We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So close, yet so far away”
Review of The Bayview

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bayview
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
81 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“So close, yet so far away”
Reviewed 24 September 2012 via mobile

The Bayview is an easy walk to town. If you want to be away from the crowd and cruise ships, this is the place to stay. The property is lovely with stunning views of the Bay. The staff members are very welcoming and helpful. The common area is a lovely space. The guest rooms are huge, comfortable, and pristine. An ample breakfast is served every morning. You don't have to worry about parking or over imbibing. The shuttle service takes care of that. Explore the Northeast and Southwest Harbor areas. Bar Harbor's shops are geared for the cruise ships. Better shopping at the other harbors. The tranquil place to stay is the Bayview.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank celtslavozarkwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish04609, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this review, 27 September 2012
Thank you very much! I really appreciate your honest impression of our location. It is a beautiful walk to town. Not everyone likes to walk a mile but it is certainly not out of the way AND yes, this time of year it is an oasis from the crowds! Like you said, the shuttle is always there for our guests that don't want or are unable to walk. I also am very appreciative of our housekeeping staff and am pleased that so many of our guests have recognized their fine work! They do a wonderful job and with a smile. That is a really nice thing to see for everyone! So, thank you and please come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    715
    84
    18
    1
    1
See reviews for
222
447
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We stayed at the Bay View for a couple of nights. The staff are wonderfully welcoming and the rooms very well prepared and cleaned and the views lovely over the North part of Bar Harbor bay. Even though the hotel is within walking distance of Bar Harbor centre (say approx. a mile) they do a great service to take you into town and back again for restaurants etc. (it takes 5mins for this), the pickup later at night was quick and efficient. The breakfast appears to change each day and the food is interesting with plenty of choice on offer. I have nothing to fault the hotel. I have only a suggestion that eventually I recommend they upgrade their balcony rails to glass panels to take even greater advantage of the views, but this really is a minor point, thanks to all the staff at the Bay View, cheers, Jim

Room Tip: We stayed in a Queen room with view to the sea on the lower floor. These rooms are all the same thro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimboBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish04609, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Thank you for the lovely review. I totally understand and appreciate your suggestion about the railings. This past winter we replaced the decking off our dining room and when the railing was removed I asked the carpenter, "Can't we just leave it down and call it an infinity deck?". I guess we would get into a bit of trouble with the code enforcement but oh, the view! I will look into the glass option in the next upgrade, it would be pretty! Thank you again for taking the time to write. It is especially kind to note that you could find no fault. We would like every guest to feel that way. We do our best and that is all we can do! Please come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 September 2012

The Bayview is an ideal place for a wonderful vacation...rooms are so spacious...the service is wonderful: kind, considerate, happy, go out of their way to please...from Leslie,Thomas and Greg at the front desk--through Rebecca, the fabulous chef---and last but not least Ginger and Evelyn taking care of our room each day...the place was the cleanest we have ever experienced...the view from our first floor deck was a real treat...the deck was huge and we enjoyed each night watching the schooners sail the Frenchman Bay...the buffet breakfasts were the ultimate gourmet...something new and delicious each morning [all included in the rate for the room]...and then those homemade afternoon treats, all by Rebecca, were oh so good...we had to do a lot of hiking to keep the weight under control...when we were departing after a 4 night stay, Leslie volunteered to keep our luggage in her office so we could get in one more hike before we left...thank you all at the Bay View for a wonderful four nights...it is truly a "HAPPY" place...

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drumm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish04609, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this review, 23 September 2012
Thank you! I think it is very evident from your review that you had a terrific time. That is just the kind of review we love to get. You have made several people very "HAPPY" for taking the time to mention them and let them know how you appreciated what they do. Every person here adds to the final product of this happy place and I thank you for recognizing that! We will plan on seeing you here again and we will do our best to make you just as happy! Thank you very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
272 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Our room was quiet and had lovely views from the little terrace. It was a little dark as it was on one floor below the reception. the staff are all super friendly and helpful.

Breakfast was good but coffee a little on the weak side. The cooked stuff was heavy but very tasty.

Its a good 25 min walk to town but they drive you and pick you up whenever you want - no more than 10 mins wait.

Its not a fancy hotel (maybe 3 star) but I'd rather a well run 3 star anyday to a poorly run 4 star.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QQuietroomfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish04609, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this review, 22 September 2012
Thank you for the lovely review. I really personally appreciate the comments about how we operate and agree completely with your comments on ratings! We actually were a four star about 15 years ago and were dropped to a three because we didn't have vending on our 4th floor. That really cracked me up because we don't even have a 4th floor! I think it was then that I really learned that it is the little things, the attention to detail, the service and the kindness that makes us who we are. It is tending to our customers, one person at a time and actually getting to know most of them that makes people feel welcome. We don't get it right every time but we sure try and give it our best! Please come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
260 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We are so glad we booked this Inn for our 4 day stay in Bar Harbor. Great location away from the bustle of the town centre but only a 10 to 15 min walk. If you don't fancy the walk they will drive you there and pick you up ...no charge! If fact they couldn't do enough for us. The service was impeccable and so friendly......and the buffet breakfasts to die for. All rooms have ocean views and are extremely spacious and impeccably clean.Fantastic value. No hesitation in recommending this exceptional Inn. An all rounder. Didn't want to leave. Lovely staff, each and every one of them.

Room Tip: All rooms are similar and all have ocean views so really doesn't matter which one to choose from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tono_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish04609, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this review, 22 September 2012
An all rounder! I love it and we thought the same of you. Perhaps you should have stayed all season! I think your comments about all of the staff are genuine and very kind. It lets us know, and others that are reading this, that we do understand the hospitality business and kindness and service go a very long way. Please come back again and stay longer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We stayed at the end of August with our two boys, ages 9 and 11. We had a great time and really can't say enough about the staff and the views. The location was perfect, but I will admit the boys thought it was a little too quiet. It is not in town, which does make it very quiet and peaceful. The pool was nice. The breakfast in the morning was perfect. The staff was so attentive and really were the best part of staying here. The drivers were so helpful - it was so nice not to have to drive into town. We did the family fun package which was great. This was a wonderful vacation and would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cnbhuber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish04609, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this review, 21 September 2012
Thank you and I am glad you had such a nice family vacation. I love the fact that the boys thought it was a bit too quiet! It is also a great compliment to you that two boys ages 9 and 11 never made a peep that disturbed anyone else! It is off the beaten track but not out of the way and as you mentioned, the views are great! Thank you very much for staying with us and please come again. We'll do our best to keep everyone entertained!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

My husband and I agree with the very favorable ratings this hotel has received on TA. That said, it should be noted that the hotel does not have an elevator; those who have difficulty climbing stairs should reserve a room on the reception floor. It should be noted also that the hotel is a few miles from Bar Harbor. The property has a great breakfast but no restaurant; however, the manager we spoke with knows the town and was able to suggest several delightful places to eat.

Room Tip: If you have difficulty climbing stairs, ask for a room on the reception level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nbonbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish04609, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this review, 21 September 2012
Thank you for the wonderful review! I also want to thank you for the down to earth description of what we offer. I think people (okay, me for sure) sometimes speed read the details of things and then am surprised when I get there and see it. I also think many people read TripAdvisor so you have made it very clear how we are set up and where we are located AND let others know it is a good thing! Thank you for the kind words and we hope to see you again someday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
1.2 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#23 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bayview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bayview

Property: The Bayview
Address: 111 Eden St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1105
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Bayview 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Personalized friendly service, peaceful and quiet setting, spectacular views, close to downtown Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park. Spacious oceanfront hotel rooms with balconies, some family friendly, or larger two and three bedroom townhomes and house. Expanded continental breakfast, pool, shuttle service, fresh baked cookies, lounge and limited wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Bayview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bayview Hotel Bar Harbor
Bayview Bar Harbor
Bayview Hotel Bar Harbor
The Bayview Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing