We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great people, great place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cromwell Harbor Motel
Ranked #21 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Townsend, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great people, great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2010

Recently rebuilt. The rooms were big, clean quiet. The staff we met (owner) was extremely helpful and pointed us at good places to go or to eat as well as the places to avoid. The pool was heated and clean.
Overall a wonderful experiance

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gold2785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    56
    18
    3
    2
See reviews for
45
100
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bath, Maine
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2010

I've stayed at Crowell Harbor Motel several times and have always been very satisfied and comfortable. The cleanliness of the rooms, and the comfort of them have been welcomed. Jan and John are local people and have always maintained a high standard. This is a motel without the bells and whistles that take more of your money. Try it, you'll like it!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy04530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manahawkin, New Jersey
Level Contributor
117 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2010

We have family in Bar Harbor and usually visit at least twice a year, but this was in season and our usual place was renting by the week. We choose this motel because we had noticed it was being remodeled and enlarged, and because it was well located for visiting with our grandchildren. We had a family room (maybe the only one?) with a queen bed and two twins for the kids. It was quite spacious with a microwave and a small refrig. The room was ground floor and had a porch in the front. The biggest attraction was the heated pool that was super clean and that we often had to ourselves. The location at the far end of busy Main street made it quiet. I would stay there again. They charge $10 a head for over two which I am not used to paying with the chains, etc but Bar Harbor has a very short season and in Summer it can be crowded and expensive. Other than the pool there isn't much for the kids, but there are nice lawns, and beautiful planting.

Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank CarlanneNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bar Harbor, Maine
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2010

I have traveled to Bar Harbor every year for many years and this is my favorite place to stay in town. I keep economy in mind when I travel so I am sure there are much fancier places to stay, but it will cost you. This is the best bang for your buck in town. It is within walking distance of town but not so close you have to deal with the night life of the town itself. The grounds are well maintained and there is a outdoor pool. The older section of the motel was torn down last fall and has been replaced with a brand new 2-story addition which appears to be quite nice but I am not sure if it is quite complete yet, but should be ready very shortly if not. Enjoy your stay here, and take the money you save and spend it on yourself. This is the place I recommend to my equally economic minded friends.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fryeburg, Maine
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2010

Gave me a room I requested, I'm a light sleeper & don't like to be near guests with kids.

Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ThePickleLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2009

We've been vacationing in Bar Harbor and Acadia for over three decades. We stayed several nights at this "park in front of your room" motel. The room was very clean inside and the motel looked tidy, cheerful and well maintained outside. But the room was tired, worn and a disappointing contrast to the exterior. The mini-refrigerator and microwave were convenient. The wireless internet was intermittent, unreliable and slow. The location is quiet and convenient to both downtown and Acadia. The owners have a strict deposit policy which we had not encountered before. Upon meeting them, they seemed cool and reserved - quite a contrast to other innkeepers who seem happy to be in the hospitality business. Cromwell Harbor is clean and safe, but we'll be staying elsewhere on all our future trips.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank comfort&joy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2009

We had stayed in a cozy B&B before, but decided to limit our budget and stay in a motel the next time around. I was pleasantly surprised when I checked in the Cromwell Harbor! The rooms are clean and very spacious. Room amenities are a coffee machine, a new and clean fridge, TV and free wi-fi internet. The place is very quiet, and is a short drive to the Jackson Laboratory, to the Acadia National Park gates and a pleasant walk to the town center. I felt I was on vacation, rather than on a business trip!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ma390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#20 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#16 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
1.1 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#33 of 41 in Bar Harbor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Primrose Place
Primrose Place
#32 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Villager Motel
Bar Harbor Villager Motel
#9 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
1.3 mi away
Highbrook Motel
Highbrook Motel
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cromwell Harbor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cromwell Harbor Motel

Property: Cromwell Harbor Motel
Address: 359 Main St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1639
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#19 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Cromwell Harbor Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your Cromwell Harbor Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cromwell Harbor Hotel Bar Harbor
Cromwell Harbor Bar
Cromwell Harbor Motel Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing