We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Ranked #19 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We stayed in their new section built out over the water. Lovely views, separate bedrooms, great private hot tub on the roof, easy walking to shops, Shore Path and may restaurants and tours. So beautiful! Would stay here again in a heartbeat. Spa was great and very relaxing. We ate breakfast in the hotel every day and it was very enjoyable.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 4003. Private, beautiful views of the harbor, quiet. Loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

590 - 596 of 1,198 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2013

My wife and I visited Bar Harbor Maine last weekend. Our trip was sort of last minute, so we were very limited in terms of lodging selections. I thought the price at the Harborside Inn was heavy when I booked the room. After a very tiring 14 hour drive to Bar Harbor, I have to say we were thrilled when we arrived at the hotel. It is beautiful inside and out, extremely clean, beautifully decorated, and the staff were as pleasant as they could be. The Harbor Club is beautiful. We treated ourselves to a little TLC at the spa - again - first class all the way. The lobby of the hotel is decorated with beautiful woodwork, stone, leather couches and oversized wing chairs. A fire was going every day and evening, and it was a very inviting spot to enjoy a drink. The location in my opinion is the best spot in town. It is directly on the water, and at the foot of Main Street. We never moved our car once we parked. The restaurant and bar is very small, but there are tons of additional places within a block. Twice a day at low tide, Frenchman's Bay parts & you can walk down the back stairs of the hotel and walk across the sand bar to Bar Island. Is it pricey? Yes - but worth it in my opinion - we feel that we got what we paid for. We'll return to both Bar Harbor and the Harborside Inn and Marina.

Room Tip: We stayed in a basic room with two double beds and a harbor view. The room had a killer view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank william582013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

This is a newer hotel built right on the water in Bar Harbor. It has all of the amenities you would want and the location is a 5 minute walk from all the shopping and Restaurants you would ever want. This would be a great family kids hotel as well.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to have great views and even a self service free laundry for guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed there this past weekend. The service was good, although we did not require much. The front desk was very helpful. I only wish the lobby was brighter. It is somewhat depressing in the middle of a bright fall day to walk into the dark space.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tenore90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

This hotel is not only a perfect location, but an amazing clean wonderful hotel. The staff is great, and really pretty inside. The lobby has that great "fireplace" smell 24/7 the fire roaring. Its welcoming and cozy with a luxurious feel. Even the pool area is cozy. Great location for your walk across to Bar Island at low tide.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank houstk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We have stayed at the Harborside ever since it opened, and it is a great location right in town, yet close to Acadia National Park for hiking, biking, etc. Nice property, but resort fee should be optional since not all guests use the other services and it adds $25/day. Unsure what their new affiliation with Opal resorts will mean for changes, so keep an eye on that. Our tip? ...learn to love September in Maine, as the weather is fabulous, all businesses are still open, and rates are much lower past the peak season. Worth staying here for sure.

Room Tip: Don't be tricked by the description "Sunset View"...to you and me, it is really "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M616M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Beautiful facility with pool, gym, and spa, directly on waterfront. Contrary to what some have commented, our service was spot on. Rates are high, but not at all bad in shoulder season. Hotel restaurant is just fair, but dozens of restaurants in Bar Harbor are just outside the hotel.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank CTManny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#10 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,774 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#8 of 41 in Bar Harbor
388 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,386 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harborside Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harborside Hotel & Marina

Address: 55 West St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1825
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#18 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#21 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range: £197 - £482 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harborside Hotel & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in downtown Bar Harbor at the ocean's edge; near Acadia National Park; breathtaking view of Frenchman's Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TravelUp, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Harborside Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harborside Hotel & Marina Bar Harbor, Maine
Harborside Hotel And Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing