We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Been coming for 4 years . . .”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Ranked #20 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We have been coming to the Harborside for four years now, and have made it an annual family trek. The views from the hotel are breathtaking, the service is always top notch, the room service is among the best I've had, and the rooms are beautiful and comfortable, most with comfortable balconies and views of the water. I have loved my spa time there, and we look forward to the great breakfasts every year. I also love the laundry facilities for dealing with the problem of post-park or post-water clothing. Both pools, and the kiddie pool, are amazing--the view from the Bar Harbor Club is positively majestic. Every time we've stayed here, someone has gone out of their way for us in some way. This is a wonderful, high end, family-friendly and couples-friendly resort, from the ice cold water at arrival to the 3 awesome pools, to the easy access to local activities. We have stayed at 4 and 5 star properties all over the globe, but the laid-back, local, friendly atmosphere, charming staff and stunning location of this resort keep us coming back here every year. We do have one small complaint this year (we are still here). In all the years we have been coming here, we have met tons of lovely honeymooning couples, great families, Europeans on world tours, seniors on holiday. We've made friends and acquaintances on every trip. And none of guests we have met have been rude. Until this year, when we encountered two individuals who seemed to have a serious problem with the fact that this property is frequented by families, among other types of vacationers. One woman, clearly drunk, kept loudly making comments that the property should only allow children over 12. (I didn't see a single child worse behaved than she.) And another man, with his teenage son, inexplicably felt the need to loudly note (in front of our family with two small children) that he has been "spoiled by Sandals properties that don't permit children." In the four years we have come here, pre- and post-children, we've never encountered travelers like this. This is not a couples' B&B, or an "all-inclusive" Sandals package resort. And Acadia National Park is a family friendly location. If you come here, please realize that it is a resort (NOT a package deal or boutique couples inn), frequented by friendly couples and (mostly very well-behaved) families alike. You will have a blissful time, in a lovely natural location, with fun for all ages. (And, if you are a couple who wants a private hot tub, splurge for the rooms that have them on the balcony! We've done it, pre-kids, and LOVED it!)

Room Tip: If you don't want to see any parking lot, book an ocean view or pool view room. Other rooms may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nevercomingback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

763 - 769 of 1,192 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2012

Spent 4th of July week at the Harborside this is about our 5th time visiting this hotel and was not disappointed at all again. Everyone was friendly that we encountered. Pool is nice at the Bar Harbor club, maybe some more shade umbrellas but you can get out of the sun if necessary, nice bar area in the Harbor Club. Alfonso who delivered room service was great! The restaurant La Bella Vita is excellent, fresh food and the service fantastic! Room was cleaned each day. The location of the hotel is perfect you cant beat it as you can walk to lots of restaurants/shops in town. During low tide it is cool to walk over the sand bar to the island. Cadillac Mountain is favorite place on earth especially to watch the sunset!

Room Tip: Ask not to be near an elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BostonBostonfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

My family and I had reserved a suite several months in advance. Upon showing up to the hotel, we were informed that they did not hold our reservation and they did not have enough beds for all of us. They didn't seem to think this was much of an issue. We requested a cot - and they said they would see what they could do. They didn't do anything. After the first night, we again tried to speak with the manager. After several more hours, we met a dismissive general manager who was aware of the problems but said "yeah, that can happen." We asked them to show us to our actual room and let us know when it was ready. After much annoyance, they brought us to our still dirty room so we could put our luggage there. Several hours later our room was finally clean. To inform us, they continually called the wrong number that we told them not to call. The rooms are quite nice, but have terrible lighting and the televisions have awful definition. Overall, the customer service is atrocious. I will be back to Bar Harbor, but will be staying elsewhere. I suggest you do the same.

Room Tip: Try the Bar Harbor Inn - looks nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We stayed here for almost a week and had a good time. The location is terrific, right in town next to the water and on West St. The hotel is only about 8 years old according to the concierge and seems in generally good shape. We here we saw them swapping out sofas for newer ones and painting some of the stair wells.

We got connected King and two-double rooms for our family of 4. Although the two-double hotel room was not too remarkable, the King was larger than normal and had a nice bathroom with separate shower and tub. While both rooms have a small table for the single cup coffee maker (Green Mountain), neither had a desk. HDTVs with HD signal. The rooms could use more lighting, but we did not bother asking. We had a mini fridge in one room.

When the hotel is near capacity as it is this week, there parking lot seems full and cars are parked on the end. We didn't use the car everday and used the free Islander bus to carry our rented bikes one day. speakeasy.com/speedtest averages about 1mb/0.5mb (part of the $25 Spa fee).

After we checked in we found 15% off your next stay with promo code: WELCOME

We may try the pool today, but probably won't bother eating at the restaurant.

Room Tip: We stayed in connected rooms 1050/1048. From the nice chairs on the porch we could see Bar Island a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank klinpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Did a 3 night stay at this location - a perfect spot in Bar Harbor. The grounds are maintained perfectly as is the entire facility. The staff is super freindly and helpful. A plus is being able to use the bar harbor club next door.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We just stayed 2 nights--took advice to get a room over parking lot for $270 instead of $380-489 for premium room-- front desk " upgraded" us to pool side 1 st fl-- we asked for 3 rd fl parking lot but not available so gave us 3 rd fl pool--bad idea--noise all day from kids yelling precluded afternoon nap!- make sure on parking lot or view of water even if have to pay more-- rooms nice, bath rooms fantastic--hotel is in prime location to walk everywhere-- we ate at The Reading Room and Stewworks nearby also owned by Harborside Hotel owner--breakfast good in lobby rest.-- would come back--

Stayed: August 2012
1  Thank troutner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Stopped here while in Bar harbor, Excellent Hotel and services.
Great location, just a 2 min walk from all the bars and resturants of BH.

Room was excellent, we had ben offered a free upgrade to a suite but decided to keep the booked room due to it having a balcony with excellent views of the bay.

I am stopping here again this year in Sept and then again a few later in October (5 1/2 week holiday)

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank s70rmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.4 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#21 of 41 in Bar Harbor
485 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#10 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,758 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
476 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
717 reviews
1.0 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harborside Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harborside Hotel & Marina

Address: 55 West St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1825
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#21 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#21 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range: £190 - £299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harborside Hotel & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in downtown Bar Harbor at the ocean's edge; near Acadia National Park; breathtaking view of Frenchman's Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, TravelUp, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Harborside Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harborside Hotel & Marina Bar Harbor, Maine
Harborside Hotel And Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing