We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best View In Maine”
Review of The Bayview

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bayview
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Joliet, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best View In Maine”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This was one of the best surprises of my trip . we stayed on the 3rd floor , king bed , biggest room ever . with a view that was second to none . Where else can you lie in bed see the ocean and then watch a sunrise on your own private balcony? Fresh cookies every day , Breakfast is included , Free Shuttle service to town till 11: 00 PM . The staff at the front desk was the best and most helpfuf ever .

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CT54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish04609, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you and we can't even take the credit! The view is spectacular, the rooms are big and the sunrises have been outstanding. I hope you also saw some of the sunsets this month. Beautiful reds and oranges that just illuminated everything around. We will take credit for the food and the staff though! Please come again and enjoy it all!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    736
    86
    18
    1
    2
See reviews for
232
462
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Delaware
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We had a lovely room (304) with a great view. The entire staff from the housekeeping crew, the kitchen staff, shuttle drivers and front desk personnel ( Thomas and Jocelyn ) are friendly and very accomodating. The breakfast was perfect with many danish, fresh fruit, cereal and a hot entree every day. Utilize the shuttle service - there was never a wait and the drivers are friendly and knowledgable. I would absolutely recommend this hotel if you are planning a trip to Bar Harbor.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank delawarecouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish04609, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
We could easily add to your title "Great Guests!" We have had so many wonderful guests this season. There hasn't been a day that there wasn't at least one returning guest in the crowd and many new "to be" returning guests are already booked for next year. Even with the Government shutdown of Acadia our guests remained pleasant and upbeat. In fact, a number of them commented how peaceful and quiet the Park was for walking and biking. (It has reopened as of 3 or so hours ago and the Loop Road will probably be bumper to bumper!) I will pass along the kudos to Jocelyn and Thomas and all of the staff. It was our pleasure to welcome you here and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forsyth, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This lovely resort was so personal it was like a wonderful bed and breakfast. This resort is alittle older but it is so quaint. After coming from a Double Tree Inn the night before, this place was a welcomed change.They were a "one cookie per quest per visit" hotel ( they kept them in a drawer behind the desk). So we were surprised when The Bayview offered us access to a whole platter of cookies and coffee too! The breakfast here was awesome! For a so called continental breakfast, I have never seen so many choices-and homemade! The bed was comfortable and the room very clean. I think the rooms could stand a little "updating" but it would not stop me from staying here again. This was our first trip to Maine ( we are from Missouri), but we are already talking about coming back somtime and staying here.

Room Tip: we liked staying next to the dining room because it was close to the coffee and the goodies! We thou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish04609, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you for the very complimentary review! I have decided I need to do a survey about our rooms. Some guests say we need to do some updating but I am not sure what they want updated. We are always buying new bed linens and towels, we have Kuerigs, microwaves, refrigerators, flat screen TV's and so on in the rooms. Guests have written that it is like visiting your grandmother and that is appropriate, I am a Grandmother! I've been here so long it is like home to me! So, if you hear from me this winter (through the contact link on TripAdvisor) please tell me what you would like to see changed. It is very important to me and all that staff that we provide what our guests want. In the meantime, we'll just keep serving the cookies and delicious breakfasts, continue treating our guests like family, make sure we give the best personal service we can and wait until you come back to stay again! Thank you so much for the terrific comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delaware
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We just spent 3 wonderful days at the Bay View in a 2 Queen with sofa bed room. This room was down 2 short flights of stairs and had good views of the water (note you cannot readily walk to the rocky shoreline, but this is Maine after all). The hotel is 1.3 miles to town and approx 2 miles to one of the Acadia Park entrances (although our visit was impacted by the closure). The beds are very comfortable, the bathroom has an optional heated vent (nice on chilly mornings) and the pastries and cookies that arrive at 2pm daily are incredibly good. Coffee and tea are available all day in the dining room. We could hear some folks walking around in the room above us and shower noise in the room next door but frankly it wasnt that bothersome. We did walk to town but it is a long slow incline over very cracked paving with alot of traffic so I would advise taking their courtesy shuttle. We had a rental car and when we ventured out finding a parking spot in the hotel lot was never an issue, however, mind the landmarks to find the entrance at night as traffic on the main road is quite heavy and making a quick turn can be tricky. The staff were wonderful-we are planning to come back again so we can truly enjoy all that Acadia has to offer and the Bayview would be our first choice.

Room Tip: When making a reservation ask for the specifics of the room you are reserving if stairs are an issue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scorpio117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish04609, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you very much! I'm with you. The location is just great. Close, but not too close, to everything. Downtown and Acadia are just a hop, skip and a jump away! The Park has reopened now and the good news is there are still beautiful leaves on the trees. The Island roads are always lovely so we still got to enjoy the colors without driving access into Acadia. You mentioned the cracked pavement on Route 3 and that is slated to be repaired by the state starting next year. I think the walk is really nice to town in the daytime but very difficult at night. I would also like to comment on your comment about the sounds above and around. You were honest in your assessment and that means a lot to me. We are not built of concrete and steel but are instead constructed in many ways like the cottages of old. A wooden structure, situated on a hill with lots of bathrooms and people. We do our best to make the rooms as soundproof as possible but all around us are the sounds of life. We'll keep trying to improve on that! You said you will be back...let us know how we are doing when you return!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We had a large room on the 2nd floor with a view over the bay. There was a small balcony to make the most of the view although it was too cool at this time of year to sit outside and make full use of it. The room was large if a little utilitarian. Well furnished but depressingly decorated, such a pity with a glorious view outside. The bathroom was functional but let down by poor water pressure. The morning view of sunrise was spectacular.

On a more positive note, the staff were excellent, helpful and informative, giving us information on how to access Acadia despite the government shutdown. The hotel does not do dinner but did afternoon cookies and an excellent breakfast. They will also drive you in and out of town, useful as it is a longish walk. We used their service to get into town for dinner but then walked back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coddfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish04609, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Thank you very much for your review of The Bayview. I have finally grasped the fact that it isn't possible to please everyone but we do our best. I have to say it is the first time anyone has ever used the term “depressingly decorated” or said we have poor water pressure. I know everyone has different tastes and preferences and am sorry ours weren’t what you had hoped for. I think we can all agree that the view is spectacular. We have been having some cold mornings and evenings so sitting on the deck may just be too chilly for some. I am glad that the sun has been shining despite the cloud of the Park shutdown. All of our staff enjoys what the island has to offer and we are happy to share our knowledge of the area. We hope you will return again someday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Rooms were very nice and clean. Morning breakfast was always good. Less than a mile walk into town. The best part is the shuttle van, very accommodating. Quiet rooms, very nice view of bay. Would stay again. stayed in king room in main part of the Inn.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RGT30076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish04609, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Thank you! I think we do offer a great value for what we have. There are very few hotels directly on the water in Bar Harbor. I believe we are the only one where all rooms have a full face-on view of the water and no matter what end of the building or what floor, every room has a spectacular view! Add that to the delicious breakfast, the complimentary shuttle service,the afternoon cookies and a staff that really does care...priceless! Thank you for staying, we hope to see you again someday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slidell, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I chose the Bayview after reviews on trip advisor, and was certainly not disappointed. The accommodations and staff was top notch. The location was perfect, not downtown, but certainly not far from it. You could either walk, or the bayview provided complimentary shuttle service. No worries about parking. I couldn't take my eyes off the view from our 2nd floor balcony overlooking Frenchman's Bay. The morning breakfast was great and included in the price. There was always cookies and other pastries, as well as, fresh picked apples available. Would definitely stay here again

Room Tip: Definitely request 2nd floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie2832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish04609, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you! I am amazed at the number of people that depend on TripAdvisor and am very pleased that we didn't disappoint you!! We know we can't please everyone, but now I think we have enough reviews that people get the gist of who we are and what we offer. Everyone that stays seems to have a favorite floor or room, favorite cookie and favorite breakfast item. I am just glad that even with Acadia closed, our guests are still having a wonderful time! No one can take away our view! Please come back again someday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,326 reviews
0.9 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#19 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,135 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
654 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#9 of 41 in Bar Harbor
452 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bayview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bayview

Property: The Bayview
Address: 111 Eden St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1105
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Bayview 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Personalized friendly service, peaceful and quiet setting, spectacular views, close to downtown Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park. Spacious oceanfront hotel rooms with balconies, some family friendly, or larger two and three bedroom townhomes and house. Expanded continental breakfast, pool, shuttle service, fresh baked cookies, lounge and limited wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Bayview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bayview Hotel Bar Harbor
Bayview Bar Harbor
Bayview Hotel Bar Harbor
The Bayview Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing