We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Ranked #17 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Minnetrista, Minnesota
2 reviews
“Not clean”
Reviewed 4 October 2011

For the price you pay it doesn't have the class. My husband and I came back to this hotel after staying here 8 years ago....our return trip was very disappointing. The room we had was very small and dirty. There was hair on the floor, dirty drawers in dresser, and very dusty. I went to turn on the light and bumped it and a layer of dust fell down. We switched rooms and it wasn't a ton better. I went to use the ice bucket and there was water and dirt from the last guest with a new plastic bag. They leave dishes from room service in the hall most of the day too. It is sad because this could be a very nice hotel if it was cleaned up.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,056 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    509
    285
    112
    91
    59
See reviews for
303
502
8
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kearney, Nebraska
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

This Hotel, looks so beautiful from all the photos and when you walk in... the lobby is so amazing. The rooms however are another story... although they are nice, they are not worth the price. You can hear everything above you and next to you and in the hall. I mean everything. You can't even watch tv from the bed unless you move the rather large tv stand. Our room was dirty with many things left behind from the previous guest..... including a bloody pillow!!! When I finally complained, I asked them to adjust my bill to what they thought was fair. The adjustment was 2%. Seriously...find a B&B and you will be so much happier.

Room Tip: Find another Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank 45649Deb50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 September 2011

My wife and I had a great time at the hotel/resort ! The entire staff was always very friendly / courteous and helpful. ( and a special thanks to Lauren at the main desk ). And when i say staff.. I mean everone... from the cleaning staff, doormen, concierge ,restaurant staff and and the main desk.

The POOLS ( and there are two and 2 jacuzzi's ) were the best we observed at any of the other hotels in the area. ( we checked out about a dozen to compare ). The one larger Pool overlooks the bay and has a absolutely beautiful water view and is next to the big club house. It got a little busy there at times and we moved over to the smaller one on the other side of the resort- which still had a decent view and had a slightly more relaxing and mature atmosphere that we really liked. Food and drink service at both pools was great and was fun- although less hectic at the smaller pool because there wasn't the crowd from the wedding they were having at the resort that weekend. Unfortunately, we did not take advantage of the massage , and other amenities but we might this coming time!.

The restuarant for breakfeast was wonderful. We had the deal where one breakfeast was covered by the
deal we booked our room under. The food was great and had a ton of variety and we tried a different breakfeast meal every morning. I miss those blueberry pancakes !!

The location of the resort was another big plus. You could almost step out of the hotel, take a few minute walk and be on the main street of the town and it's many other restaurants and shops. ( the Harborside Hotel is only a few hundred feet aways as well ) . You're also next to the whale sight seeing boats and the sight see sailing ship ) . Note- the little restaurant right across from the hotel doesn;t look like much from the outside but our lunch there was very very tasty and it was very nice inside- I wish we had more time to go back there because I wanted to try the Lobster Roll after I saw the one my wife was served!! I was lobstered- out at the time and settled from a big tasty burger instead !!

downsides... depending on what room you book, you can overlook the parking lot..
Those rooms ( or a least most of them can see the water ( bay view )
Actually, the have an up side in that they can see the sunset and it was pretty darn quiet and peaceful on that side.
Actually it was pretty nice where I parked my card because they have trees and shrubs and you can see the bay and up ahead the pool and in the evening setting sun ... god, I guess I am a romantic!
Anyway, I beleive they are less expensive per night then the room we had and If you are like my wife and i, we really didn't spend a lot of time in the room.

One last thing, this resort is associated with the famous SAGAMORE on Lake George in NY. ( in which staying at is on my bucket list )

In summary... why are we going back to this particular hotel next year????
ANSWERS:
Great location and access to the town and boats and other restaurants
Great Service and very friendly.
VERY nice rooms
VERY CLEAN ROOMS AND HOTEL
Best pools we saw in BH!!
Wonderful breakfeasts !
and it's inBAR HARBOR , MAINE

Tony and Rosemay P

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tony p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

We've just returned from 5 nights at this hotel, 4 for business, one pleasure. The first room we were assigned was an unacceptable location in this large complex. We were easily moved to one overlooking the 'harbor' which we enjoyed very much. While it was a long way to the front entrance, once at the front door the walk to town was short! One evening meal in the accompanying restaurant was good and the service was excellent. Aside from the unexplained 'resort fee,' our disappointments were irregular maid service (One day our room was skipped entirely and when I called for dry towels after being out all day, it took an hour for them to arrive.) and complimentary coffee available only after 7 AM when early morning walks and sunrise photos are major area activity.

Room Tip: Check assigned room. If not what you chose when making reservation, i.e. water view, ask for reassi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ylime555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Simsbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

1) checkin is stated to be 4pm. Were early and stopped by to ask them to have our room ready as early as possible. We still didn't get in until 3:30

2) They added a $25 resort fee to the bill without stating in the rate quote they gave. I've stayed in probably 100 resorts and never heard of a resort fee. When I asked them where it was they said it was in the confirmation they emailed. Who reads confirmations. If the confirmation had said that there would be a $1,000 resort fee would they figure that would be collectible too. This is the most dishonest thing I've ever seen a hotel do.

3) Fitness center meager.

4) Expensive without the "resort fee" - much nicer places in bar harbor for the money.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Gerry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

This was a delightful hotel, accessible to Acadia National Park, and beautifully maintained including bright floral landscapes. We looked at different rooms and settled on the most modern section. The view, with flowers from our balcony, overlooked the pool and the harbor. We stayed for three nights and breakfast was a cheerful gourmet start to each day. The Forte pyramids of tea spoke to the quality and attention to detail. The high quality food and presentation was consistent whatever dish we ordered. We have admittedly high standards and the Harborside Hotel exceeded them. Many thanks to the professional staff. Close by is Bar Island and a most worthwhile walk at low tide.

Room Tip: Some rooms are modern, others traditional, and there are different views. Choose what suits your se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pearleco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

We booked here 3 nights. Upon arrival we found we were upgraded to a 1-bdrm jacuzzi suite. This suite rented for $850/night. Wow! We hit the lottery! We had a wrap-around balcony with a jacuzzi at the end. It was furnished in colonial styling. Very clean. The kitchen had a micro, 2-burner cooktop, full-size refrig. The table seated 8. LR with love seat and 2 chairs with flatscreen TV. French doors to deck but no screen!! The bugs were terrible, so we couldn't leave the door open for air. The bedroom had 2 sliding doors to deck with screens. Perfect! Comfortable bed, hard pillows. Bathroom was huge, great shower. No hooks to hang anything. Vanity had 2 sinks and was small with no shelves to put toiletries. We used the jacuzzi several times but the hotel should furnish a step to get in and out of it. Very difficult to manuver. The hotel is newer, I think 2 or 3 years old. Great location for walking to town or just sitting on your balcony taking in the views. We saw a different cruise ship each day we were there. The pool was nice. It was starting off season so we had the pool to ourselves. Very nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbor view or pool view room. Parking lot view does have partial water views beyond the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EasternAirlines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,622 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
0.4 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#23 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.8 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#15 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harborside Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harborside Hotel & Marina

Property: Harborside Hotel & Marina
Address: 55 West St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1825
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#21 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#21 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harborside Hotel & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in downtown Bar Harbor at the ocean's edge; near Acadia National Park; breathtaking view of Frenchman's Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Harborside Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harborside Hotel & Marina Bar Harbor, Maine
Harborside Hotel And Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing