We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVE LOVE LOVE the BAYVIEW !!!!!!!”
Review of The Bayview

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bayview
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Greensboro, NC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“LOVE LOVE LOVE the BAYVIEW !!!!!!!”
Reviewed 14 July 2009

My husband, 2 children, and I just stayed 3 nights at the Bayview--what a great find ! this is one of the best places that we have ever stayed--the breakfast was completely wonderful, the room was CLEAN and roomy and comfortable for the 4 of us--the staff was friendly and helpful and went above and beyond the call of duty on several occasions ! Linda, THANK YOU once more for rescuing my daughter and me from the top of Cadillac Mountain, Donna, thank you for entertaining me while I checked my email on numerous occasions, and Raife (sp?), thank you for going and getting our pizza at Rosalies--thank you to the rest of the staff but I just don't know everyone's names--I bow to the kitchen staff.........I would give ANYTHING for a piece of your blueberry gingerbread right now ! I've already Googled a recipe for it--spectacular views from the room--we hope to stay there again someday and we do not hesitate to recommend the Bayview--RUN, don't walk, to stay there ! 3 best, relaxing days EVER !

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    730
    84
    18
    1
    2
See reviews for
229
457
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southern California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2009

This hotel makes customer service a number one priority. They have a friendly staff who is eager to please and assist. The driveway into the hotel passes under an arched sign and then curves its way toward the water amidst beautiful trees and grass. Views from the third floor balcony were worth the price of the stay. The room was large and very quiet and the bed was particularly comfortable. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthCalifTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, PA
1 review
Reviewed 10 July 2009

My family spent a week at The Bayview and we were all more than happy with our stay. The staff are uniformly friendly and accomodating. They go to great lengths to please. The rooms and condos are large, comfortable and full of amenities and the view is wonderful. Breakfast is great and the afternoon cookies are a treat that you will not want to skip even once. All of this is the result of great management. You will have a great experience at the Bayview.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank1015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2009

We cannot say enough positive things about this hotel. First, the location is amazing. Right on the water in Bar Harbor Maine, every room has an amazing view of the water. The hotel is about a mile from downtown Bar Harbor which is easy to walk or drive, and is 10 minutes driving from Acadia. But the thing that is really special about this place is the staff. We have never met such friendly, accommodating people who are genuinely happy to help in any way in our entire life. And this applies to everyone, starting with Trish the woman who runs the hotel down through the staff who work in the kitchen, the front desk, and the housekeeping staff. The breakfast is fantastic (especially if you take it onto the large deck overlooking the water), and the cook, Corry, bakes a heaping pile of fresh cookies that are available in the lobby every day. If you're interested in spending time in Bar Harbor or in the park, the staff can give you excellent recommendations about how to spend your time. I could go on and on about the wonderful people at this place, but you should just go and check it out for yourself. If you're planning your first trip to Maine, Bar Harbor should be at the top of your list - it is quintessential Maine with beautiful rocky beaches, Acadia National Park (one of the most beautiful parks I've seen with amazing hiking and rock climbing), fantastic restaurants and seafood, and friendly people.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katie_mclaughlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mobile, AL
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2009

The Bayview was great. Enjoyed the location with a great view and balcony. Great staff and solid breakfast. Our room seemed liked it was recently updated with new carpet and bathroom fixtures. If I ever go back to Bar Harbor, I would stay here.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank triptaker720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Gardner, NJ
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2009

First of all, let's get out of the way what the Bayview is not. It is not a 5 star luxury hotel with every amenity. But then again you are not paying $400/night either. AS long as you don't expect that, you will not be disappointed.
Now lets talk about it's good points which are numerous.
When you drive up you notice the excellent location and understated surroundings. The building and rooms are very clean and well maintained. The actual rooms are huge and very up to date and well maintained. Once again this in not the Ritz Carlton but everything is clean, neat and funtional. Did I mention the room was huge.
My wife loved the overhead heater in the bathroom which is very comfortable when exiting the shower. The room even has a minifridge for your own use as well as a microwave. The view of the water is just perfect and the deck outside the room is well maintained and the chairs are clean and in excellent condition. Nothing shoddy here.
Breakfast is served in a very attractive dining room or you can eat outside and enjoy the fresh air. Breakfast was excellent and included hot and cold items. You won't leave hungry.
When I read the reviews before I stayed here, Everyone talked about the staff and how friendly and helpful they are. This proved to be completely accurate. We had to leave a day early because of an emergency and the front desk person Betty, helped in every way possible.
Location is perfect. About a mile from town and a mile from Acadia National park. Shuttle service is provided but we didn't find this necessary.
Needless to say my wife and I would stay here again in a minute. We are so sorry that
it is 12 hours away !
JM Glen Gardner NJ

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMMGlenGardner_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2009

A clean place at a decent value, on the main road about a mile+ outside of town. It backs onto the bay, and the rooms have decent views of the water -- though the trees could use trimming, and the nearby ferry station dominates the scene. The breakfasts were pretty good. The service was mostly pleasant with the exception of our check-in, which was strangely cold and unwelcoming. The TripAdvisor ranking has me puzzled. This is an okay place, but it fell well short of our expectations after reading the reviews. The hotel web site says it was one of TripAdvisor's top 10 luxury hotels in the U.S. in 2005. At the risk of sounding stuffy, that is like declaring Denny's one of the top gourmet restaurants. Bottom line, this is a good choice if you're looking for a clean place at a decent value outside of town, but do NOT expect a four-star class hotel. Cookies or not, this is just an average place. If you want something special I recommend one of the B&B's in town. If you're willing to spend a little more, the Balance Rock Inn and the Bar Harbor Inn are on the water in the heart of the town, and both look beautiful. For food, we recommend Havana restaurant in town, and Thurston's Lobster Pound on the other side of the island in Bernard. Also, we had fantastic massages at the Tree of Life Day Spa in town.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank __prg__
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,272 reviews
0.9 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,105 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
623 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.9 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#11 of 41 in Bar Harbor
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bayview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bayview

Property: The Bayview
Address: 111 Eden St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1105
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#1 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Bayview 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Personalized friendly service, peaceful and quiet setting, spectacular views, close to downtown Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park. Spacious oceanfront hotel rooms with balconies, some family friendly, or larger two and three bedroom townhomes and house. Expanded continental breakfast, pool, shuttle service, fresh baked cookies, lounge and limited wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Bayview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bayview Hotel Bar Harbor
Bayview Bar Harbor
Bayview Hotel Bar Harbor
The Bayview Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing