We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Bayview
Nearby Hotels
Acadia Inn(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$195
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$190
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$183
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$159
QualityInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bar Harbor Motel(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$141
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$195
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Atlantic Eyrie Lodge(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bar Harbor Inn(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$250
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$195
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$152
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quimby House Inn(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$131
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (880)
Filter reviews
880 results
Traveller rating
767
90
18
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
767
90
18
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshuttle servicecookieson demandhotel shuttlebay viewevery afternooneggs benedictpicnic lunchfree shuttlein townhomemade pastriesfrenchman baythe entire staffthe hotel offersacadia national parkroom was largethird floor
Filter
Updating list...
334 - 339 of 880 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We look for location, cleanliness, friendliness of staff and fair pricing. Bayview garnered 5 stars for every category! Staff was always helpful with information on hiking locations, restaurants, driving directions. As we were hiking everyday it was most beneficial to have an Acadia Park Ranger on staff to give expert instruction on trails. The manager is a longtime resident of the island and shared local knowledge and history that made us feel right at home. Our room had a fabulous view of Frenchman Bay. We could enjoy morning coffee on our private balcony and watch the sun rise, It was so pleasant that we ate dinner on the balcony one night too. The Bayview is within walking distance to the village of Bar Harbor which was very convenient. But they also offer a free shuttle ride if you would prefer. Very nice indeed. The big surprise was the tasty home cooked breakfast buffet served every morning. A vast array of fresh fruit, home baked pastries, 2 surprise casseroles in a chafing dish tempted us to over indulge! In addition, fresh baked cookies and treats greeted us in the afternoon. Fresh pots of coffee and tea were self served 24 hrs a day! In truth we hated to leave and will certainly return one day. Thanks to all that helped make our vacation perfect!

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room there. Ours was on floor 2 with a balcony where you could sit and have a sweeping view of Frenchman's Bay. Absolutely stunning, quiet, peaceful !
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SusieH771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish04609, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Thank you! We are so pleased you had the perfect vacation and we helped! We know that we don’t always meet the expectations of some travelers so when we exceed the expectations for others we are really happy! I’m glad that I didn’t bore you with the history too. Sometimes I just get carried away – we do have a fascinating history and I enjoy passing on the stories that I heard growing up here on the island. Also, one comment I REALLY appreciate and must address, “The Bayview is within walking distance to the village of Bar Harbor." I totally agree and yes, it is a beautiful and interesting walk. Not for everyone I realize but definitely pleasant ! So, from all of us here, a big thank you to you and we look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Stayed here three nights over 4th of July Holiday. Was here for just one night two years ago and vowed to come back for longer stay. Made reservations in July and management were able to reserve the same room for us, #303. Great room, clean, large, and wonderful unobstructed view of Frenchman's Bay. Staff are all outstanding. Fresh homemade goods at 3:00 each day are terrific. Different choices each day. The brownies were my favorite! Breakfast again was delicious each morning. Bar Harbor 4th of July parade was very enjoyable, and problem with stay is deciding which of the many wonderful restaurants to eat at each day. Down 'Easter Lobster pound was our choice for dinner. Cheap jumbo lobsters without a long wait. Other places were packed. There was a North Carolina BBQ/Lobster Pound a little farther down road that was Awesome. Lobster Roll and Pulled Pork BBQ. Our best Lunch! Will want to come back to this same hotel again, maybe in 2016. Only suggestion I can request if for a Loveseat Sofa in 303, and some type of stair/walkway allowing guests down onto "beach" area when it is low tide. If you want to get down there now, you have to walk a couple of blocks up to the dock area to get access down onto the rocky beach. This place deserves it's #1 rating on Tripadvisor!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidS050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish04609, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Thank you so much for the great review. It was a terrific 4th of July in Bar Harbor this year and thank goodness for that! Even the fireworks in the rain were wonderful! The 5th brought a hurricane and downed trees and no power! I know who you are by the description you wrote and know you left on the 5th and missed out on the fun! We spent the entire day in the dark with coffee and breakfast and some check-outs and check -ins done the real old fashioned way, paper and pencil! Nora baked with a disclaimer and labeled all the cookies flashlight cookies! I think your suggestions are very good ones and will certainly look into both of them. The steps to the shore are always an issue because of restrictions but we may be able to do something seasonally instead of trying to do a permanent installation. I also like the loveseat suggestion. The view is so wonderful and to lounge on a sofa and look out the door sounds very nice (especially if we have another hurricane!)! Thank you again for the kind words and for returning. We will watch for you in 2016!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I tend to do a lot of research before I book a hotel. We travelled in July 2014. I could not have been more pleased with our stay at Bayview. The atmosphere was pleasant and everyone was welcoming. The staff even opened the door for us every time we left. We enjoyed how quiet and peaceful the hotel was, we felt like we could really relax. The continental breakfast was great - variety and gourmet. Attendants took your plates and it felt like we were in a restaurant. There was enough food to last you well into lunch. The room (very spacious) and bathroom was very clean - zero issues. The view from the balcony was nice, overlooking the bay. Here's what really made the difference for us. For anyone that does not know the area or have a set agenda, the Bayview staff at the front desk were awesome. We received restaurant tips and to-do tips. Each place they recommended that we went to was great. The hotel staff booked dining reservations and coordinated events for us. What also sets Bayview apart is that they have a free shuttle service. Downtown Bar Harbor is packed so to drive and attempt to find parking would be difficult during the busy season. The shuttle was awesome, dropped us off and picked us up from our exact location. In summary, if you want a great place to stay, Bayview is the top choice!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank schlobes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish04609, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

The very first line of your review was proof positive that TripAdvisor does work if you read the reviews and the responses! Thank you for that! Taking the time to research before you came left no doubt in your mind what you were getting. Oceanfront hotel, three stories high, first floor family rooms, second floor double rooms, third floor king rooms, no elevator, one flight of stairs down to access first floor and one flight up to third. 75 feet from the water. Two and three bedroom town homes 475 feet from the water with views. Delicious food, free shuttle and help! You have probably noticed just by doing research that I love to talk, whether in person or in responses and the same goes for the rest of the staff. We ask questions so we have the latest word on local restaurants, we hike and tour on our days off, we live and work on the island or close by so we do know things that aren’t often listed in local guidebooks. We actually all like where we work, who we work with and all the people that we meet. Bar Harbor can be extremely busy in the summer so if we can make it just a little bit easier for someone to relax and enjoy this beautiful area then we will do it! Thank you again for the review and for allowing me the opportunity to explain just who we are to those who might be researching now! Please come back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed five nights at the Bayview. We booked way ahead after checking the Trip Advisor Reviews. From the reservation discussion on, this was a first class operation. The hotel is fairly small. There are newer looking town home rooms above the hotel, nearer the pool. The hotel rooms all have balconies that face the bay.

The rooms are large and well furnished. The bed linens are great. The air conditioning is first rate (doesn't shut itself down when there us no movement), the towels are nice and fluffy. The bathroom is big and nice.

I liked everything about it but most of all the service was outstanding. The housekeeping staff was cheerful and helpful. The front desk folks always greet you with a smile and are genuinely helpful. The doorman will cheerfully take you downtown to dinner and pick you up later. We never waited more than give minutes to be picked up.

The included breakfast is great. Lovely dining room had a great view and outside seating. The buffet changes daily and is interesting and delicious. Staff helped me quickly with my food allergies.

In the afternoon, there are fresh baked treats at the desk. What more can I say? This isn't a cheap place but you pay for quality and you receive it.

This was a wonderful place to stay. This is very highly recommended.

Room Tip: All wonderful. King beds are on the second floor. Stairs only. No elevator.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bensus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish04609, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Thank you for the outstanding review!! All the details about booking the reservation, the linens, the air conditioner, the food, the staff, everything! Reviews like yours aren't based on the personality of the writer but are based on the facts as you saw them. There are no words that I could write that could possibly describe The Bayview as well as a satisfied customer can. Thank you very much from all of us, every member of the staff that you encountered and even those that you never met. We sincerely hope we will welcome you again someday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I booked The Bayview after reading reviews here on Trip Advisor. I'm glad I did. The hotel is close to everything in Bar Harbor, including Acadia National Park, yet feels off a bit off the beaten path - in a quiet spot right on the water. The staff here are incredibly nice and helpful, in a very hometown way. Breakfast is included and while not extravagant by any sense of the word, quite good. (Lunch and dinner are not served at the hotel.) Rooms are very simple, but comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank rurimaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish04609, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Thank you for staying with us and thank you also for writing such a great review. To the point and very detailed all in one! I like the description of our staff, “Nice and helpful in a hometown way.” This is our hometown and we like to share our local knowledge and tips about the area with all who ask. I hope that you will return again someday and we will do our best to be the comfortable and simple place that you enjoyed!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews