We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, very clean!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cromwell Harbor Motel
Ranked #23 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Waltham, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location, very clean!”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

I was a bit weary of booking a motel that wasn't as nice as some if the bigger well known hotels in the area, but I booked last minute and choices we're skim and prices were high! The cromwell had the right price and the location was great, we were able to walk into town easily. The rooms were really clean, but the decor was poorly chosen. It's not the ritz, but if you're not looking for anything fancy go here it's worth your money! The only complaint I have was that the maid never came during our 2 night stay, not sure what happened. Other than that I would definitely go back again!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Kasey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    60
    18
    3
    3
See reviews for
46
108
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tifton, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed staying at the Cromwell for two nights. Very friendly, helpful staff, affordable, spotless room in a good location. We preferred these smaller, privately owned motels/hotels on our Maine trip and this one was a favorite.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawano WI
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We arrived in our hotel room to find one of the most spotless hotel rooms I've ever stayed in. Plenty of room in the double queen with pullout coach. The receptionist was very friendly at check in and the hotel was a short 15 minute walk from downtown. The grounds were meticulously manicured. This motel was the best priced of any we could find available in a busy summer stay. I highly recommend it!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FirstClass1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyde Park, New York
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Our room was clean and very spacious. We got a room in the back on the 2nd floor. It had a balcony with chairs and small table which was nice to sit at in the late afternoon. It is only a short 5 minute walk to downtown Bar Harbor and an easy drive to the Acadia park loop road.

There is a heated pool outside which we used after a day of biking the carriage trails in the park.

If we went to that area again i would stay here.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back building are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kayaker332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Bridge, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The Cromwell Harbor Motel is an ideal location while visiting Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park.
The motel is just on the outskirts of downtown away from the hustle and bustle of the crowds. It is less then a ten minute walk to shopping and dining of the down town businesses.

The rooms and grounds are extremely clean.

Room Tip: If you are traveling as two couples I would suggest requesting rooms 115 and 116 if they are availab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imgeorgew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is very clean and quiet. We had a nice stay here and found information provided at the desk very helpful. It is nicely located within a 5-10 minute walk of the main town. The motel itself is older but very well kept. Great place for the price.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Englewood, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

You will be very pleased with your stay at this property. It is an easy walk to all the downtown restaurants and shops as well as the Shore Path along the oceanfront. It is very quiet, plenty of parking and ample brochures in the office for any activities. The beds were extremely comfortable and I can't say enough about how clean and well maintained every unit is with a nice size bathroom as well.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank pizzasss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#19 of 41 in Bar Harbor
280 reviews
1.1 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#31 of 41 in Bar Harbor
388 reviews
6.7 mi away
Belle Isle Motel
Belle Isle Motel
#21 of 41 in Bar Harbor
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Highbrook Motel
Highbrook Motel
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
796 reviews
0.6 mi away
Primrose Place
Primrose Place
#32 of 41 in Bar Harbor
34 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bar Harbor Motel
Bar Harbor Motel
#5 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cromwell Harbor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cromwell Harbor Motel

Property: Cromwell Harbor Motel
Address: 359 Main St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1639
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#19 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Cromwell Harbor Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Cromwell Harbor Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cromwell Harbor Hotel Bar Harbor
Cromwell Harbor Bar
Cromwell Harbor Motel Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing