, served with light and tasty snacks. Breakfast blew our minds away. I'm a big foodie - lover of Michelin starred restaurants, and I was very impressed with the gourmet breakfasts we had each day. Ducktrap scramble, the most amazing omelet with mushrooms and caramelized onions, lemon ricotta pancakes...I wish I could wake up to that everyday! Then, the fully stocked pantry truly was fully stocked everyday. We helped ourselves to hot coffee and tea even at late hours of the night. And the cookies and sweets there were dangerous - good thing we hiked everyday so as to not feel guilty for how much we ate!

Lastly of course, the service - we felt like Jeff and Terri were our friends. And of course Susan, the first assistant who gave us the introduction. All the staff were so genuinely friendly and knowledgeable of the area. Terri gave us great suggestions for which trails to hike at Acadia and we were very glad we listened!

We loved every moment here and have already been sharing our great experience with all our friends and family, and we hope to come back soon!!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 6 (Sage) and found it just as pictured - bright, soothing, beautiful and clean. Gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BassCottage, Owner at Bass Cottage Inn, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
While it's not exactly our mission to set new standards for other B&Bs to meet, we do strive to deliver on our mission: friendly, helpful, clean and complete - meeting or exceeding every expectation. In our over 11 years as hands-on innkeepers we have learned through experience that details matter. Inn guests are discerning. They are looking for the 'exceptional' not the 'cookie-cutter' approach of larger big-box hotels.

It's gratifying and humbling with a busy guest such as Sharon takes the time to share in detail about their experience here at the Bass Cottage Inn. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,587 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
0.2 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#9 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
1.2 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.1 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#23 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bass Cottage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bass Cottage Inn

Property: Bass Cottage Inn
Address: 14 The Fld, PO Box 242, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern. Maine. Classic. Bar Harbor's finest boutique inn. Yankee Magazine "Best of New England / Editors' Choice" award winner. Member of the Diamond Collection. Bar Harbor's premier luxury inn featuring sophisticated, elegant accommodations and gourmet breakfasts. Located steps from the waterfront, shopping, restaurants and just minutes from Acadia National Park. Fireplaces, whirlpool tubs and free WiFi. Open mid-May through end of October each year. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bass Cottage Hotel Bar Harbor
Bass Cottage Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing