We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Epic review of The Bayview”
Review of The Bayview

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bayview
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Palm City, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Epic review of The Bayview”
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Every single five star review of this property is true...and more! The magic begins as you enter the property through a high gate and drive on a short, winding road through several wooded acres to reach The Bayview. After a friendly check-in with Amelia, we immediately knew that this was the place for us in Bar Harbor. Look no more. In the past, we had stayed in a wonderful Bed and Breakfast in the downtown area; we wanted to try a different experience and were quickly persuaded by hundreds of glowing Trip Advisor reviews.
Words do not adequately describe the customer service at The Bayview. Every employee went out of the way to make us feel valued and welcome. In all our travels, we have never experienced customer service like this. It felt genuine and sincere, not "canned" like at some very expensive hotels and resorts.
Our $159 rate was the deal of this year for us. We felt like we were VIP's throughout our two night stay. Special thanks to Thomas, Amelia, and Matt, although I would like to thank all the employees for their care and attention. They work together like a family.
The room....very spacious and immaculate with a drop-dead unobstructed, gorgeous view of Frenchman Bay. Breathtaking.
Some of the room amenities include: terrific water pressure in the shower, fresh flowers and a heater in the bath, Keurig, microwave, and refrigerator, ceiling fan, terry cloth robes, plenty of electrical outlets for our gadgets, reclining lounge chair, comfortable mattress and bedding.
We loved the location of the The Bayview, slightly out of town. Although a free shuttle is available, we opted to walk each way to justify eating all the baked goods at The Bayview. Any one who has stayed there quickly learns what 2:00 means. Yes, that huge tray of homemade cookies, at least 4-5 different types, each cookie is better than the last. I cannot imagine anyone practicing complete willpower passing this tray.
Breakfast. Delicious hot choices. Cold alternatives. Excellent homemade granola. A tray with at least 8-10 different choices of superb homemade baked goods, including bagels. Give this baker a substantial raise! My husband raved about the sliced tomatoes, claiming that they were the best tomatoes since his childhood. He mentioned to the friendly breakfast crew, Anne and Matt, that the only thing that could have improved those tomatoes would have been lox. Imagine his utter disbelief the following morning when he was served with a custom plate. Lox, kippers, diced egg, cream cheese and chives. Consummate customer service. My husband will be talking about this experience for the rest of his life.
Many, many thanks to everyone at The Bayview. We will continue to return to Bar Harbor with The Bayview as the destination, not Bar Harbor.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Patricia316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish04609, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Wow! It is an epic review and it is outstanding and we do love it! You mentioned just about everyone and everything and that makes us extremely pleased and proud! The customer service comments are sincere and very much appreciated. People say we go above and beyond, but as you point out, it is because we want to. Most times our guests are just as gracious in return. Perhaps the real key to our customer service is character. Let me tell you, we have some real characters here on our staff! One of them that oftentimes guests don’t get to meet is Nora. She is our chef and baker, the leader in the kitchen! The man that many see in the dining room is Matt, Nora’s husband. Nora would be out and about more, but she is busy cooking and baking! Matt does a terrific job as her wing-man, but please, make no mistake; Nora is the Queen of the kitchen. She has trained her husband well, although I should mention he has been a chef for years too! All of us here feel we have the "cream of the crop" with us with both of these extremely talented and personable people on our team! Anne has been a great new addition in the dining room as well as Amelia at the Front Desk. I think we are very lucky to find the staff that fits our style. I am glad you came and stayed with us, glad you called very early in the new year for the early booking special and very glad to know you will be back to stay again! Thank you very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    736
    86
    18
    1
    2
See reviews for
232
462
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We enjoyed a 3 day stay May 29, 30, 31 at the Bayview. Our large room, with a balcony, was on the second floor overlooking Frenchman's Bay. The room was clean, the bed very comfortable, it was quiet and the view was beautiful. Our last morning we saw a white-tailed doe and her very small fawn from our balcony. The breakfast was delicious, with fresh fruit, tomatoes (the tasty tomatoes were Maine grown), pastries (blueberry turnovers, banana bread, croissant, and more) hot/cold cereals, and egg dishes (the eggs benedict were wonderful). The variety of afternoon cookies were fresh baked everyday and were also delicious. The entire staff was sooooooo! friendly (desk staff, shuttle driver, breakfast chefs and waitstaff). It was nice to stay just slightly out of town and positioned perfectly to get to Acadia National Park. We loved our stay here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ViajeroTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish04609, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Thank you and we loved having you here! I am glad you were able to see the doe and fawn. We have been seeing the doe here morning, noon and night but I haven’t seen the fawn. It is so nice to just be able to relax and watch them. Add the wildlife to the view and that makes everything good! I will pass along your praise to all that work here, from the breakfast staff to housekeeping and front desk, bellmen and grounds. We always appreciate guests taking the time to write. Please come back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We followed Trip Advisor comments and tried this #1 rated Inn. We were not dissapointed as the Inn is located in a large green extension with a spectacular ocean view. Our nice and large room was ocean front with a balcony.We also had a fridge, a microwave and a modern Keurig cofee machine. Breakfast in the morning was very complete with cold and hot food. All the staff members were very kind and informative, specially Jocelyn at the front desk which informed on places to eat and things to do.They have a shuttle service to the town.It is located at only one mile of the Acadia National Park entrance.We highly reccomend it.

Room Tip: Make sure to choose an oceanfront room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Varyvolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish04609, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you! Your review reminds me of a commercial I saw, “if it is on the internet, it must be true”! It makes us all very pleased and proud when our guests agree with what they read online. Jocelyn is just great too. She, like everyone else that works here, knows that kindness begets kindness and there is never too much information when you are traveling to a new area. Everything you said was high praise to all of us and we thank you very much! Please come back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

We just spent two nights at the Bayview and everyone we came in contact with was exceptionally friendly and accommodating. The view from our balcony was great and the included breakfast was superior. It was our first trip to Acadia National Park and our stay at the Bayview made it a very memorable one.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish04609, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Short, sweet and to the point! We are glad you came, glad you liked it and especially glad you said “first trip”! I take that to mean you will be back and we look forward to making it another memorable visit for you. Thank you so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carpinteria, California
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We booked this because it was #1 on TA and it was certainly worth it - it looks better in person than in the pictures. The staff are just wonderful and make you feel welcome - I felt like I was staying at a friends house. The rooms are very large and the view is breathtaking. I would sit on the balcony of room 305 overlooking the water and just smile because it was just so beautiful. While there is a shuttle into town, we chose to explore and walk it (1.3 miles as they say) but it was comforting knowing that it was there if we needed it. I'm embarrassed that I only remember 2 names - Al who is one of the first people who greet you is gracious and kind man who will chat as much or as little with you and is more than happy to offer up some great places to see. The other person we encountered at the evenings cocktail hour was John. John will remind you of the guy in your town who would do anything for you - even if it was an inconvenience. While we sat at the bar he was very genuine about his own personal life and happy to share the ins-n-outs of the island and the places to make sure to visit. Funny story - He also works for the Parks department and one day, we went exploring and randomly turned into a park and we were astonished to see him there doing is other job. We chatted a bit and then went on our way.

Each morning there is an outstanding assortment of breakfast goodies. The property is close to Acadia, and I would strongly recommend that you take the advice of staff on where to eat. They gave us three recommendations that were superb - which was confirmed by some of the other locals we met in shops and in pubs. Couldn't have asked for a better all-around experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CA_dreamer__103066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish04609, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Wow – Thank you! A postcard is meant to be picture perfect and you said that was how it felt. What a wonderful compliment! The view is breathtaking and sometimes it takes a new set of eyes to remind us how lucky we are here. When you look at something every day you forget to really look at the whole picture. Then our guests let us know the high points like great staff (John is a terrific addition), spectacular views and delicious food and we remember why we like what we do. It is because we meet people like you…people that take the time to let us know that what we do does matter! It is the end goal of a wonderful vacation for you and a job well done for us. We won’t always make everyone happy but we will give it our all. Thank you again for telling it all and telling others about us. We couldn’t have asked for a better all-around experience either, we really enjoyed having you here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wheaton, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

If you are seeking a wonderful lodging experience In or near "Ba Haba", STOP and go no further. This is the place. My wife and I second every recent TA 5 star comments. It starts with the great staff of people that you would like to have as neighbors-- Jocelyn, Trish, Al, Dennis, Steph, Amelia, and the breakfast crew-- and then goes on to the cookies, delicious breakfast, spacious and homey room, great views, etc. Home away from home!

Room Tip: Bay view is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish04609, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Thank you! Sometimes we get a review and I know right away who wrote it. We shared some great laughs at the desk talking about your travels to places we knew from the movies. I think it was really a shame that you had such a short stay because you fit right in the moment you stepped through our doors! If your travels should bring you back in this direction we all truly hope you return to your home away from home. We will be waiting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

I read so many glowing reviews in advance of my stay and found the Bayview deserves them all. The staff were all friendly, gracious and helpful. The room was large, very comfortable and the entire facility is CLEAN and well maintained. The view from our room was lovely; we enjoyed the sounds of water and birds. Breakfast was tasty with a good variety to choose from- healthy options (hard boiled eggs, fruit and yogurt) as well as muffins, French toast and scones to indulge. We are so glad we stayed at the Bayview and absolutely recommend it. We didn't want to leave.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lauriejls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish04609, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
We have had such a great run of wonderful guests! I hope all the people that come here understand that they make our job easier by being so friendly and appreciative. We all like what we do and we like all the friends we have made over the years. The views can't be beat and whether it is sunny or foggy, it is beautiful. We try to meet each guest’s needs, from the healthy options to the "I am on vacation" options (that is the option where the calories don't count!) We are so glad you stayed at The Bayview and we look forward to the day that you return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,323 reviews
0.9 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#19 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,134 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
651 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#9 of 41 in Bar Harbor
451 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bayview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bayview

Property: The Bayview
Address: 111 Eden St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1105
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#1 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Bayview 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Personalized friendly service, peaceful and quiet setting, spectacular views, close to downtown Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park. Spacious oceanfront hotel rooms with balconies, some family friendly, or larger two and three bedroom townhomes and house. Expanded continental breakfast, pool, shuttle service, fresh baked cookies, lounge and limited wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Bayview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bayview Hotel Bar Harbor
Bayview Bar Harbor
Bayview Hotel Bar Harbor
The Bayview Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing